We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not a five stars one”
Review of Seara Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seara Praia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Brasiilia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good, but not a five stars one”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

It is a very well placed hotel. Near of the famous handcraft market place, pharmacies, good restaurants, banks. The leisure facilities are very good and pleople are gentle. The breakfast is nice, in the same level to the most 4 stars in Brazil. My room was located on the side of the building but I had a view of the beach. It was quiet, the cable TV presented several good options. The wireless internet access presented fast and stable.
However, a couple problems I could notice: first of all, the hotel presents a serious problem with cleaness in the room, including bathroom. Also, I should ask of soap and toalet paper refill. The bathroom presented a water leak and for all 5 days I was there, it remained damaged.
Second, if you intend to ask for a la carte plate at restaurant, just forget it. The service is really bad. I was with 2 friends and one of them remains without his meal!The maitre simply "forgot" him!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariSauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    520
    204
    51
    21
See reviews for
624
381
41
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My room was good, even being next to the elevator was very quiet. The TV was new, but the antenna does not work. The same happened in another room with my friend who complained about the size of the bathroom. My bathroom had a good size. In front of the craft fair and beach Meirelles not recommended because it polluted. If tourism is to choose a hotel in 'Praia do Futuro "or" Praia de Iracema. "

Room Tip: in front of beach and artezanato fair
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a couple problems - such as 2 separate beds or missing towels on the room - but once we contacted the front desk, less than 5 minutes later the issues were solved.

The hotel offers an incredible breakfast.

The leisure installations are great - highlights on the panoramic jacuzzi and the sauna with a great view

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raquel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Go - you will like it. We had a good experience. Quiet and restful. Nice location. True the elevator is slow but this was no real problem. Staff were friendly and helpful, perhaps slower then their US counterparts - but what do you expect in a tropical climate? True, their English is not great, but you've got to learn some Portuguese to navigate in Fortaleza anyhow. This is one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Brazil, a sold 3 or 4 star place. Breakfast was super. [Beware of any claims about the "partial ocean view" rooms which have no actual ocean view at all, but when we complained this wasn't what we had paid for, then got a great actual ocean view room at no addl charge.] We'd go again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r-sturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
154 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Stayed here for one night and would never go back. Thank God it was the company that paid and not me – I would have refused to pay.
Some things the hotel cannot be held responsible for – the fact that during the night many guests were extremely ill-behaved, shouting and running, having loud arguments, slamming doors, calling to each other from balconies, banging furniture around, literally the whole night.
Other things are definitely the hotel’s responsibility: air-conditioner that rattled, fridge that sounded like an Airbus when it came on during the night, curtains that didn’t reach to the floor and so let light in in the early morning, door to varanda that rattled slightly in the wind from the sea, paper-thin walls and floors that let you hear conversations in other rooms and made sure you knew exactly when a guest in any adjoining room was using the bathroom, slightly dank and dark bathroom, and a pretty uncomfortable mattress. Oh, and the remote control for the TV didn’t work.
Add slow internet connection, a very average breakfast with queues, and the queues for the inadequate lifts, and you’ve got what for me was one of the worst nights/mornings I’ve ever had in a hotel.
Two years ago I stayed at the Gran Marquise and didn’t like it much – but anything’s better than this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
514 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The location is fantastic in Fortaleza! However, the rooms are not very comfortable and the bathrooms are old! The worst problem is the elevators! Only two! Besides being small, where’s only two to attend a large number of guests, creating lines during `rush hours`!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PontaMarHotel, Gerente at Seara Praia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,


We received, through the site Trip Advisor, your comments about your stay at our hotel in July 2009.

Thanks for the compliments to our staff.

We are sorry because we couldn´t reach all of yours expectations but we would like to inform that we carry through the necessary verifications, and already done the possible solutions.

Thanks for your understanding and we hope you can come to visit us and see all the changes we have done in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Anna Paula Bezerra
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my parents on a family trip. We had one room for three people, with three comfortable, clean beds. The room was a bit too small for the three of us, but it was just a couple of days, so we didn't care.

The main problem with this hotel isn't one problem, but a collection of small problems that add up to make your stay not as comfortable as it could be. The room is clean, but it could do with some refurbishing, especially in the bathroom, where you can clearly see that it's been patched up many times. It looks a little old, and that makes it seem not as clean as it actually is. The air conditioning in the room smelled like mold when you first turned it on. The hotel is right in front of the beach, but we could barely see it from our balcony, and there was a lot of noise coming from outside, including loud parties late at night. I had problems with the internet connection, and the people at the front desk were unhelpful at solving them, telling me that it was the connection everywhere around the area that was having problems when in fact that had nothing to do with the problem I was having. I finally fixed it on my own.

We also found the size of the hotel to be a problem. Because it was so huge, the lobby was always full of people. Sometimes I had to wait for as long as 5 minutes until I could take the elevator to my room/down to the lobby, and it stopped at so many floors that it took forever to get there. We had noise coming from outside the room and the room upstairs too. Also, there were lots of people having breakfast at the same time, which means a line. There are many breakfast options, but I found that they could focus a little more on quality rather than quantity.

Overall, it's an okay hotel to stay a couple of nights, but it's a little overpriced for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SearaPraia, Manager at Seara Praia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Mrs;


We received, through the site Trip Advisor, your comments about your stay at our hotel in July 2009.

We are sorry because we couldn´t reach all of yours expectations but we would like to inform that we carry through the necessary verifications, and already done the possible solutions.

Thanks for your understanding and we hope you can come to visit us and see all the changes we have done in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Anna Paula Bezerra
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#6 of 95 in Fortaleza
2,084 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#22 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#14 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#9 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,918 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#3 of 95 in Fortaleza
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seara Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seara Praia Hotel

Property: Seara Praia Hotel
Address: Avenida Beira Mar 3080 | Meireles, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-120, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#5 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#5 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seara Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seara Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seara Praia Hotel Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing