We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Aram Yami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aram Yami Hotel
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just don't know where to begin really. I am only back home 10 days and I do nothing but dream about going back to The Aram Yami! Everything is just flawless, starting from the very first contact I had with the hotel via email to the last fairwell at the front door. Contact with the hotel is rapid, concise and transparent. Everything they promised us was there and available.

We spent just the one night in Aram Yami but believe me, I would have spent a full month. Never, ever, have I been so sad to leave a hotel... We too chose it because of all the great reviews and I was worried that my expectations would be too high. No way, they were all fulfilled! From the moment you hop out of the taxi you are made to feel so so very much at home. A glass of coconut milk quenched our thirst whilst checking in and a plate of fresh fruit delivered to our room 5 minutes later was the perfect start to the evening. We had booked the Bahia Suite and couldn't have been happier. The room leads right out onto a wooden deck with a small infinity pool and although it is supposedly to be shared with another 3 rooms it felt like our own private pool as it was just outside our bedroom windows. We were delighted with our choice. The pool was small but delightful and the mere fact that it was just outside our room made it quite a luxury. An added bonus is that at 10 p.m. the door leading to this pool for the other guests is closed and only the people staying at the Bahia Suite have access to it. We did not use it so late at night but if you fancy a dip after dinner then you have it all to yourself! The shower in the bathroom is fantastic, I spent ages in it, you just don't want to get out! The size of the room perfect and the bed absolutely unbeatable. Massive and comfortable. Everything is spotless too and we did not encounter any bugs or mosquitoes.

Breakfast is amazing. Plenty of fresh fruit and fruit juices and a fantastic display of everything possible with a delightful lady cook on the spot waiting to cook you whatever you fancy. Fried eggs, omelettes, pancakes (sweet or savoury) ... All made in front of you. However, there is one thing you MUST try (and indeed leave room for) and that is her Passion Fruit Mousse... It is to die for! It is just delicious. So delicious that they have the recipe ready to print out for whoever wants to try to make it at home. They also have a Lime Mousse which is equally good. Try them both!

The hotel itself is about 15 mns walk from the main square but it is a lovely walk through cobbled streets and it is great to admire all the colourful buildings and feel the local atmosphere. We walked to dinner (about 20 mns walk away) and returned back again by foot. We did not feel we were in any danger at all. There were plenty of people in the streets and loads of policemen in the Pelourinho. Staff at the hotel were great in giving us maps and telling us which streets to go on and which ones to avoid but we really did not encounter any trouble whatsoever.

Everything is just so perfect but it all boils down to the staff and owner. The owner, Juan, is a charming Spanish architect and the hotel is clearly his "baby". He mingled with his guests at breakfast time and was such a fantastic host. He went out of his way to get me passion fruit to take home and make their mousse! I have never felt so spoilt! The staff are all just amazing and the backbone of the hotel has got to be JAKUB. He is the Manager at reception and an absolute credit to the hotel. You can see he is a workaholic and a total perfectionist. He even answers emails from home when he is off duty! A delightful chap who is just simply... special. He is in 3 places at the same time, recommends everything and anything and so so terribly friendly. I felt like I had known him for years. I take my hat off to you Juan for having found such a perfect Manager! As for the rest of the receptionists and staff... they are all brilliant. Henrique, Sergio and Daniele and of course the delightul cook with her huge warm smile. I am sorry but I can not recall her name. All the staff really made our stay a treat and they indeed are all so very responsible for us feeling so terribly miserable now that we are back home again!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank them all for making our short stay an unbelievable one and hope they manage to keep up the good work. Thank you Aram Yami ... "Hasta la vista, we will be back soon..." Take care in the meantime... Abrazos, Sandra and Alvaro

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMC62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 538 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a total of three nights at the Aram Yami -we were only supposed to stay two initially but decided to come back and stay one extra night just because we loved the hotel. Jakub and the rest of the staff were amazing and made us feel at home. The rooms are great and tastefully decorated - and the panoramic suite at the top floor is gorgeous and offers incredible views! Breakfasts were excellent with a lot of Bahian specialties and gorgeous fruits. In short, we loved it !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its been over a year since my wife and I stayed here but I promised Yakub that I would write a favourable review so here it is.

I was really glad to discover this boutique hotel after extensive research. If you want to be close to Pelourinho and have an authentic experience of Salvador whilst still enjoying luxury surroundings then this hotel is the ONLY choice! It is A MUST!

Big thanks to Yakub and all the staff.

Deji Fisher

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deji F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was rated #1 in trip advisor. GOOD CHOICE!!! We were staying at a conference at another hotel and after the conference moved to this hotel. The staff (Jakob) couldn't be nicer. They accommodated all our changing needs. They had good ideas of what we could do, down to earth practical suggestions, advice on safety, money, cell phones, food, restaurants, even suggestions for things to do with our computer when we got home. I can't say how pleased we were with the ENTIRE STAFF. From top to bottom. Also, the breakfasts were great. They have only 5 room, and despite being full, you didn't see other guests very much. You felt like you were the only person around. Their English was great, and a welcome change from so many places in Salvador. They always gave options to consider. The place has LARGE rooms, much nicer than the convention hotel we were at before. Have to say again the breakfasts were bubbling over with fresh fruit native to the area. It was a great time and I expect it will be #1 on Trip Advisor for some time to come. Thanks Jakob, Enrique, Sergio and others for your help.
Cary

Room Tip: The bottom room has it's own pool. The other four rooms share a separate pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I do not normally use superlatives. But it is difficult to do away with them when reviewing our stay for three nights at Aram Yami last week. It’s been like living a surreal experience. Everything is easy and perfect and it’s difficult to realize it’s just a tiny little place right in the middle of a run-down part of the beautiful but difficult historical center of Salvador.
You arrive and settle in in a few seconds. People smile while your heavy bags are already being carried past you to your room up very steep stairs. You go up the same stairs and find a room which could easily be the room you would liket to have back home.
You get up in the morning and Jakub, a young Polish fellow who has already toured the world, talks with you about the history and culture of Salvador while helping you with breakfast and arranging for your daily tours. Plus suggestions about what to do when you come back, what to to avoid and what to discover.
There’s no restaurant, but a plate of fruit, a toast and an excellent caipirinha are available if you get back from a late night show and you do not feel like going out to eat.
It’s like staying with friends in a place where you never thought it was possible to find one. Superlative Aram Yami, indeed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PattyMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We planned to stay at the Aram Yami Hotel for 3 nights and extended our stay so we were there for 8. We loved this hotel and Salvador! Stay longer than you think as there is so much to do and see. This hotel met and exceeded our expectations and based on the reviews our expectations were high! We LOVED it here. We had to move rooms our last night (remember we extended our trip) and so we ended up experiencing 3 of the 5 rooms of this boutique hotel and they were all amazing! The breakfast is superb, the staff beyond amazing and the rooms luxurious, spacious and artful.
I have to give a special shout out to the manager, Jacob, who was beyond helpful and a true delight to be around. We told him the first day we were there what we wanted to experience while in Bahia and with his knowledge of what happens on which night was able to fit all of our desires into our few nights like a puzzle as some things happen on some nights and not others. We experienced beaches, capoiera, the Bale Folklorico, live music and a Condomble ceremony. Jacob made sure we had a great time and helped us tremendously from troubleshooting our cell phone issues to guiding our sampling of local cuisine that would work for our vegetarian diet. He has now set the bar for all hotel managers for the rest of our trip (we're gone for 11 months)!
This hotel has set the bar high for all other hotel experiences in the future. We loved the location as it was close to all things in Pelhourinho and we walked all over the historical part of the city as well as took taxis to other parts and beaches with ease. For most of our time at Arma Yami we stayed in the "Top Suite" which ironically is on the bottom floor but has two rooms which worked perfectly for our family as the kids had one room and we had the other. It has the added benefit of a private pool and deck area which the kids especially loved. The other rooms have access to another pool that is on the second floor above the dining area. Both pools have infinity edges that look out over the bay and the actions of the port. Most of what you can see is a thriving active port as well as the beautiful bay, but don't let the large cranes and shipping containers put you off. They are really interesting to watch and if you get tired of looking at the industrial part of that you just lift your gaze to the islands and water beyond including the sunset.
While this hotel was a stretch for us compared to what we usually want to spend (but we found Brazil very expensive in general) this hotel was worth every $R. We loved it and got great value for our money. If you can splurge (which you will likely need to in Brazil anyway!) stay here and you will be very happy.

(P.S. you have to experience the restroom near the reception and breakfast area. It is the most amazing bathroom ever...a mystical experience perhaps?!)

Room Tip: "Top Suite" has a private pool and two rooms--great for families. The two rooms on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMamaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had an incredible stay in Arum Yami.. It is the most beautiful Pousada in the Pelourinho. Only ten mins walk from the historical centre its like a little haven of tranquility right next to all the action. The building is amazing- all the rooms are so stylish without being pretentious. The views are incredible of the bay also. We were upgraded to an awesome 'apartment' with its own pool for free because it was empty and we were three people. This was seriously kind of Jakub as it made us feel like royalty! the breakfast was awesome too as were the caipirinhas.. The only problem we had was one of the night watchmen being very rude to an old friend from Brazil who came over for a quick drink- he kicked him out for no apparent reason which was slightly embarrassing after the friend had looked after us so well in Salvador.. Im sure this is a rarity however as the rest of the staff were delightful, always helpful and friendly. There was nothing Jakub couldnt do from showing us the best places to eat to, handing us much needed water as we jumped into a cab to the airport feeling very hungover! We'll be back! Thank you for everything! Piers

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Piers O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 110 in Salvador
1,095 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
1,067 reviews
Zank by Toque Hotel
#26 of 110 in Salvador
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aram Yami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aram Yami Hotel

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 132 | Santo Antonio Alem Do Carmo, Salvador, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#1 Family Hotel in Salvador
#15 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $153 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aram Yami Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aram Yami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aram Yami Salvador
Aram Yami Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing