We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the country”

Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse
Ranked #20 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving the Valley for over 40 years. Serving lunch & dinner 7 days a week. Gourmet Sandwiches, "Big" Salads, Baked Stuffed Potatoes, Aged Steaks, Seafood, Veal, Chicken, Ribs, Duck, Veal & More.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best place in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I travel all over the country for work and I have yet to find a place that comes close! They have the most amazing food bursting with flavor at Wisconsin prices! Can't beat it. I make a point to stop every chance I can get.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Supper Club in Wisconsin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Haddock prepared 20+ ways. Old Fashion mix drinks to die for. Old school service and atmosphere. Excellent food and hospitality

Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“out of towner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I am from Michigan and I was in Appleton, WI on business. Whenever I travel, I like to try local restaurants because I can do the chain restaurants at home. So I found the Red Ox on Google and read some reviews and it sounded like a good place to go. When I got there, the parking lot was full and I and others had to park on the street (good sign at dinner time). When I went in, there was a 30-45 min. wait. I told the owner (I later found out he was the owner) that I wasn't going to wait and I thought I would go back by my hotel to Outback. Long story, but I decided to eat at the bar. Man, I'm glad I did. I ate myself silly for $38.00 which included the tip. I had the king cut prime rib Oscar style with beef vegetable soup and bread. The food was excellent and the service for being packed with a group of 70 was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and I felt very welcomed there. Next time I'm in Appleton I will go back. I highly recommend the Red Ox!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
323 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Grear Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I have eaten at the Red Ox for many years. Their food continues to be excellent. This locally owned restaurant has an extensive menu (maybe too big). Their early bird menu is also one of the best in the area. They also pour a great drink. The only negative is that it can get quite crowded especially on weekends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrigley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must be one of the top 100 restaurants in the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Seriously. The food is nothing short of outstanding! The different dishes they have are so unique and flavorful and the chef who creates new menu items seems like every week! Wow! Words do not even describe how good the food tastes! A MUST visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank atfbh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing