We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't cancel, 2-day deposit ABSOLUTELY non-refundable”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pousada Papaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Papaya
Ranked #8 of 97 Jericoacoara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't cancel, 2-day deposit ABSOLUTELY non-refundable”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We'd loved to have stayed in this pousada. We booked for three days and had to pay a deposit of 2 days. No problem of course and perfectly understandable. However, due to severe weather conditions in Europe our flights were canceled day after day after day. Result: not able to get to Jeri on time.

We know that the deposit is non-refundable, but we expected some compassion after explaining why we had to cancel. This is simply a case of force majeur. Unfortunately they are not to be convinced and we lost our deposit. So before booking this pousada please make sure there's no chance of cancelling.

If there's anyone wanting to use our (paid) reservation for December 22nd-25th, please let me know.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yomiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousadapapaya, Proprietário at Pousada Papaya, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Google Translation
De acorco com a nossa "politica de Reservas e Cancelamentos" que é enviada à todos os clientes antes de efetuarem qualquer pagamento, nos meses de férias a reserva poderà ser cancelada com até 30 dias de antecedencia (o valor pago poderà ser usado por uma terceira pessoa, ou ficar de crédito p/ ser usado em até 365 dias (1 ano), da data do cancelamento.
Infelizmente esse cliente, em especial, 2 dias antes do check-in, teve problemas com os aeroportos , e entendendo a dificuldade, oferecemos as opçoes acima (mesmo estando fora dos nossos prazos) e nenhuma das 2 opçoes foi aceita,...infelizmente nao pudemos fazer nada além de desconsiderar a reserva que jà esta confirmada.
att,
Lizge Gobbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
130
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Hi.
My wife and I spend the holly week holiday in the Papaya pousada. The place is easy to find, just 50m (165 feets) from the bus station. It is a quiet place, just 5 minutes walking from the center of the village.
The small swimming pool at the end of the day is delicious, surrounded by plants and flowers. The room cleaned every day, with comfortable bed and wonderful view of the dune from the superior apartments. The owner was always available to answer any doubt. It was a fantastic time, great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bragbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We had a terrific stay in Papaya. It's very cute, a little bit outside the village centre and the garden and (small) pool area were great to hang out in. Breakfast was a treat, and included a variety of different sweet baked treats every day. Out of season they have terrific special offers, but even in high season we thought it was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

beautiful pousada ina beautiful place. the owners are wonderful, the rooms clean, the breakfast is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebebrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent five nights in Jericoacoara. We spent the first couple of nights at Pousada Papaya. The Pousada is beautiful, relaxing and very clean. They have a cute place to eat breakfast (good combination of fresh fruit, breads and juice), hammocks to lie in, and nice rooms.

We booked an apt, and were very pleased. It was a two-floor apt, with a living area on the first floor (that I think can be used for an additional bed) and then the bed was on the top floor. Lots of space, very comfortable, and we had a hammock right out front to lie in the sun.

The only minor problem was our communication with the staff. We didn't speak Portuguese (well very little), and they didn't speak any English, and we had a misunderstanding about how many nights we were staying, so we moved to another Pousada for the last couple of nights. The staff was very nice dealing with the misunderstanding and arranged to get us picked up and moved over to the other Pousada.

Overall a lovely, relaxing place to stay. We highly recommend it. Jericoacoara is a wonderful place to visit, and we would enjoy staying at Pousada Papaya again.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Communication was a bit tough.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank atwoodexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jericoacoara hotels
0.3 mi away
Pousada Maxitalia
Pousada Maxitalia
#18 of 24 in Jericoacoara
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Ibiscus
Pousada Ibiscus
#9 of 24 in Jericoacoara
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essenza Hotel
Essenza Hotel
#5 of 24 in Jericoacoara
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Residence Hotel
Blue Residence Hotel
#8 of 24 in Jericoacoara
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Vento de Jeri
Pousada Vento de Jeri
#12 of 24 in Jericoacoara
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 24 in Jericoacoara
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Papaya

Property: Pousada Papaya
Address: Rua das Dunas 74, Jericoacoara, Jijoca de Jericoacoara, State of Ceara 62598-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Jijoca de Jericoacoara > Jericoacoara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Jericoacoara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Papaya opened its doors in July 2003 and is situated in a privileged position next to the largest and most famous dune in Jericoacoara (Duna Por Do Sol/Sunset Dune). We are 70 meters from the beach. The pousada is surrounded by a lovely tropical garden which is looked after by the owners, Lizge and Gianluca. We have recently remodelled and can offer four different types of accommodation. We have a cozy lounge area and a reading room. Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada Papaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Papaya Jericoacoara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing