We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience, expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
Madrid
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Poor experience, expected more”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for the world cup. The hotel is like a Spanish 3 star from the 1970´s. Clearly Brasil needs to upgrade their standards. The shower was old and dirty. The toilet would get stuck all the time. Reception staff, with some exceptions, were not very helpful and seemed to be more interested in talking to each other. The rooftop pool was closed, nobody advised of course. The breakfast was terrible, must I must say I had no decent breakfast at the 5 different hotels I stayed at in Brasil, all 4 stars.
The good part: the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan James ... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente geral at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, December 22, 2015
Dear Host,

I regret that we have not reached their expectations fully, we will be reviewing the points cited to take appropriate corrective action.

Regards,

Issao Hashimoto
General manager
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    830
    270
    85
    51
See reviews for
465
420
67
768
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belem, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked a superior room which cost a very reasonable £55 for one night. On arrival we were upgraded to an Executive room. The room was large and well equipped with a fantastic sea view. Not a new hotel but the room was well maintained. Although nice it did have a slightly business hotel feel to it. Breakfast was slightly disappointing, the bread could have been fresher possibly because it was a Sunday morning and I would have liked more choice of fruit (also I missed the breakfast by the pool experience of the near by Hotel Villa Maior). The small roof top pool was out of action and looked like it had been for some time.

Special note on location: This is the best beach front area to stay with many bars, restaurants and interesting stalls it is also fairly safe, the beach is good but not the best and I have been told by locals not to swim in the sea here as it is polluted. The best beach close to town is "Praia do Futuro" ten minutes taxi drive from the Hotel but "Praia do Futuro" has a reputation for being dangerous after dark so don't stay too late.

Top quality features: Location, extremely helpful and pleasant staff, nice room.
Medium quality features: Breakfast, character.
Poor quality features: No functioning pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente geral at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It was an honor to you as one of our guest!

I am very sorry for the incovenience you have experienced throughout your stay with us. Regarding the pool, for security reasons, we had to interdict it on an emergency basis. I apologize if this situation reflected negatively on your stay, however thinking in the welfare of the guests we have already initiated a revitalization project in order to make your next experiences unforgettable. We are sorry that your stay have not matched your expectations.
Please accept our apologies and rest assured that your comments have been already shared and discussed with the Team.

Based on the positive aspects, we really hope that you give us another opportunity to show you that we are a complete product. Our location is really an enabler for many guests because we are short distance to the best bars and restaurants in town. Our main goal is to make our guests' experience so enjoyable that they always return,

We expect to see you as soon as possibly,

Tiago Leonardi Miranda
General Manager
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I use to stay in this Hotel when I head to Fortaleza for business purposes.
One of its best issue is location. Facing the beach, the hotel is located in the busy and touristy area of Fortaleza. Plenty of restaurants and bars make this neighborhood bustle all day long. Just few steps away is a nice flea market where you can find local stuffs - food, artwork, handcraft.
Although the movement around, you'll probably get a good night rest.
Staff is friendly and smiling, but be prepared to stay longer than necessary in the queue both during check-in and check-out - but nothing that would kill you.
Breakfast is simple but fresh and enough to start the day.
Rooms are large and well equipped. Safebok provided to store values. Flat Tv with a wide channels range. Cable and wifi internet available, although speed and signal quality should be improved.
Some downsides: room and bathroom quite dark. Few wall sockets - and some of them simply does not work. They have a limited laundry service. Actually, they contract a third-party to provide the service. If you need a same-day delivery, you must order it up to miday. Or you can iron your shirts by yourself. The last time I was there, I saw mold in the bathroom, and finally the A/C control did not work. I couldn't set the temperature or the fan mode.
All in all, it's a good option for a few days and those downsides would not be sufficient to ruin your stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms for a delightful view or side rooms for quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente de recepção at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for your comments here on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

the beach near is amazing but a lttle bit crowded, not to mention the restaurants and pubs... overall the room was OK - good location was enough to add to my rating.

In need of updating bathroom fixtures in particular (very dark to shave). Also, internet was very suspect to say the least which is an issue if traveling for business.

The staff were beyond friendly, fun to talk with, easily approachable and helpful and always available when needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente de recepção at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Mr.

Thank you for your comments here on the trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
316 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

You could not get much closer to the beach than this hotel located right on Avenida Beira Mar in Meireles. It has a curious sinuous shape with rooms offering great views of the beach, the bay and the port. From the 22nd floor you must walk up to the rooftop deck and pool, with the latter a bit of a laugh as it is not much bigger than a child's wading pool. This property is slightly dated, but pretty good value. Simple furnishings, a cofre for your valuables, TV flatscreen, a special window below the opening window so you can admire the view from the horizontal while relaxing on your bed, and exceptionally poor lighting in the bathroom. You practically need your flashlight to shave. Soothe your stubble and cuts with the best hand cream found in any hotel in Brazil, and come down to a delicious café de manha, or slurp a fresh cafezinho in the lobby after you enjoy your welcome caipirinha. Great staff, good value, excellent location.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms closer to the street are good if you want the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente de recepção at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for the comments on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Remote Island
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The title says it. We paid near prices of 4star hotels in Rio for 3star hotels in Fortaleza but felt the quality of hotels in that price range were superior to that of Rio.

The staff were beyond friendly, fun to talk with, easily approachable and helpful and always available when needed.

The downer to the facility is likely to be the gym and pool on the roof. Its terribly small and there are too few loungers on the roof make a day of it. The gym was narrow, tight fit with equipment and a but drab in environments.

The only other area to note was the breakfast... Cake cake and more cake. Eggs and tapioca dishes to order were not made aware until our final day though appeared tastey from what was served on our way out.

Certainly located where u want to be and certainly a place of consideration when we return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoysIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente de recepção at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for the comments on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

the employees were friendly, the breakfast was good, and the free expresso and caipirinhas in the lobby were great. BUT:

1. I asked for a crib when i reserved the room, but it wasnt there when i arrived. had to ask again.
2. a/c was really cold but there weren't any batteries in the a/c remote control, and no way to turn it off manually. i asked for new batteries at the front desk, but several hours later, they werent there. had to ask again.
3. nothing worked in the fitness center.
4. the shower leaked so much that the bathroom flooded every time
5. the bathroom smelled like pee the entire time.
6. i waited in line for five min to check out, and when it was my turn, the girl at the desk allowed someone to cut the line in front of me.
7.the "optional service tax" is charged at check-in. how can one know ahead of time whether or not the service would be good enough for a tip? further, if i tipped when i checked in, why do the porters still expect tips?
8. the free wifi was terribly slow--several minutes to load a simple page.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreyhoundsAreFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralqhf, Gerente de recepção at Quality Hotel Fortaleza, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for the comments on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
#11 of 96 in Fortaleza
2,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Atlantico Fortaleza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#9 of 96 in Fortaleza
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#3 of 96 in Fortaleza
2,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#12 of 96 in Fortaleza
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
#29 of 96 in Fortaleza
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Fortaleza

Property: Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 2340, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-120, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#9 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Fortaleza 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Quality Hotel Fortaleza esta estrategicamente localizado no coracao da avenida Beira Mar, bem proximo a famosa feirinha de artesanato e aos mais importantes centros de negocios de Fortaleza. Facil acesso a diversos pontos da cidade como: Aeroporto Internacional Pinto Martins (11 km), Centro da Cidade (3 km), Centro de Convencoes (7 km), Praia do Futuro (5 km), Shopping Aldeota (2 km), Shopping Iguatemi (5 km). Atualmente, o Quality Hotel Fortaleza oferece treinamento funcional aos seus hospedes de segunda a sexta-feira das 19:00 as 20:00 horas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing