We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Appleton Airport
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Appleton
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular bases for the past two years. The Front Desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms have all been remodeled. The swimming pool area is outstanding. They have complimentary drinks for two hours each night and a breakfast that includes cold cereals, waffles, juice, eggs and some type of meat. For the price and location this hotel is outstanding.

Room Tip: If possible upgrade to a whirlpool room, its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Comfort Suites Appleton and share your experiences with others traveling to the Appleton area. Your comments and description of the Hotel will be very helpful to them in deciding on where to stay. It has been a pleasure serving you during your stays at our property and we value your business. Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites Appleton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff was excellent, the room was nice, and you can't beat the price. The only negatives I found was that the traffic from the highway was pretty loud & the heater was loud when it kicked on, but I always bring a fan with me when I sleep, so it wasn't a huge deal for me. The pool was pretty cold & the pillows are VERY small. These things are pretty minor & would not affect me staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in January 2013 with the park and fly package. Great price to stay in nice place, get shuttled to airport in early morning and be picked up when we came home. The shuttle driver went above and beyond for us when we got back after 12 days of very cold weather and our van wouldn't start. I was going to call AAA but he said hang on...that will take too long. He jump started our van with the shuttle van and got us on our way very quickly. It was FREEZING outside. He was a great help! I would recommend staying here to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Comfort Suites Appleton. The staff here prides itself on great guest service. We treat our guest like family and want every guest to feel at home when staying at the Comfort Suites Appleton. I was happy to hear the shuttle driver got your car started and you on your way quickly. Please stop in and say hello if you return to Appleton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here for work and was very impressed. The standard room cost me just over $80 but was upgraded to a two story suite when I arrived for being a Platinum member with Choice. Parts of the room definitely had some wear on it but was above average compared to many of the hotels I've stayed at.

Will definitely intend on staying here again when I'm in town assuming I can get a similar rate.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank You so much for your review. We rely on our guest feedback to let us know if we are succeeding in our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. It is always nice to be able to upgrade our frequent travelers if we have the opportunity. I am glad to here you enjoyed the 2-story suite. I look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Been comeing here for a group adult getta way. I think our group gets a little out of hand and the staff all handle even. The most obnoxious guest with smiles and patience over and above the call of duty . Hotel has always been very clean both rooms and pool areas.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lce41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Comfort Suites Appleton. Its good to know we have groups that enjoy our service and facility so much that they decide to return. We love hosting groups and the staff has many years of experience in taking great care of our group customers. Our Hotel motto is, "Creating Memories by Exceeding Expectations" Feel at home with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was kind of dissappointed in this property.. I feel like they cut corners and its def at the expense of the guests. The stff however is super friendly and on their game. check in was a breeze, they had everything all ready when i came in a little later in the evening. we went swimming and the pool was pretty cold i had to go sit in the hot tub for a while.. which had not been cleaned in quite some time. :/ . i didnt sleep very good either the bed was too hard and the pillows too soft and flimsy. breakfast was pretty gross prepackaged premade eggs and sausage.. and watered down waffle batter.. i used to work in the hotel industry so i guess i notice when they cut corners.. just the little things. but hey those little things count! .. i dont think i will bring my family back here, OOH however i must add for people travelling without children they do have a happy hour where they give you free cocktails pizza and popcorn.. which brings me to another issue. we had to walk through a pile of drunks to get in to the pool..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Comfort Suites Appleton. It is always good to here feedback from our guests, whether its positive or negative. Your comments will help us evaluate our operation and enable us to better serve our future guests. Thank you again for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Appleton is a short trip from home for us, so it makes for an easy overnight getaway. With it's location right off of Highway 41 and a couple of short blocks from the Fox River Mall, and all the associated restaurants near the Mall, this Comfort Suites is in a good location. We chose to stay at the Comfort Suites for this overnight trip because they have a GREAT pool area. It's large and bright and open. The pool is big by most hotel pool standards and with three teenagers on this trip, we wanted to stay someplace where they could swim and not be on top of each other or anyone else who may be in the pool. Weeknights, they offer a "manager's cocktail reception" which includes free beer, wine and rail mixed drinks. We had gone out for dniner that evening, and got back in time to just catch the very end of the cocktail hour so we only had time for one glass of wine, but that's really all we wanted anyway. The morning breakfast is your standard free breakfast fare - cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, bagels, bread to toast, make-your-own waffles and some sort of hot egg and breakfast meat selection. The morning we were there it was sausage patties and eggs, which worked well for making a nice breakfast sandwich.

As for the the hotel staff, the bartender in the small hotel bar was wonderful! Very nice, went out of her way to take care of us.. and the two gentlemen that greeted us when we checked in were SUPER friendly! However, the lady at the front desk the next morning was not (and that's putting it kindly). In fact, as I was getting my breakfast, another guest made that very same comment to me.. how friendly the guys were when they checked in, but the lady at the front desk that morning was NOT. Hopefully she was just having a bad morning and that's not how she normally takes care of the guests.

Finally, I DO realize that it takes a lot of money to renovate hotels and that they do it in stages, as they can manage. Overall, the Comfort Suites is still a nice property.. and you can tell that some things have been addressed (ie. new televisions in our rooms, renovated bathrooms, updated decor in the guest room) but other areas need a little work yet.. (the hallway carpets, the breakfast area has one TV and if it's busy, i can image it's difficult to hear), but nothing that will keep us from coming back. The location and the pool are just to good to keep us away.

Some tips for folks not familiar with the area.. if you have any plans in Appleton that involve travel "downtown", you should know that downtown is about a 5-10 min drive from this hotel, depending on traffic and how you "hit the lights". The Fox River Mall is west of Highway 41.. you can see the mall from the hotel, and yes, it's only a few blocks away, but I would not suggest walking there as there is a lot of traffic in this part of Appleton (in fact, I'm not even sure that there IS a sidewalk that goes all the way from where the hotel is over to the mall). There is a gas station/convenience store *(Kwik Trip) across the parking lot from the "back side" of the hotel that you can walk to.. as well as a Wendy's and an Arby's fast food restaurant. Anything else you would need to drive to... but there ARE a lot of restaurant options within a five min drive of the hotel (both national chain-type restaurants and some great local options as well. If you love italian, you need to try Victoria's on College Avenue).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgifford, General Manager at Comfort Suites Appleton Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review of the Comfort Suites Appleton and your stay with us. I am sure travelers to the Appleton area will find it helpful in deciding where to stay. Thanks for noticing the updates to the Hotel. Please be patient as we complete our renovations. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
5.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 25 in Appleton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
2.8 mi away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Appleton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Appleton Airport

Address: 3809 W Wisconsin Ave, Appleton, WI 54914-5739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Appleton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Appleton Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the few upscale all-suites hotels in Appleton, WI. Located conveniently on Hwy 41 and 96, near the Fox River Mall, this hotel has quick access to downtown for business and leisure attractions and just a 3 mile drive from Outagamie County Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Appleton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Comfort Dome Hotel Appleton
Comfort Suites Appleton
Appleton Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing