We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not friendly. Very rude customer service and manager”
Review of Super 8 Appleton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Appleton
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I came from out of town to attend a family funeral. I got lost looking for days inn and stump upon super 8 which was right next to them. since super 8 was located right on the street back to the funeral home, i decided to book a room with them. upon staying with them, i encountered a very rude and disrespectful customer service lady named sammye. i didnt bother to say nothing much to her but when i checked out, i left a message for the manager to call me back and the manager, karla was as disrespectful as her employee and didn't bother to listen to me. instead she called to complained to ME that there wasn't anything she couldn't do because she wasn't there and said that we GAIN up on her small employee. she didn't even bother listening to anything to what i said, so i don't even know why she called?? i should of just drove down the parking lot to days inn! all i have to say is... NICE SERVICE =TO COMING BACK CUSTOMERS!!!! but i guess they lost this customer and the many family members who stayed and also complained about her employee and got the same result from the manager that we gain on her person??

Room Tip: Don't even bother staying. it will ruin your stay. try best western across the street or days in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonymousGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for responding to trip advisor. I greatly regret you did not like my answers to you. When I spoke to only you about the issues your friend had checking into the motel, you told me you were well satified with the motel. I understand you and your friends all came together, and we did try to accomodate your friend but we did not have that type of room left for her because we were full. You admitted to me on the phone your friend became quite angry with my front desk employee and said some rude comments to her in front of other customers. As I explained to you I am very sorry but there is nothing I can do for you because your stay was satisfactory. If your freind who had the issues would like to speak to me I certainly recommend that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 295 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I do not know her name but she worked the 2 days we were there (evening/morning). She was very respectful and she definitely made the stay more comfortable since my friends and I never stayed in Appleton over night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for filling out a Super 8 survey. We appreciate your nice comments and hope you come back to stay with us soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Karla Roderick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I rented a room that smelled like cigerette and asked to switch to a different room. The lady at the front desk came to the room said that there was no smell. I had 3 other people smell my room and they all agreed my room smelled. The lady refuse to change my room so I demanded for a refund which took days to get my money back. When the other 3 complained to the manager about what happened to me, the manager said that we had ALL ganged up on her person. I'm just glad I found a better hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

I do apologize if you felt you received bad customer service from our motel. I did investigate the problem and found you did not make a reservation before trying to check into the motel. I also did take the time to investigate the room for any smoke odor and did not smell it. My clerk did try to accomodate you and tried to explain to you we did not have another room like that vacant because we were very full. I do understand it is frustrating that an approval does take days to refund. I apologize we could not accomodate you the night you wanted to stay, but I do hope you will come back and try us again.

Sincerely Yours,

Karla Roderick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and found the front desk person very kind, caring and professional. The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in Appleton!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our motel. We will see you during your next visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Karla R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Repeat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karla R, General Manager at Super 8 Appleton, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Appleton
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Appleton
Motel 6 Appleton
#25 of 25 in Appleton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#10 of 25 in Appleton
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Appleton

Address: 3624 W College Ave, Hwy 41 & 125, Appleton, WI 54914-3914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: $55 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Appleton 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Appleton Hotel Appleton
Super Eight Appleton
Appleton Super Eight
Appleton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing