We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gran Marquise
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2009

The Gran Marquise (formerly the Caesar Park) is a not-quite-new 4-star hotel (it advertises itself as a 5-star hotel, but we agreed it deserves just 4 stars). The rooms are large enough, but relatively austere (we had a "lateral" room; the more expensive rooms facing the ocean could be larger). Bed was comfortable. Bathroom showing its age (e.g., older fixtures, shower curtain instead of glass shower door, which one wuld expect in a luxury hotel). Buffet breakfast in the Mucuripe Grill was quite generous (that restaurant is also open for lunch). Open for dinner are one "pan-Asian" restaurant, and the excellent, albeit somewhat pricey, Nostrodamus Retaurant (the fish and lamb we had were both excellent; we dined at 8:30 pm, relatively early for many in Brazil, and were the only ones there). There is a small rooftop pool (with bar serving drinks and some food), and gym (including wet and dry saunas, jacuzzi and some exercise equipment; massages cost extra). This is a pleasant area for walking outside (do not carry a lot of jewelry or cash, which is good advice for most places in Brazil), though I personally would not go swimming in the ocean there, due to pollution).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2009

Fortaleza Gran Marquise Hotel "Absolutely magnificent!"
Date: 23 Jan 2009
By: Craig Kokkeler

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Fortaleza, Gran Marquise Hotel. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel each day to either go site seeing, going to the beautiful beach or when we were looking at land parcels and property investments. After each busy day there, we couldn't wait to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel. Our stayed was outstanding, supported by a fantastic hotel staff, business office support, bar and beverage, concierge service, lounge and restaurants where there with different food presentations. We were expecting a light breakfast (which was included in our rate) were extremely lovely with a spread with eggs to order by a wonderful women Rosa, lovely meat disks, cereals, cheeses, fruit and pastries etc. During the afternoon it's literally like tea at the Ritz sitting in the beautiful lounge, having an afternoon cocktail, and people watching while listening to a superb piano player. The pool is lovely, great gym and spa facilities which were well used after traveling the country side all day. The two Restaurants were absolutely great and reasonably priced. We paid a reasonable per night rate for a room which we thought excellent value. There were 2 double beds, wet bar, lovely large bathrooms and plenty of towels at all times as well as an exceptionally well care for room. Our maid missed nothing. Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on vacation and looking forward to returning to beautiful city of Fortaleza and the Gran Marques Hotel. Looking to our next stay

1  Thank LasVegas_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed a total of 9 nights in July 2008 - the hotel was booked by the company, and my wife and I stayed on for four more nights. Room rate for a double room (not with ocean view) was 217 BRL per night (roughly US150)
Not worth it. The room was OK in terms of size, but had a constant musty smell. Clothes you hung up felt vaguely damp when you put them on again. The fridge in the room clunked when it came on during the night. Wifi internet was extra (cheap, but still extra) and tended to fail in mid-surf. Soaps and shampoo were not replaced in 9 days stay!! However, the bed was good.
On the plus side: breakfast was very good, location is also good, staff were uniformly helpful, smiling and polite. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants so can't comment.
When we were there the place was packed with package tourists from south Brazil and Portugal. That's not a problem (except one day at breakfast when the staff couldn't cope) but anyone booking here should know that it's a package holiday hotel - lots of families and kids.
Overall - if/when we go back to Fortaleza, we won't stay here. Just not good enough for the price charged, which is high in Brazilian terms.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

The Hotel Gran Marquise by Sol Melia is really a excellent choice in Fortaleza. Althought it is not located right in the center of the beach (some people might find this a good point) it is near enough to go by foot to the popular fair at the beach, restaurants, drugstores etc. It is located at Mucuripe beach where you can find good restaurants. The Futuro beach is not too far from the hotel but you will have to go by taxi or bus as the good part of the beach is a bit far.

The rooms are very good, spacious, especially the one for three people that are enourmous. The staff is very nice always doing everything to make your stay confortable.

A good idea while in fortaleza is to rent a car which are very cheap. With a car you will be able to reach beaches far from the city at a very good price ( specially if you are more than one).

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thaïs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
13
Reviewed December 16, 2004

Rather nice. Lobby not luxurious, but nice and rather large, with a decent bar. Rooms are nice. Location very good. Japanese restaurant better than the main Brazilian restaurant, except for the latter's Saturday lunch (feijoada). Lots of restaurants nearby.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2004

This is Fortaleza's supposedly luxury hotel, one peep at the dank smelling reception pretty much says it all. Dark, dismal and pokey rooms. If this is the best Fortaleza has to offer, then best to keep away.

10  Thank ukjoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Andares mais altos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heloisa_Nunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.6 mi away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#10 of 96 in Fortaleza
1,751 reviews
3 mi away
Marina Park Hotel
Marina Park Hotel
#26 of 96 in Fortaleza
2,059 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
#8 of 96 in Fortaleza
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crocobeach Hotel
Crocobeach Hotel
#2 of 96 in Fortaleza
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Mayor
Hotel Villa Mayor
#3 of 96 in Fortaleza
1,060 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sonata De Iracema
Hotel Sonata De Iracema
#5 of 96 in Fortaleza
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Marquise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Marquise

Address: Avenida Beira Mar 3980 | Mucuripe, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-121, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fortaleza
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#1 Spa Hotel in Fortaleza
#1 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
#1 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range: $118 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Gran Marquise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Marquise Hotel is classified as a luxury 5-star hotel. It is situated on Avenida Beira Mar, on the Mucuripe beach, about 7 km from the center of Fortaleza, the Hotel offers a complete structure for business and vacation trips, has 230 rooms, a lobby bar, a swimming pool, a fitness center, a SPA by L'Occitane, a business center and spacious rooms for events with a capacity of up to 1,300 people. It also has two segmented restaurants: and the Mucuripe l, specialized in pasta, risottos, salads, grilled meat and which, on Saturdays, serves the best feijoada in town, voted for eight consecutive years by the judge panel of the magazine Veja Fortaleza; the Mangostin, specialized in Thai, Chinese, Korean and Japanese cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Marquise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Fortaleza
Sol Melia Hotel Fortaleza
Fortaleza Sol Melia
Hotel Gran Marquise Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing