We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience at Etnia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Overview: Etnia provided a terrific Trancoso experience. In a nutshell, the rooms are stylish and comfortable, the staff & owners are extremely helpful and their recommendations for dining, etc are very good. Trancoso is defined by its "Quadrado", an area of restaurants, shops, and a place to congregate, Etnia is a 5 minute leisurely stroll away. headed the other way, you can make your way into town for a more authentic/normal view of life in Trancoso. The beaches are approximately 15 minutes away by foot, which provided a great opportunity to walk off some of the extra calories we put on dining at great restaurants! Trancoso seemed very safe, we were never harassed or felt in danger. The community is very welcoming to "turistas".

Rooms: the hotel is set up as separate bungalows, two to a building. They are extremely private as we never heard the residents of the adjacent bungalow during our 7 day stay. I would estimate our room to be approximately 15'x15", with an equally as large bathroom area.

People/Staff: We were greeted by the owners who took a great interest in assuring our stay was fantastic. The managers at the reception desk speak English andare happy to translate for the kitchen/wait staff who know just enough English to get by. That said, it never hurts to learn some of the local language, English is not widely spoken in this area & besides, a little effort goes a long way to endearing yourselves to the local population....

Dining/Breakfast: Breakfast is served everyday and includes a wide assortment of scones, breads, cereals, fruits, etc. Eggs are also available. The coffee is excellent. A very nice start to each morning.

Pool: Clean, stylishly adorned, and very refreshing!

Other: The Pousada is designed and decorated very well. The bungalows are unobtrusive and mostly hidden by the lush landscaping. The pool/restaurant area is decorated in a hybrid french/african style with flowing white curtains and a eclectic mix of furniture and artwork. Very well done.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreadPirateRoberts42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Etnia Pousada & Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 243 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Etnia for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely welcoming and always at our disposal. The rooms were spotless and original with each cottage offering plenty of privacy as they are set in a delicious tropical garden.
The pool area is really beautiful with fantastic caparahini's at the bar!!! The breakfasts each morning provided lots of variety and the chef is on hand to rustle something up that's also on the menu. Overall a fanastic place to stay that we would highly recommend to anyone offering a tranquill environment with really friendly staff that are keen to make this hotel stand above head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We spent the 2nd week of our honeymoon in the little known Trancoso at the Etnia Pousada. The place is simply stunning. Built into a tropical forest and with only 8 villa's, the place is calm and your every whim is catered for. We had the Goa Suite, with touches of India all around. The pool and bar/restaurant is the centerpiece of this amazing little place, and it's a great place to hang out if you don't fancy the 15mins walk to the beach.

Trancoso is also a chic/bohemian hang out, it's not cheap, but generally the food in the town is of a high standard (especially Maritaca for pizza/pasta), and there's a great selection of boutique shops to pass the time before and after dinner.

The only criticism is the breakfasts which seem to only consist of (beautifully presented) ham and cheese and fruit. I would like to see this improved and varied especially for guests who stayed for 7 nights as we did.

Overall though, Trancoso and the Etnia are wonderful places, and definitely worth the trek to get there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tal1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

had a very enjoyable 5 nights at pousada etnia. Lovely place, attentive staff. Transcoso is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My mother and I stayed at Etnia for a week having heard about it on i-escape and it really lives up to it's reviews. The hotel is a beautiful retreat away from the hustle of town, set amidst gorgeous gardens (mind the mozzies - they are rampant!). The staff were fantastic - Paulo does indeed make a mean caipirinha and he's endlessly cheerful - and the owners were on hand to check that all was ok or just even to say hello. I had a birthday whilst staying at the hotel and the owners were kind enough to throw me a party - cake, champagne and guests all present! We were staying in the Tribal room which was lovely and I would have leapt at the chance to see the other rooms having heard so much about them! The main communal area was beautifully designed and offered a luxurious contrast to the surrounding gardens. The three dogs - all labradors - were gorgeous and very much part of the family! We had a great time in Trancoso in general and at Etnia Pousada and I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

only three days in Etnia for a wedding in July 2008. We stayed in Trancoso room, every 8 room has a different theme. The hotel's owners are very friendly and willing to help the guest in every aspect.

The rooms are very well decorated, with large bathrooms and very good amenities. The swimming pool is great. The location is very good too because is very near the quadrado, much better than staying in the beach

The only complaing is that thay should have wi-fi instead of cable internet.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Zamorano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

we spend a wonderful week at the pousada. from the minute we walked in it was just perfect for us. the way everything is set up, the villas, especially the pool area - its just wonderful. the description of the pousada does not come close to the real beauty. perfect to relax, you don´t feel like staying at a hotel, its rather home away from home. very layed back, still a lot of attention to small details, so you don´t get the impression you are just a number in any hotel or resort. t the staff is very nice and helpfull, and very well trained. thanks to Andre and Corrado. there are lots of restaurants in trancoso, but you should also try the food at the pousada - delicious. we hope to go back soon - a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RobEdAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
1.0 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
#5 of 13 in Trancoso
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casas da Vila
Casas da Vila
#12 of 13 in Trancoso
11 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mata N'ativa Pousada
Mata N'ativa Pousada
#8 of 13 in Trancoso
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etnia Pousada & Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etnia Pousada & Boutique

Address: Avenida Itabela 25 | City Center, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range: $242 - $1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etnia Pousada & Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Internationally known as an oasis in the middle of the jungle and for combining comfort with unique ethnic decoration, Etnia was elected one of Brazil's four best hotels by the prestigious German publisher, Taschen, in the book 'Great Escapes of the World,' which shows a selection of the 90 best hotels around the world. It has also been featured in Hip Hotel's 'Atlas,' in Taschen's 'Great Escapes South America,' in Conde Nast Johansen's 'The Americas Recommended Hotels, Inns, Resorts & Spas' and was the winner of Elle's chic shack awards 2007. Besides getting special coverage in newspapers such as The Sunday Times and The New York Times, Etnia makes part of Andrew Harper's Clud, among others.A Swimming pool with bar and lounge, a 7000m2 garden, secured parking lot, access to the beach (15 minutes walking) and to the town (5 minutes walking), restaurant and boutique are part of the hotel’s structure. In each bungalow, a stained glass window facing a private garden makes the guests feel even more in touch with the local nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Etnia Pousada & Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etnia Pousada And Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique Hotel Trancoso
Etnia Pousada & Boutique Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing