We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
376
252
54
25
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
252
54
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course pool bar breakfast and dinner private beach tennis courts beach park laguna wifi improvement claudia options children brazil maintenance shells resort dunes
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 720 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

Pros:
Great location at the beach. The beach is pristine with few people, the atlantic ocean always carries in a heavy sea breeze.
Rooms are nice, we had a good sized bungalow.
Staff is helpful and polite

Cons:
Expensive: daily price of 1500 reals + drinks (including water) and lunch. The lunch at 70 reals per person is definitely overprised as are drinks.
The pool area could be nice if it was not for annoying very loud music all day. Staff is polite and turns down music but only for a while. I come to a luxury hotel like this to relax to the sound of the ocean. I know that this is a matter of cultural difference, but the hotel should enforce some standards if it wants to be in the luxury segment.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank wittenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelFreitas, Gerente geral at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I took due note of your comments and I am sorry for knowing that our services haven't met your expectation.

We will do our best, in order to improve our standards.

Kind regards
Emanuel Freitas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

- extrem low WiFi in the rooms, within the lobby area the connection is OK
- very friendly staff, from the reception desk, passing the restaurant staff up to the room maids
- the lunch buffet close to the pool area offers inferior quality and variety compared with the price per person
- the dinner buffet presents a large variety selection and really good quality
- the breakfast buffet counts with a large variation and really good quality
- the total complex opened five years ago, but the maintenance seems insufficient
- the rooms are large and clean without any regional decoration (e.x. in the State of Bahia you can find a countless quantity of resorts and boutique hotels with a extremely elevated level of service, architectural style and regional decoration)
- as the region suffers strong winds, the beaches are cleaned off palm trees, but extremely attractive for kite and windsurfing
- the 18-hole golf course (Ocean Course) is short on paper, but due to the constant and high wind influence, it is not easy to play this course
- the green fee presents a reasonable price level, but the fee for a cart is too high definitively; try to negotiate a package of green fee/cart playing min. 03 times or more per week
- The Ocean Course is not a typical resort golf course, this course is really challenging due to high Atlantic winds, undulating fairways, several narrow fairways and unforgiving natural obstacles. The Ocean Course is a sportive challenging golf course challenging your ability to shape the flight curve of your ball.
- The Ocean Course is extremely well preserved and perfectly included in the local natural habitat. The outbound 9-holes offer several spectacular views to the Atlantic; the inbound 9-holes are much more hided among the dunes and valleys. Large cactus plants characterize the golf round.
- The Ocean Course of the Dom Pedro Laguna Resort is a fantastic option for ambitious golfers and a great training terrain for advanced golfers becoming more risk aware, flight curve shaper and creative.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelFreitas, Gerente geral at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is very rewarding to understand how you enjoyed your stay and the opinion of our golf course. We also took note of your remarks and we will work on this matter, in order to improve.

We would love to have the chance of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Emanuel Freitas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

Will keep this short. Would of given 3.5 if possible. Nice grounds, lovely beach, excellent pool, service great, buffet surprisingly good, wifi terrible.
The man thing letting this place down for me was the lack of things going on at night and the general ambiance, possibly unfair as we only stayed 1 night and it was midweek. It's in the middle of nowhere so you can't venture out easily, not that you'd want to. I understand this is probably supposed to be a quiet relaxing place but I would get bored here pretty quickly if not with good company, I have been to places like the Maldives which are much more remote and didn't feel this way.
A lot of this is probably irrelevant as if you are in the area this is probably the best place to stay, I just wouldn't go out of my way to go here, unless close by already.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelFreitas, Gerente geral at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for letting us have your mind, regarding Hotel facilities and service. We took due note of your remarks and we will work hard, in order to correct and improve, Dom Pedro Laguna resort

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Emanuel Freitas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Ok, a nice hotel but the wifi non existent. When you arrive, they tell you that they have it but you never manage to get connected. It takes 30 min to open a page. Wi-Fi is such a standard thing that it is unbelievable that you can have such a crappy connection in a 5 star resort.....
The rooms have very thin walls so you can hear everything, we had as neighbours a couple with children and they would not shut up for a moment.
The beach and the pool are very nice.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GosiaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelFreitas, Gerente geral at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies for not reaching your expectations. We will carefully analyze, with our team, the Wi-Fi records and look into the points that you have raised, in order to make the necessary improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Emanuel Freitas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

We had a great stay at Hotel Dom Pedro Laguna. The park like environment just by the sea is simply marvelous. The ocean was however rather wild so we only cooled off in the pool. The breakfast, buffé in the evening as well as the lunch in the pool restaurant were all above average with plenty of choices. The service was quick and friendly all over. The guys running the pool bar was however exceptional and really taking care of us every day. With the week Brazilian currency (BRL) the price quality is very high. You would not find anything even close to this place at the same price in Europe. I will go back if I ever get the chance again.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lux2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmanuelFreitas, Gerente geral at Dom Pedro Laguna, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for letting us have your opinion on our service and facilities. Guest comments are very important, as they allow us to make adjustements, according to our guests'needs and expectation.

Wishing you allow us to welcome you back,

Kind regards

Emanuel Freitas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews