We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but select your room carefully if picking the standard rates”
Review of Mareiro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mareiro Hotel
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but select your room carefully if picking the standard rates”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012 for a few days and on the first night I stayed at a room with a view to other buildings and a parking lot.
During the day I could not open the curtain or else I would be facing the people at the parking lot and construction workers that were working in one of the few skyscrapers being built there.

I asked for another room the other morning, which was promptly addressed by the friendly front desk staff. So my suggestion is to ask for the room with a view to the swimming pool, which is much bigger than those on the opposite side and you get a hint of the sea view.

What I loved the most about this hotel was its informal atmosphere due to the nicely designed lounge, which is semi open and faces the swimming pool as well as a huge sea front deck, where you can chill during the day or have friends over for a chat at night. The comfortable couches at the lounge are a friendly welcome to your stay in Fortaleza.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select standard rooms facing the swimming pool for a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geiko_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    604
    175
    43
    16
See reviews for
600
343
31
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Nice location by the beach. Luxurious rooms. Swimming pool in the foyer. Very pleasant. Breakfast was very good - easy to eat too much trying all the options (including the local and rather heavy tapioca pancake)!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 7 night stay at the Mareiro (14-21 Jan. '12). The room we had (#472) was considered a 'Standard Apartment' with a King-sized bed, small bathroom, adequate sized shower and small balcony that looked directly at the side of the adjacent, main portion of the building. If you hung your head over the rail you could see the swimming pool. Our package included RT air on Gol from Sao Paulo and 7 nights/ 8 days at the hotel including airport/hotel transfer, so it's tough to separate the lodging portion of the trip from the overall cost of the entire package (approx. US$2400 for the both of us). Add the fact that we booked the trip only 10 days before the departure and I feel that the price was reasonable. The cafe de manha (breakfast) buffet was easily the high-light of the hotel, with a wide selection of juices, fruits, breads, omelettes-made-to-order, etc. The centrally-located swimming pool and patio/ gym was inviting (if somewhat noisy from all of the kids having a ball). The only major complaint we had was occasional late-night noise in the corridors from boisterous (probably drunk) guests, ignorant that yelling & laughing at 0100 was disruptive to the sleep of others. Another minor gripe was that the hotel's WIFI signal was inconsistent. The hotel staff was very courteous and attentive. The location of the hotel (as mentioned by other posts) is excellent. We didn't have a car but found it easy and safe to walk to the near-by restaurants, daily street-fair kiosks, etc. We looked at the hotel's restaurant menu but weren't tempted at the selection or prices, especially considering the nearby selections available.

Room Tip: Chances are the lower cost "Standard Apartments" will have a limited or no ocean view; you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugaldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mighty MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Wonderful buffet breakfast included. Great views of the beach, and the Atlantic. Also very near all kinds of restaurants and the craft market. All within easy walking distance. Swimming pool with a swim up bar and the staff makes real good cairpirinhas especially the "muito docemente". Lots of sugar.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brydic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Who would have known how hard it is to find a room in Fortaleza in January?! Tip number 1: if you are traveling to Fortaleza in high season, plan ahead! After spending literally hours on the phone, calling every 3-4 star hotel in the city, I was relieved to find a room in the Mareiro. However, I suspect that the hundreds of families who shared the hotel with us planned much further ahead and were not paying the approx $200US a night that we booked at.

The Mareiro is comfortable and clean but very basic. Owners clearly made an attempt at modernization some years ago with light wood paneling and more modern Ikea-like furnishings but the 1970s character of the hotel shines through and rooms still look worn. Railings on the balconies are far from sturdy as well.

The final word: If you are desperately seeking a room like I was, you will be happy enough here. If nothing else, the breakfast is pretty remarkable. If you are taking a family trip and your kids love to swim, plan ahead, pay less, and stay here (it's not worth $200 a night). Your kids will find themselves in a virtual summer camp, with lots of other kids to play with and a fantastic pool.

Room Tip: If you want a double-queen bed, be sure to ask for it. Otherwise you could end up in a room w two tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryandHipinBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal, RN
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

there is a nice pool area and the hotel is close to the crafts market. Breakfast is very good with lots of different things to chose from and friendly staff. The hotel has been renovated lately and is in reasonable shape. Lots of restuarants nearby. Perfect for a walk in the evening along the calçadão.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I feel comfortable evaluating hotels in Forteza, as I've been visiting this city for 8 years now on my business trips. This hotel is a bit different from the others at Beira-Mar Avenue: it's just 5 storeys high, probably because it's one of the older ones. Luckily it has been recently renovated, which turns it into one of the (few) hotels in Fortaleza where I liked to stay.
Most hotels in this area are in desperate need of proper maintenance, even the ones that have been built just 10 years ago.
In case of Mareiro, everything looks brand-new, but there are some details that reveal there were things left untouched, as the jammed balcony door that was supposed to slide. I also noticed a slight musty odor when entering the room, but I couldn't feel it after a few minutes. I guess it could annoy allergic guests.
Room size is OK, bed size is OK, but the cushions and bed sheets could be softer. Bathroom is clean.
Breakfast is really good, in typical Brazilian Northeast style, with several fresh fruits and juices, tapiocas and omelettes made-to-order, besides the regular breads and cakes.
Location is almost in front of the popular arts-and-crafts fair, and many restaurants are nearby. I tried the hotel's restaurant once - it's not bad, but surely hugely overpriced for its simple dishes.
The parking lot is charged separately and there's no valet to park one's car. The path from the underground parking lot to the lobby leads through dark service corridors - it didn't leave a good impression on me.
Room rate is not inexpensive at all, but that's a problem with most hotels in Fortaleza. Value is so-so, but at least it's not a complete rip-off. I know, it doesn't sound as a compliment, but in Fortaleza it is.
And remember: stay there as long as it's new. In a few years, bad maintenance will surely affect this hotel's quality.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#5 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#21 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#8 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gran Mareiro Hotel
Gran Mareiro Hotel
#6 of 95 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareiro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareiro Hotel

Property: Mareiro Hotel
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 2380, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-120, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#10 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
#11 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mareiro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Localizado a beira mar de Fortaleza, Mareiro e um hotel horizontal, com amplas areas verdes, terracos e piscinas. Nosso hotel oferece um ambiente ideal para ferias ou viagens de negocios. Dispomos de copa baby, cyber cafe e internet wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mareiro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareiro Hotel Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing