We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No words to descibre ! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gordo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
El Gordo
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No words to descibre ! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Honestly, there is no point say good or bad, you just have to go and see for your own eyes :)!

The perfect experience all around

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte Brasil
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

It's located at Quadrado, the main place of Trancoso. You are close to the beach (10 minutes walking). as well as to the most of the restaurants.

We stayed in one room close to the entrance, reception and pool, so we were accompanied by a lot of noise. And that with just than two or three more rooms with guests. The room was clean, well equiped and decorated. Great shower.

There are rooms located far from the entrance, with a beautiful view. Probably silencious. But they are too over priced.

The staff needs more training and kindness. You feel they don't really like their job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Its one of the best locations in the quadrado, very good views of the sea.
Rooms are average, definitely overpriced and the ones on top are very noisy. The ones down (9 and 10) have amazing views but as they are in the jungle you can have all sort of animals inside. Internet in the rooms is through cable but they are not in the best of places and the wifi that was suppose to exist in the bar area never worked.
Service is not as friendly as other places in Trancoso, not attentive to detail, not what you expect for a luxury place.
Restaurant is very good, maybe one of the bests in Trancoso, but the price of the wine is abusive. They are mostly portuguese regular wines and you can be charged 70€ for a wine that you buy in a supermarket by 4€ in Portugal. Trancoso is an expensive place but in this case you do feel like someone has stole your wallet.
Definitely a place to visit, specially for a restaurant or a drink in the bar in the end of the day but i would not recommend it to stay as you don't get value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmcn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Cool, beautiful, design hotel, in a great location (at "quadrado", where the best restaurants, stores and bars are located). Excellent service and restaurant. European style in the heart of Trancoso.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventuregroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at El Gordo last April - super off season - witch I highly recommend for Trancoso.
This pousada is great, the staff was helpfull and very friendly - they have an amazing DVD collection for the rainy days.
The food, view and location are very good!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_azzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were staying at Villas de Trancoso so I don't know about the rooms but we ate here and had a nice night. Nothing too special but nice enough.

It's a fusion menu which has lots of interesting things on it. I had a shrimp and pumpkin purée that was very nice.

It is expensive though. All Trancoso is. It's London/New York prices without such high service levels and to some extent quality. El Gordo is definitely overpriced but everything is in Trancoso and at least it seems quite chic and tries.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryOtherNameTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

El Gordo is overpriced to an extend I have not come across ever before. We are a well travelled couple and have stayed in many places around South America as well as other parts of the world. The charge for the rooms compared to the product is out of this world. Service is unfriendly and inflexible. The prices of Food & Beverage is simply a joke compared to the other restaurants in this village. There are far better places to stay in when coming to Trancoso - Estrella d"Agua (right on the beach) is just one of them. Think twice before booking a non-refundable number of days in this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonTravworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 12 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 12 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#9 of 12 in Trancoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mata N'ativa Pousada
Mata N'ativa Pousada
#7 of 12 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
#5 of 12 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada Samambaia
Pousada Samambaia
#6 of 12 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Gordo

Property: El Gordo
Address: Praca Sao Joao 7 | Quadrado, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Gordo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your El Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Gordo Hotel Trancoso
El Gordo Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing