We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love This Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Appleton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Appleton Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Carole and Gordon are unique and wonderful hosts....and this house...wow! I felt very cared for, very comfortable, well and tastefully fed. Great bed, great conversation...Gordon even schlepped all of our bags for
us! You will love this place!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ktgoodstuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
26
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

OMG this is a diamond find! I stumbled upon the Appleton Inn while out walking one morning while my son was visiting Lawrence University which is written up in the book, Colleges that Change Lives. Carol, the co-owner is a Renaissance Woman! Wow - our room was amazing and beautiful and Carol's cooking is delicious. I felt at home and away on vacation. The beds are big and comfortable. The whole place is charming. Thank you Carol and Gordie

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisayogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have been guests at the Appleton Inn several times over the last year and Gordie and Carol have always treated us special. We love the cozy rooms, close proximity to downtown Appleton and fun tasty breakfast. The value proposition is also superior to any of the area hotels.

The Luongo's
St. Louis, Missouri

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Unfortunately I had the worst experience at a bed and breakfast. The room was pretty but the linens were worn out. The walk through the kitchen to the room was fine but not when there were dirty dishes in the sink. The breakfast was disappointing especially with the yogurt still in the original packaging. Would not recommend this stay to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a convenient location, and the proprietor was very pleasant. Breakfast was good, too. If you love quilts, this is the place to stay -- they also host regular quilting weekends, and the product of those weekends is on display everywhere.

On the other hand, if you want a place to put down your toothbrush and toothpaste in the bathroom, look somewhere else. The house is full of knick-knacks. Every flat surface in the bathroom was covered with little ceramic heads (my husband was freaked out by having them all staring at him.) I tried to move some to put down my toiletries, and found they were glued down. So I used the toilet seat as a shelf when I did other business in the bathroom. But what a nuisance. Also, there were so many lovely quilts on the bed that I had to remove several to sleep.

So if that appeals to you, this is definitely the place to go. But it wasn't our style.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzzlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The owners are friendly. The place is clean. Breakfast is good, you are even offered seconds. I would recommend is as excellent except the B&B is not an old mansion with the original bedrooms rented out. Rooms have been made out of parts of a former old home. Rooms off the road in front are quieter. The inn is on a moderately busy road (I live out in the county so any city road is way busier than what I hear at night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We really loved this personal, and exquisitely decorated little spot!! Carole and Gordie were priceless. They went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. It was a little taste of Americana. They represent the best of what a bed & breakfast should be.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, but I would pick the yellow and blue room! It is gorgeous and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
0.3 mi away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Appleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Appleton Inn

Property: The Appleton Inn
Address: 300 W. Prospect Avenue, Appleton, WI 54911 (Formerly the Quilt-N-Be Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Appleton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service B&B opened in 1991 in a historic home in a historic neighborhood. All room have modern amenities, WIFI, private baths and wonderful homemade breakfast. We would like to be considered a home away from home with a twist. We wait on you and we enjoy your stay as much as you do. Come and see our beautiful city and enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. Carole and Gordie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Appleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing