We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing room, no room service, good location, nice people. The shared area and the garden to dark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soleluna Casa Pousada
Ranked #8 of 70 Trancoso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing room, no room service, good location, nice people. The shared area and the garden to dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room (Bangalore) was beautiful, big, cozy and not that much expensive specially if compared with other hotels near that location. They lacked not having room service (but it is not common in hotels In the south of Bahia, only big resorts, also thought the garden and common areas too dark. In overall Would easily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
we are very happy when the experience was postiive. that the room resulted in a positive experience. yes by choice we are not a 24 hour service hotel, we cannot afford it and prices would rise. we try to combine robinson crusue, with technology lots of suspended space. imperfect hand made details. that is the charm we are looking for. I hope you will come back and that things will be a little better. hope you will try us again. stefano and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    30
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great place , I loved my esperience at sole luna
It seems to be at home , the owner and the staff were so kind and professional
I strongly reccomand !!!
Rooms well decorated and big in the middle of a beautyful garden.
I loved the open kitchen close to the swimming pool where was served the breakfast .
Perfect for any kind of vacation , I hope to have the pleasure to be at Soleluna again soon.
Trancoso is one of the best place that I have seen in brasil !!
Thanks to Stefano

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
thank you. we are happy that you were felling at home, nothing better. thank you for staying wtih us, volte sempre, stefano and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

At home! Definitely this is the best expression to translate our experience at SoleLuna in Trancoso. Me, my family and my friends have spent 14 amazing days at SoleLuna in February and we had a great experience in all aspects. Staff were amazing with us, the accommodation were so charming, the hadmade cakes in the breakfast are delicious and the swimming pool is really good. If you would like to feel at home in Trancoso I recommend SoleLuna.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WindsorFonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
thank you. we are happy that you were felling at home, nothing better. thank you for staying wtih us, volte sempre, stefano and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar buenos Aires
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have spent 11 unforgettable days in Trancoso and the pousada was mainly responsible for that.
Steffano the owner and Soleluna staff received us with a smile and with no doubt accommodated us in a better room than the one we expected.
Soleluna is a small pousada , with charme , nice people, delicious hand made breakfasts -different every morning. It is a peaceful place, where you can feel like being at home. I could not imaging being in another kind of hotel in a place like Trancoso.
Steffano is at disposition to help you and talk a lot if you desire. His house is at the front of the site.
The pool is in between forest, beside the resting place and it's water is cool enough, to spend a nice time when coming back from the beach in the evening.
The view to a exuberant garden from our private terrace was great and the privacy between rooms was optimum.
Rooms are like cabins, with a little kitchen and refrigerator, they are spacious, air conditioning was good , Wifi, in our room was excellent and rooms are just as you can see them in the web pictures, beautiful.
There are two rooms with a common deck and kitchen and a private pool that we will surely choose next time to share with a couple, friends of us.
You can reach several "praias " from the Soleluna, just walking 10 minutes, or you can hire a motorcycle or a car to reach other places like, Praia do Espelho, Caraiva, or Rio da Barra. Trancoso and it's surroundings have a lot worth to see.
Beaches are really astonishing , water is perfect and you can walk along the coast for hours to keep discovering new "praias".
The famous Quadrado do Trancoso , the heart of this small town, is just another 8 minutes walk from the pousada. You won't need much clothes. Jungle, magueys , little monkeys, butterflies and nature will accompany you all day long.

Room Tip: Our room was number 4. Others were beautiful too. The best :the twin rooms with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainPilarbuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
unforgettable is what we would like to read, always. its about experiencing something here. something different and somehow poetic. we will work on the details, hopefully the next time we will be a little better. Obrigado para as falabras. e as indicas. volte sempre! stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at Soleluna for 8 nights in March and absolutely loved it. It was ideal for what we were after... Peaceful and relaxing.

It was a perfect time to visit Trancoso, still beautiful weather but half the price and probably half the people as high season. Soleluna was about full for about 4 days during our stay but still felt very quiet.

The pousada itself is made up of six bungalows, we stayed in. No 3 at the back of the garden. We were very happy with our cosy bungalow, surrounded by banana trees and with its own veranda and hammoc. For the low season rate we paid we were pleased. Stefano the owner, offered us the larger one next door when the guests moved out but we stayed put with what we had. The beds are large and comfy with mosquito nets and air con and the rooms were cleaned daily.

Our favourite part of our stay was definitely the breakfasts. Lots of tropical fruit, fried bananas, eggs, fresh bread, various savoury baked thing, and these amazing sweet corn and coconut cakes that we couldn't get enough off and which I MUST get the recipe for!

The Quadrado and beach are about a ten minute walk away...( Or maybe longer if you walked at the chilled out pace that we did whilst we we'd in Trancoso!).

Stefano was helpful, he organised transfers and car hire for us so we could visit neighbouring beaches and if we needed him for anything and he wasn't around we could usually find him at his villa on site or we just dropped him a quick email via the wifi and he emailed back pretty quick. He wasn't there when we checked out early one morning but we left the keys in the door and settled the bill when I got home. Very laid back, but hey, that's Trancoso!

Trancoso was a wonderful place to visit and our stay at Soleluna was just what we needed. Definitely recommend! .

Room Tip: Some a Rooms have ventilation slats and air con, others have just air con. Depends how cold you lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistysmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
thank you. and happy to read it was a nice staying. hope sooner or later you will be back! stefano adn the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were in two couples, so we booked the Mini Spa (two independent rooms with a private swimming pool). My boyfriend and I arrived very late (around 1am or 2am)... no one was there to welcome us, so the taxi driver (who knows the pousada) showed us our way to our room. The next day our friends arrived to occupy the other room, but we were told that the air conditioner was not working! The good thing was that our friend was sick, so he didn’t really need the air conditioner. The people who work at the pousada were quite nice. The pousada does not have many rooms, so the breakfast was quite peaceful. They offer scrambled eggs, omelet, tapioca pancakes, and there is a variety of breads and cakes every morning. One morning we woke up early because we wanted to go to Praia do Espelho, but breakfast was not ready until 8:30am. That´s when breakfast starts! So we were waiting for a long time until it was served. The other thing that we were not very happy was the fact that the owner was almost never there... Not even when we were checking out. We mentioned to the breakfast ladies that we were going to leave around 5PM, and we still had to pay but no one was there to check us out! We still had to pay the remaining 50% of both rooms (R$2500)! We waited a bit, but just the gardener was there... so we left and sent an e-mail to the owner saying we would make a deposit later on. We paid to say 5 nights, but be stayed 4 nights because our fight was leaving on Tuesday evening. What really disturbed me was that they did not clean our room on the last day, when in fact we had paid the following night so they had to clean. I heard during breakfast that they were going to move another guest to our room after we would check out, so probably they didn´t want to clean the room twice. The pousada is located not too far away from the famous Quadrado, surrounded by nature, and the rooms are quite nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. main point seems the lack of presence of owner and lack of reception or 24 hour hotel service. We really try to communicate this all the time and this becomes one more occasion to communicate what Soleluna is and tries to not be. we are not a 24 hour service hotel. I do not want to turn into a concierge of my pousada and Jassi and Elieni and Gledson can pass the credit card for final billing better than me. Odly enough our team and our presence seems to be mostly appreciated by everybody in the internet.
Regarding the other details information is not correct. Air conditioning was working in single Auto Mode (much different from not working and that we were waiting for the part that would have fixed the problem). Gledson, our gardner and maintanace, was here at the moment of their departure. Guest can be sure that we did not play tricks cleaning at night for a late arrival. Our bookings come in way before the day of arrival. We are not a 24 hour nor a 12 hour serivce hotel. Pls discuss openly with owner or staff via email or phone before publishing insinuations of this type!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

we found soleluna online and decided to stay here as a part of our 3 week honeymoon in brazil. after several exchanges with the owner, it seemed like the best option given the fact that we were going to be in trancoso over new years- the high season when the town is nearly sold out. we were excited to have even found a room.

we had agreed on a ride from the airport with the owner, stefano. when we showed up at the airport he was nowhere to be found. when we did finally track him down he was on the phone with an unhappy guest and could not be bothered. not a good start. in addition, on this trip to pick us up from the airport he'd decided to run errands in town. one of them included getting his car fixed. it wasn't ready by the time our flight arrived so we had to wait in town for about 1-2 hours before finally getting a ride to trancoso.

once settled we were happy- the room was well appointed and comfortable (beware of the mosquitoes and open windows- they can be ruthless). the property itself is lovely- lots of open space, a nice pool, a pleasant breakfast area and plenty of privacy for each room. however, as the week went on, it became apparent that the owner, stefano, wanted to spend as little time as possible around the property.

we were americans in brazil. we admittedly do not speak portugese. that being said, we are very well traveled and can certainly figure things out on our own. however, for the amount we were paying every night (the rates were at least double what normal rates are), it would have been nice to have someone on hand to help us with basic questions (where might we rent a car, do you have a taxi service, any restaurant suggestions, what's the best way down to the beach, where are the parties, what goes on in town, etc). instead stefano just posted a note with a brazilian cell phone number to call if there were problems. (we did not have a brazil cell phone #).

stefano was always in a panic and in a hurry and certainly was not much help. he was constantly blaming problems on other people and always seemed crazed. thank goodness the pousada next door (jacaranda- i suggest you look this one up and consider staying there) had a front desk with someone on staff from 9 am to 10 pm every day. they helped us with basic needs in/around trancoso.

things slowly started to go wrong at the pousada- we did not have hot water for 2 days, we did not have an internet connection for 2-3 days. not major things in the grand scheme of things, but they were things that could have been sorted if there had simply been someone on the property to explain this to. again, stefano was nowhere to be found.

it must have been the stress of the high season, but overall, we left trancoso feeling frustrated and disappointed despite staying at a pousada that on the outside seemed perfectly well appointed and nice.

even the morning of our check out, no one was around to settle the bill or check us out of the property despite the assurance that that would be the case.

there are plenty of amazing pousadas in trancoso. if we go back we will certainly stay some place else.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjotto30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolelunaCasaPousada, Owner at Soleluna Casa Pousada, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I am really NOT sure to whom this REVIEW should have been addressed. Perhaps MORE HELPFUL in the page dedicated to TRANCOSO. Many non -brazilian travelers would want to read guests' experience in Trancoso during New Years Eve.

The place to be for Brazilian young hipsters, full of parties and beautiful people, becomes also a chaotic and very expensive place. For some a fantastic experience. For others a disorienting one, especially for foreigners. And it is certainly not preventing guests to come to Soleluna that you will help NON-BRAZILIANS to make their right choices for their New years eve.

It is a delicate matter that of owners’ presence inside property. It is hard work all year long. When you deliver the film I believe the director should make a step backward to allow guests enjoy property without owners watching on you. Actually there are pousadas where guests don’t even meet owner.

This said, owner really felt the responsibility of Guests positive experience during their special occasion. I did try to provide precious information to guest both via emails and at pousada. Within the limits of my possibilities and while dividing myself with many things to take care of. Including trying to recover from overstress (guests saw me twice on a montain bike, they probably thought I am always on vacation!!!!)

Owner for sure should not be there to check out at 6.30 am. Unless you want owners to be 24 hour slaves. Leaving without paying even if our principal made was there to help to check out, and our transfer man was there to take them to airport, is negative to say little.

A painful negotiation began via email, with guest stating my personal bad service and suspects of overcharging and other similar things. and an obvious implicit menace to leave a negative Review if not compliant to discount price down.

We were down graded 6 positions after this review against our competitors. tk.you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
1.2 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Samambaia
Pousada Samambaia
#7 of 13 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Big Bamboo
Pousada Big Bamboo
#6 of 70 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Jardim das Margaridas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleluna Casa Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleluna Casa Pousada

Property: Soleluna Casa Pousada
Address: Rua Jovelino Vieira, s/n, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45818-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Soleluna Casa Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soleluna is a charming house-pousada, meaning a place where you will find the comforts of a vacation house, together with the services of a quality pousada. Soleluna is designed with a special attention to rustic design, spacious privacy and comfort. Dim ambience lights at night, wide wood and glass windows and suspended deck verandahs with views over lush tropical vegetation, result in a natural comfortable unique experience of your staying. Services include WIFI wide band in all areas, Cable small Tvs, and AC in all rooms. Soleluna is composed of one main villa, TWO pools and SIX SPACIOUS BANGALOS that can be rented individually or in combinations. One pool in common area and one mini pool with hydromassaje belongs to the MINI-SPA BANGALOS. All of its views are spectacular, suspended amidst the blues, and an amphitheater of lush tropical vegetation. Soleluna is ideally located in central Trancoso, one of Brazil’s hippest beach locations, 350 meters from enchanting Quadrado Historico, where all the cafés and restaurants stand. And 2 minutes drive, 12 minutes walk to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soleluna Casa Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleluna Casa Pousada Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing