We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better options in Forteleza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Praia Hostel Fortaleza
Ranked #90 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Fortaleza
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. Its not in the nicest part of town (line up of prostitutes less than 1 min walk away any time after about 9). They say breakfast is included but I personally don't believe a bread roll with margerine and a coffee counts as a breakfast. Room was ok, quite large and bed was fine although I'm pretty sure the room had previously been a bathroom and been transformed. Service was some of the worst I've experienced in Brazil.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foreverbubbles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Wow - what can I say. Smallest room imaginable: the double bed was tiny and the other reviewer who said the room was a "jail cell" is spot on. The bathroom was a matchbox and to have a shower (note: horrific water pressure) leaked through the flimsy door and down two stairs to the bedroom. It's located in a deadset third world area with shifty looking people outside. Even the rooftop bar, where we were hoping to escape from our nightmare, was a bare area with views of surrounding razor wire properties. The worst part of all this was the service. The person on the front desk who looks like one of the Williams sisters should be jailed for attempting to obstruct us when we paid our full rates and tried to leave for a nearby hotel. Avoid at all costs. Trust me - i've travelled all over the world various times abd this is the worst review i have given. Worst...place...ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPSSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The location is good near the Iracema beach with a cheap price. But all the rest is pretty awful ! We stayed in a private room that was very small as was the horrible bathroom. The breakfast is a joke one bread with butter and a juice made up from powder and water with a cup of coffee ... The staff could not speak a word of english or spanish except for one guy. The common room was just a bunch of hamacs with a table and a wifi access. They were though helpful with booking our bus to Jericoacoara (with the one guy that spoke english).
But the worst was still to come ... We booked the hostal from a website and gave our feedback after our staying. Then the hostal sent us an insulting and racist email because of the review we wrote on the website. He also physically threatened us in the email. And when we reported his behaviour to the website the guy said that we left without paying while he gave us a bill the day before !!!!!! CRAZY PEOPLE in here ! Unless you are going to sleep in the street, choose another option !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epikea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in private double. Location is good, and room was clean, but everything else about this hostel is pretty bad.

The room was like a jail cell, with only one tiny window leading out to the hallway (which meant the hallway light, on all night, shone directly into our eyes). Bathroom was the smallest we have had in our time at hostels. No soap or towels.

Day staff couldnt speak a word of English, and didnt try to find anyone that could which is disappointing for a hostel that is trying to market themselves as a hostel for international travelers. We ended up trying for 15 minutes to get towels and cancel our next two nights accomodation, but was unable to get the point across. No maps or suggestions about things to do or see.

The night staff did speak English, but said the owner didn't tell her how much they should charge us for the one night, so I had to go through and talk them through my hostel world booking sheet and explain how much I owed. Eventually we worked something out and we got some towels.

Don't stay here if you have any other options if you are a couple. Didn't see the dorm rooms, so they could be a better set up. Hopefully they will get the staff arrangement sorted soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Calzinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank Cliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
Fortmar Hotel
#25 of 95 in Fortaleza
258 reviews
Metropolis Hostel
#73 of 203 in Fortaleza
14 reviews
Hostel Dragao do Mar
#4 of 203 in Fortaleza
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Ancora da Praia
#19 of 203 in Fortaleza
124 reviews
Aldeota
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#5 of 203 in Fortaleza
136 reviews
Aloha Hostel
#63 of 203 in Fortaleza
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Hostel Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Hostel Fortaleza

Address: Rua dos Tabajaras 651, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60060-510, Brazil (Formerly Rolling Stone Hostel)
Location: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Fortaleza
Price Range: $11 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Praia Hostel Fortaleza 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Praia Hostel Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia Hostel Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing