We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business dinner”

Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse
Ranked #20 of 366 Restaurants in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving the Valley for over 40 years. Serving lunch & dinner 7 days a week. Gourmet Sandwiches, "Big" Salads, Baked Stuffed Potatoes, Aged Steaks, Seafood, Veal, Chicken, Ribs, Duck, Veal & More.
Monroe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location for business dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Following a recommendation from the hotel, I took 2 colleagues here for dinner. Two of us had steak and one salmon. The food was fantastic, as was the service. Highly recommended. We'll eat here the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    31
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
300 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We reviewed TripAdvisor while visiting Appleton to find a great place to eat and decided to visit the Red Ox after seeing the positive reviews. When we drove up, we thought surely we had the wrong place. From the outside, the restaurant doesn't look all that impressive, and the outside dining area looked like it was in some stage of remodeling. We almost left. Thankfully, we decided to give it a chance, because from the moment we opened the door, our dining experience was delightful. We were greeted warmly and led to our table in a dining room that was much fancier than I imagined. Our waitress was friendly and pointed out the early specials, including the famous haddock--all 15 varieties. My husband had a melt-in-your-mouth prime rib, while I went for the haddock trio--haddock prepared in my choice of 3 ways. I had haddock Benedict with asparagus and crab, haddock with a cherry sauce, and haddock with a crab cake and lemon-butter. Marvelous! Add in your choice or soup or salad, and several interesting potato choices. We were stuffed! Needless to say, we will be back on our next visit to Appleton. So nice to have those early bird specials, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were able to get in without a reservation which is unusual. We felt welcome from the first person to greet us to the last person. Our waitress was wonderful and very helpful.
The food was delicious. I had the 8oz. fillet and 10 oz. lobster tail. My wife had haddock prepared three different ways. While my meal was pricey, we thought the value matched the service and quality of the food. We will go back for "special" occasions. Anniversary #37 was memorable. Thank you, Red Ox!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaughn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Red Ox for years has had great food. Friday night brings many choices of fish done in a variety of ways. Steaks are also always excellent. I love this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great choice for parties”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The drinks are good, the food is excellent. There is a wide variety of appetizer/menu options. The staff is well-trained and seem to handle large groups with ease.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Red Ox Seafood & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing