We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tequila

El Tequila
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Antigo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great Mexican Cuisine which is very authentic for that area and very good.
Pelican Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Oh My Goodness, what a sorry state of affairs, poor old Antigo. This place features awful, nearly rot gut Mexican food. And, some of you folks lap it up. I know good to decent Mexican American food. I live each winter in southern New Mexico, and I have visited various provinces of Mexico often, and I love good Mexican fare. Bring it on. and, I summer 25 minutes from Elcho, WI. I desperately wanted this joint to be good. Sorry, it's a stinker from start to finish. Stale chips is a stupido and cheap starter. Refritos filled with lard are not edible. Chicken fajita hunks are soft and spongy, a sure sign of excess meat tenderizer or flash freezing. Enchilada sauce no better than the canned version. A taco no way as good as Taco Bell, which to me is the pits. The manger just said "duh"! All I can figure is that the folks who like this place must love free refills and chips, or all you can eat buffets. Save your self a tummy ache, buy a Mexican TV dinner or a Truck Stop burrito. This is the worst review I have ever written, and I have no axe to grind or no cousin to please. Sorry, amigos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joecafone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, atmosphere and staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been here many times and it is consistently great. The food is always fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is fun and inviting. A must try Antigo gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuskiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, goes out of their way for the customer.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Traveling through Antigo tonight and saw good reviews for El Tequila on Trip Advisor. Extensive menu, some interesting choices. Inexpensive. It's a faster Mexican food type restaurant, a chain.. Waiter was very friendly, gave my husband a recommendation (per my husband's request) and said "it's on me if you don't like it". Entrees were brought out by a kitchen staffer with big hot pads, and he even asked if he could replenish chips and salsa. Food was yummy. I had vegetarian fajitas which were good. My husband had Tequila "something", shrimp and chicken and veggies, over rice. Good flavor. My husband used one of my extra tortillas for his meal (his meal did not come with any) and the waiter saw my husband eating his food in one of my tortillas, and offered to bring some tortillaa for him, which he did without any extra charge. We left full and even my 8 year old expressed how impressed he was with his experience and how yummy the food was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catchthetrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinelander wi
Level Contributor
175 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been going to El Tequila since they opened. I don't get to Antigo as often anymore but I make sure to stop when ever I am in town.
The food is always great and the service is great also.
We've been there for the lunch specials and also for dinner and have always had excellant food.
I recommend it to anyone that wants good Mexican food!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhinelandermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My favorite place!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

What more can you want? Great service, friendly and attentive staff, and the best food! Oh, I know -- their $1.99 margaritas on Monday and Tuesdays!!! And everyday they have a lunch special which is often under four dollars!
If you drive through Antigo, this is a must stop!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tequila also viewed

 

Been to El Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing