We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Trancoso
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
186 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The Perfect Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of the best hotels that we've been. Very well located in the heart of Trancoso, Uxua offers everything for your romantic stay. The decoration is astonishing in every sense, and you can choose from a variety of houses, one completely different from the other. It's like a mini neighborhood. You feel like home. The service is a must. A very attentive personnel, the people you have as friends. When you leave, you gonna miss then!! The food is served by the pool side, and is something!! In fact you don't need to leave this gem. If you stay elsewhere, you will regret.

Room Tip: Take the House Tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
98
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I don't use the title to this review lightly but there literally is no other description worthy for UXUA. I have travelled to many places and stayed at establishements right across the budget spectrum but none other was able to deliver as perfectly balanced a combination of exclusivity, individuality, homeliness, tranquility, gastronomy and just sheer awe in a way that was done here. The design of the hotel is simply stunning and would be more suited to being an art exhibit than somewhere to stay. From the overall construction to the smallest decoration each individual item in the hotel must have been chosen, crafted and placed with an artisitc and functional purpose in mind. The use of the old fisherman huts and ancient local artefacts complements flashes of modernity and seemlessly beds UXUA into the heart of Trancoso. It really is like staying in one of those places you see in a design magazine that looks too perfectly cool to exist.

We stayed in Casa de Avore for a week. It is a beautifully crafted, spacious and private tree-house ideal for couples. However, I would love to return and sample living directly on the quadrado in one of the renovated fisherman houses. These may be a little exposed but the quadrado is quiet and peaceful and i doubt it would intrude too much.

The staff are incredibly friendly, genuine and extremely informative on all in the local area. Never before have I got to know the hosts so well and it was a pleasure chat away with them. The food also is without doubt the best in Trancoso. Breakfast in the enchanting tropical garden by the pool in the morning sun would be experience enough just with a modest bowl of cereal. However, the platter of fruits, cakes, home-made local treats and much more made this my favourite part of the day! An evening meal in the same setting comes highly recommended also. The beach bar oozes an understated kind of shbby-chic cool and its openness and unpretentiuos attitude gives it a great laid-back atmosphere throughout the day as locals drop by for a beer and some shade. The service throughout the hotel, of course, was impeccable.

As you can probably tell I was quite impressed to say the least with UXUA (and Trancoso as a whole is great but you can read about that elsewhere!). Anyone with a penchant for design, creativity or just a desire for a fantastic holiday in a unique hotel should book a trip here in a heartbeat. There really can only be a handful of hotels in the world that can rival what has been created at UXUA.



Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank colonial99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Uxua for 5 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it could not have been better. The attention to detail was exceptional, due in many thanks to Carlos and Morgan, the concierge team. We stayed in Casa de Arvore (the tree house) which was stunning and very romantic. As the hotel was very quiet for the first couple of days, we were shown around many of the other houses and you wouldn't be disappointed with any, all truly stunning design concepts as you'd expect from a former head of Diesel design. We were made to feel well and truly at home, both by the hotel staff and the locals. I'd certainly recommend a Capoeira class with Dinai and the Feijoada next door. Don't miss Bernardo's food though and try a cooking lesson with him.
We're sure to be back in the future. Looking forward to heading back to Trancoso already.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackandwhitevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Since 2 years I started organizing a company retreat, in which we determine the strategic goals for the following year. My company has branches in Italy, UK, Thailand (where I’m currently living) and Brazil. We started in 2010 in Italy at Ferragamo hotel, Tuscany, and we had great time and very good service. So the following year I assigned to my people in Brazil the task to find a similar environment in Brazil.

My team came back to me with the proposal of UXUA Casa Hotel. A small resort in the south of BAHIA. 10 Casas with a total of 15 rooms (the perfect number for my board of direction).

I have to say that I first went there by myself to explore the place. Even-tough I had been to Bahia before, I didn’t know the small village of Trancoso. The resort looked very good on the website but I felt it was not enough...plus the hotel is not open to the public, so only guests can enter in the property. A real plus if you want to keep your vacation quite. UXUA is particularly expensive though especially when the R$ is strong, but I have found a great solution just talking with the GM about my project/idea, the owner also has been very useful in the process. The management proposed me to close out the place for 3 days.

10 July 2011, all my team arrived; UXUA became my company’s HQ and the entire village Trancoso our amazing garden. The spaces inside the property are very well though out also for this kind of event, beside the fact that every casa being independent gives you all the privacy and relax that you wish. A big conference room immerse into the tropical garden, good services, amazing BAHIAN food and a very large SPA was the formula to make the retreat very successful.

I will suggest to every entrepreneur to try such experience.

Alex

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A perfect balance of true luxury in an unpretentious, natural environment. I have traveled to many places and UXUA and Trancoso are a gem. We traveled there with friends and our houses at UXUA gave us both privacy and community. We took full advantage of the food, pool, beach, bar, day trips,and shops all set within one of the most historic and lovely villiages in Brazil. I have never felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: Each house had its own charm. I recommend viewing the accomodations on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just had a 3 night stay in Seu Joao Casa,in or opinion the only one giving you a "resort" feeling, casa was perfect; full of daylight and open on all sides, furniture with impeccable taste, no bling-bling.
Food was so good we took all our meals at Uxua, staff was friendly and helpful.
Very nice Beach Club , with fabulous beach, but it is a 15 minutes walk, not 5 or 7 minutes like mentioned on the website.
We just want to return to Uxua as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domperignon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The best hotel i have ever stayed in. Period. Perfect service, luxurious, discrete and chic. I will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angrylittlesoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trancoso hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
Villas de Trancoso Hotel
#1 of 13 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.7 mi away
Estrela D'Agua
Estrela D'Agua
#2 of 13 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
Etnia Pousada & Boutique
#5 of 13 in Trancoso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aldeia do Sol
Aldeia do Sol
#10 of 13 in Trancoso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casas da Vila
Casas da Vila
#12 of 13 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Tutabel
Pousada Tutabel
#11 of 13 in Trancoso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa

Property: UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa
Address: Acesso ao Quadrado, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45810-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Trancoso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Family Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Spa Hotel in Trancoso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trancoso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Trancoso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
UXUA Casa Hotel & Spa Trancoso, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing