We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Appleton
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Iron Mountain
2 reviews
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I recently spent four days at the Holiday Inn and the service there was over and above. From the desk clerk, to the housekeepers, to the people who served at the wedding and Jonathan who drove the shuttle. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a nice time. The accomodations were wonderful! I would encourage anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    81
    50
    30
    13
See reviews for
75
33
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed here recently because our shopping group likes to mix it up. I thought the service was good. It was lacking a free breakfast we've seen at other hotels. The rooms seemed awefully dated and somewhat small. It was ok but we've stayed at better for a better price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notbadfor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn for your shopping trip, we appreciate your business and feedback. We do have shopping specials several times during the year and I hope you were able to take advantage of one of the specials. We have several re-modeling projects planned for 2012 which will start in the spring! Thanks for you input, we hope to see you again soon. Shawn Kennedy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I regularly stay at this hotel for business. Why? The hotel location is excellent. It is quiet, but with excellent road access. There are several really good restaurants close by. The shuttle service to/from the airport is always reliable and prompt. All the service personnel are friendly and helpful. Major remodelling that began a few years ago, has greatly improved the rooms. The internet service works fine. The breakfast buffett is very good, quick, reasonably priced, but it is not available every day. The cook-to-order menu is fine (standard HI), it just takes a little longer.

Room Tip: It helps if you are a HI Priority Club member and get a room on floors 6,7 or 8. The rooms are simi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stays at the Holiday Inn Appleton.
Our staff appreciates your input! We look forward to seeing you again soon and have more upgrades coming in 2012! Shawn Kennedy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Very nice hotel. Good staff. Friendly. I was picked up at the airport bt their shuttle without a long wait. The bar area was clean and business friendly

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn for your lodging needs! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to let others know about our great service. Shawn Kennedy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I utilize this location as a hub for business travel. There is plenty of parking space available and the mall across College Avenue. There are numerous restaurants within the shuttle's reach, and a there are a host of cool places downtown Appleton. If you're not up to going out, Marlon's has great food & pizza! They run nightly specials, for both food and drink and in the summer time they have a live band on Wednesday nights on their back deck. The rooms are spacious, and clean and the beds are comfortable. The room decor is average and could use an update, but don't let that hinder you from staying here. Priority club members receive a coupon upon check in good for a discount at the bar or it may be used for a discounted breakfast. Warm cookies and cold milk are available each evening and hot coffee/tea available anytime. A basket of apples and the USA today is perched on the table right outside the elevators. The front desk staff is always very pleasant and do their best to meet your needs or answer questions. The bar restaurant staff is efficient and always provides service with a smile. Great value--great location--excellent staff!.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! It is always nice to hear from our guests, our staff works hard to make sure every guest receives excellent service. We hpoe to see you again soon! Shawn Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for the 1st time since October of 2007 for a family Christmas gathering. After re-reading my review from that visit, I feel the property (minus the lounge) has improved.

We are Priority members, which is a free 'club' that you can earn points from and it does have some perks. We did get put on the 7th floor which required the use of your key in the elevator due to it, and they indicated we had some drink and food discounts, but it looked like everyone else must have been in the club if that was the case.

The Good

The front desk crew was very helpful. We had three rooms and let us move around people and split up bills, etc.

The rooms like look they were all updated, the beds, pillows, tv's, and bathrooms all appeared to be new since 2007.

The bed was firm, but not board hard, they had a few different pillow types, which was nice.

The fan in the room air conditioning still made a lot of noise - but for me that worked as it was 'white noise'.

Some of the rooms have a microwave / fridge.

Apart from the Outback, there's now a Fuddruckers burger place in the lot.

Areas that Could Still Improve

The lounge bartenders were not so great. Friday's, while friendly enough, closed up at 10:00 with 6 people in the lounge. There is no close space to go have a drink or a snack after 10:30 as Outback closes then. Saturday, NFL football started at 3:00 so we went in at 2:55 and even though the tv's were on and the door unlocked we were told to leave. So we went to Hooters. Later, the same person told our 17 year old he couldn't play pool with me, but when another group started using the foosball table our waitress (who was good) told us to go ahead and play. The service level, apart from our waitress was POOR and their prices, apart from the specials, were very high.

Hall noise is still bad. We could hear my brothers kid screaming two doors down even with a towel under the door.

If you eat breakfast in the property, order off the menu - the buffet was not so hot for $10 when you can get a made to order breakfast for $7.00....

The pool and spa were very chlorinated, we were all itching with 10 minutes of getting out.

Overall - we would stay again, but probably not with the small kids only because there wasn't enough on property for them to do.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a fridge / microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your most recent stay with us! We have made many improvments since 2007, and we are glad your were able to notice them.
I apologize for the less than stellar service you had in the Pub. I have reviewed your comments with the staff and we will improve! I hope you had a great Holiday season and we look to see you again in the future. Shawn Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The staff was very friendly and the lobby looks as though it had been remodeled in recent years. Although areas of our room may have been part of the remodel, the carpet has seen better days. Remember your slippers! We were also not impressed with the cleanliness of our room. Several hairs not belonging to us in the bathroom and shower. Comfortable bed and good location. Glad we didn't spend too much on this room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAYcamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn K, Manager at Holiday Inn Appleton, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments with your most recent stay with us. Your input is very important to us! I apologize your room cleanliness was not up to our standards. We are in the process of finalizing more room renovations and carpet is on the list! We are very proud of our staff and the service they deliver, Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Shawn Kennedy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
0.7 mi away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#8 of 25 in Appleton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 25 in Appleton
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Appleton

Property: Holiday Inn Appleton
Address: 150 S Nicolet Rd, Appleton, WI 54914-3947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Appleton 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm & warmth of Appleton, Wisconsin & the Fox Cities! The Holiday Inn Hotel in Appleton provides a lodging experience like no other in the Fox Valley. Conveniently located 1.5 miles from Appleton/Outagamie County Airport (ATW), the Appleton hotel offers complimentary shuttle service. Our newly renovated Appleton hotel is located at the corner of US Hwy 41 and College Avenue (exit 137). Within minutes of many area businesses and attractions like the Fox River Mall, Fox Cities Performing Arts Center and just thirty minutes from Lambeau Field, home of the Green Bay Packers! Relax, It's Holiday Inn! where Kids Stay and Eat Free we are sure to have something for everyone. Let the kids swim, play video games or explore while Mom and Dad relax in our oversized whirlpool. The Holiday Inn Appleton hotel specializes in meeting and exceeding the needs of the corporate traveler. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the entire hotel. Enjoy a hot breakfast in the Terrace Cafe and unwind after a long day in Marlon's Pub & Grill. Planning your next event in Appleton, Wisconsin, think of the Holiday Inn Hotel! Our sales and catering professionals take pride in providing outstanding service and facilities for your next wedding, conference, banquet or reunion. Reality Refreshed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Appleton Hotel Appleton
Appleton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing