We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Jericoacoara
Certificate of Excellence
Licca63
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intimate beach resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

A fabulous, upscale, luxurious yet simple beach front resort! Jericoacoara is a great little beach town in the north of Brazil that can boast of beautiful weather virtually all year round. The impressive 40 meter sand dunes on the edge of town make for a unique setting. The hotel itself is situated on a quiet beach front where you can either lay out under a palm tree on the comfy lounges by the infinity pool or have someone set up an umbrella and beach chair for you on the sand. It was a great place to relax and we're just sorry we didn't stay long enough - only 4 days. The best part was the service and discreet attention. Just when you're under the palm tree thinking that you'd love a plate of tropical fruit does someone from the staff show up with one. EVERYONE was just great. David the manager was fundamental in organizing our trip in the area. Without his advice, I don't know how we would have managed. My only qualm is the room size -they are a bit small (if you have a lot of luggage, you might be tight). but the private outside space and grounds make up for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Licca63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    34
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
164
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Jericoacoara is charming and Chilli Beach is chic, combining easygoing-ness of the place with nice level of sophistication. But what really makes it extraordinary is the attention and support of the managers who make sure you get most out of your stay and whatever request or wish you can have they find the way to satisfy it...

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AndyDG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

When you read through all the reviews of Chili Beach, perhaps, like us, you are inclined to ignore the one or two reviews that are more negative than others. We wish we hadn't - particularly the one that described Chili Beach as having a lack of soul. You were spot on.

We stayed for 5 nights as part of our 2 month round-the-world honeymoon, and it is absolutely true - it is like walking into paradise.Chili Beach, location-wise is even more incredible than the photos show - with the hotel room right next to the ocean.

To get to the town of Jericoacoara itself requires a 6-hour drive from Fortaleza along mostly unpaved, pot-holed road, whereupon you arrive in Jericoacoara National Park (which is pure sand dunes - get a 4x4 and a guide to drive you through; it's not a scam, it is much needed, although we did make it (miraculously) in a Opel Zafira unassisted!). It's a fantastic adventure, but be prepared).

You are then be rewarded with a gorgeous, remote, laid-back, town with a hippy feel that survives without paved roads - sand only (and cars must now be parked on the edge of the town - guides will take you in). Chili Beach is not in the least bit hippy, instead totally stylish and hip (a little bit too hip - there's a distinct arrogance to the staff and managers) , with a cool bar and restaurant, modern, stylish setup and welcoming pool - and you are greeted with a glass of champagne for the sunset upon arrival.

Bar one of the girls serving at lunchtime, not one of the staff members smiled (quite an achievement in Brazil, one of the friendliest countries in the world). The food varies from being very good (lunch) to miserable (breakfast) (bread stale, service inconsistent); after paying a considerable sum per night to be told you have to pay for a cappucino/latte on top does, quite frankly, defy belief.

Service in general is lacklustre. There is an absolute expectation to speak Portuguese (we speak several languages between us fluently, but Portuguese is not one of them) - or attempt to communicate in Spanish. One of the managers actually said to us upon asking him if he spoke English, 'if you are unable to speak Portuguese, then I suppose I must'.

Overall, we felt the hotel caters to locals and not to the international community (in our experience there, locals were greeted like family; foreigners served politely, but coldly).
As such, Chili Beach should not market themselves as an international hotel.

This could be an exceptional place - it is an exceptional place - but it is in urgent need of new management to give it a sparkle. Chili Beach owners - we hope you are reading, and then we would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonquil_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidchilibeach, General Manager at The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam
To begin we would like to thank you for choosing to be our guests at The Chili Beach Hotel. We realize that when you travel you have many hotels to choose from and we appreciate your patronage. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, structure, design and amenities of the hotel.
On behalf of the Chili Beach Hotel I apologize that your stay with us fell short of your expectations in some areas. Our team strives to provide the very best service and standard possible and complete customer satisfaction is a hallmark of our hotel, as is evidenced by the other reviews on this page. On the very rare occasions that a guest is not completely satisfied with their stay we are eager to hear the reasons why and take whatever steps necessary to improve our service.
To this end, I thank you for your comments and hope that the explanations and clarifications below help demonstrate our commitment to maintaining the high standards the Chili Beach Hotel is well known for.
- In regards to the perceived lack of a warm reception you felt from restaurant staff, we are sorry that this was your experience. As you mentioned, the Brazilian people are known for their warmth, smiles and acceptance of all cultures and this is no exception at our hotel and is the impression the vast majority of our guests have had when interacting with our staff. In June, when you stayed with us, we did have an issue with a couple of the restaurant staff where their normal happy demeanor and outgoing nature had changed and these staff members have since been replaced.
- We are pleased that you enjoyed the food served from our restaurant. In regards to the espresso coffee served with the breakfast buffet which used to be charged separately, after a few suggestions similar to yours we have purchased an original Italian ILLY espresso machine and now offer free ILLY espresso´s with breakfast to our guests.
- In regards to the language barrier and the staff´s supposed insistence on speaking only Portuguese, to be honest this comment was somewhat confusing to us as we cater to both national and international guests and for this very reason have hired bi-lingual staff for as many departments of the hotel as possible, not an easy task in the northeast of Brazil where English is very rarely spoken. Some of our staff are, in fact, native English speakers, not Brazilians, so it is hard to understand why we would transmit that we were reluctant to speak English. My only conclusion is that there was a misunderstanding when communicating with a staff member who perhaps spoke very little English and I am sorry if this gave the impression that somehow we, as a hotel, preferred to speak only Portuguese or that anyone who didn´t speak Portuguese would somehow receive inferior service from our staff.

For the benefit of any others reading this response our hotel would like to state for the record that we welcome guests from any location or country and strive to communicate in the language most comfortable for them. Collectively our staff speaks English, Portuguese, Spanish and Italian and we would in no way ever hesitate to speak any of these languages with a guest if it´s more comfortable for them and we , of course, give equal service to both our national and international guests.

In conclusion, we sincerely hope that our response clarifies these issues and demonstrates our commitment to excellence and we look forward to receiving you again as our guests in the near future.

Sincerely,
David Gillingham
General Manager
The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel and Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Fantastically located at the beach. Great staff that adapts perfectly to customer needs. The food has been a real treat from Carlitos and colleagues!

Actually, TCB offers everything and more to its customers regarding amenities where you do not feel the urge of leaving the Hotel, which I think is a good sign!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ullinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

lovely, quiet 5 * boutique hotel.

very relaxed, great service and lovely rooms. very exclusive (only 6 rooms!),

Room Tip: ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

One word to describe The Chilli Beach: Paradise!!!
This hotel is located at best beach with unique view of the sea and incredible sunset.
Staff was extremelly helpfull and sympathethic. They are focus on small details and always ready to serve you with a huge genuine smile.
Extremelly clean, full of details. Very relaxing Spa.
Best food in Jeri. Carlos (executive chef) goes every moring to the fish market and brings the fish almost alive to the hotel.
Don´t miss the sunset with a glass of champagne at the pool!!

Room Tip: Ask for Robalo on salt, best choice at restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctrip0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Do you know how it feels when you get to find an hotel (actually...more than that... aboutique resort) where you can't really think about anything you'd like to be different ?
Well, this is the place.
And we have some experience...we own a maison d'hote on Portofino hills, where the clientele is very exigent and doen't allow you to make mistakes...
Well ..trust us...
if you want a stylish yet warm place , a fantastic breakfast and very well prepared lunch and dinners, an almost privat pool overlooking the surf ( and the surfers ) of Jeri...you got it !
And very romantic too!
We'll definitely be back soon !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jericoacoara hotels
0.3 mi away
Essenza Hotel
Essenza Hotel
#5 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Residence Hotel
Blue Residence Hotel
#6 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
Hotel Hurricane Jeri (Praia)
#2 of 24 in Jericoacoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Jeriba
Pousada Jeriba
#1 of 24 in Jericoacoara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa na Praia
Casa na Praia
#7 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Kalango
Vila Kalango
#3 of 24 in Jericoacoara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort

Property: The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort
Address: Rua da Igreja, Jericoacoara, Jijoca de Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-973, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jijoca de Jericoacoara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jericoacoara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jericoacoara
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jericoacoara
#7 Spa Hotel in Jericoacoara
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jericoacoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chili Beach Hotel is located on a beach that was voted amongst the 10 most beautiful in the world by the Washington Post. The small village of Jericoacoara has become a much sought after destination by those in search of unspoiled beaches and a non-commercialized ambience. From the very beginning the focus of the Chili Beach Hotel has been to provide luxury accommodation and personalized service to our guests in this very isolated piece of paradise. The fusion of 5 star service and plush accommodations in this very distant and inaccessible region of stark natural beauty is unique to our hotel and has allowed us to cater to those that are seeking this combination. The Chili Beach has an alluring style combining tropical beach design with contemporary decor and luxurious finishing. Our hotel provides direct access to a deserted beach. Our amenities include a swimming pool, open air gourmet italian and local specialty restaurant overlooking the sea, a wellness center and SPA, poolside bar, Beach Club and private tropical gardens attached to each room. The sundeck, lounge and library provide the setting to enjoy a cocktail or a glass of champagne while watching the most beautiful sunset in Brazil. Our friendly and bi-lingual staff is on call to organize sporting activities and guided tours, whether on foot, horseback or by dune buggy. We are also available to organize every detail of your transfers between Fortaleza and Jericoacoara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chili Beach Boutique Hotels And Resort
The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel Jericoacoara
The Chili Beach Boutique Hotel & Resort Jericoacoara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing