We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2009

4 of us stayed at Studio Do Carmo when we went to Salvador for Carnaval. I cannot stress how impressed I was with this hotel.

We arrived around 1am at the airport and a driver picked us up (cost for this service was R$80 each way). When we arrived, Emereldo (spelling?) took our huge bags up to our room on the 4th floor.

First of all - there is NO air conditioning, but that wasn't really a problem as the fans kept the room cool, as did the windows when we opened them (no screens and we don't like bugs, so we didn't open them to often). The room was huge. We had one full size bed and two twin beds, and still had plenty of room to throw our suitcases and other stuff around. We also had a kitchen in our room - which we primarily used to eat breakfast and store water bottles in the fridge. The bathroom was clean and comfortable. The water pressure was okay, but everything else was so clean that we didn't really mind.

The breakfasts they served us everyone morning were DELICIOUS and held us over often till dinner. Coffee and a fresh squeezed juice of the day (orange, guava, watermelon, etc), fresh slices of fruit, pastries, bread and ham and cheese, all brought up to our room. Such great service.

Our first night in the Carnaval parade, the staff had Emereldo take us to the parade. We originally thought he was just going to drop us off, but he stayed with us for about 2 hours! When he left to join his friends, he left us in an area with tons of policia and lighting. MUCH appreciated, as we kind of had no clue what was going on. Another example of great customer service was when we wanted to alter our Carnaval bloqo shirts, Giovanni went to find scissors for us. Small things make a big difference!

Upon checking out, the hotel was unable to provide us with a late check out ( our flight left at 6:30PM) as more people were coming in, but they do have facilities for luggage storing and showers if you want to freshen up before the flight.

FYI - if you are coming for Carnaval, the hotel can purchase your bloqos for you when you arrive.

Location: Close to the main areas of Pelourinho/bus areas/ladeira/etc, but about a R$20-R$30 cab ride to Barra. I never thought of location as a drawback - it was just right! I would recommend staying here for Carnaval because you can have the craziness in Barra, but then come home to peace and quiet and get some rest.

Overall: Would definitely stay here again if I went to Salvador.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 405 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2009

Studio do Carmo, located in lively area of Pelourinho, is the perfect choice for a stay in Salvador de Bahia. The main monuments, churches and attractions are all easily reached on foot. Furthermore, thanks to the constant presence of the police in the area, we walked safely also in the evening (of course applying elementary safety rules).
The rooms are all very spacious, well decorated, with high ceilings and a beautiful wooden floor. Our room had a wonderful view on the roofs of Pelourinho and was very nice, clean and quiet.
We really appreciated the excellent breakfast, served in the room: a perfect mix of continental breakfast and Brazilian specialities (fresh fruits, fresh juices and handmade cakes).
The staff was extremely friendly and gave us great support in the organization of our stay.
Result: an unforgettable, wonderful stay. Thanks to you all!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pigi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Studio do Carmo is a really nice hotel in the centre of Pelourinho, the oldest area of Salvador. The position is very good near of the attrattive of the city.
The rooms are very confortable: each one has a big bad, a little kichen and a private bathroom. also the interior decorations are very nice and tipical. every morning an excelent breckfast is bring in the room. the service in very good and the two managers (2 very nice italian guys) are really hospitale and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brasil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Studio do Carmo was a huge part of my experience in Bahia. The rooms were large, wonderful art, great breakfast included in the fee and the best staff. First class service from booking to Check Out. BY FAR THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN SALVADOR! Thank you Studio do Carmo!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We spent 3 weeks in Brazil for our honeymoon and I would have to say that Salvador was the highlight of our trip. Salvador offers a massive cultural diversity with loads to do each day and the central location of Studio do Carmo is the perfect Pousada from which to base your travels and discoveries of this beautiful city as its friendly staff were always on hand pointing us the right direction so we could discover and enjoy the full delights of Salvador.

The Pousada is well maintained and very clean, the rooms were very large and a healthy breakfast was just a phonecall away each morning. The breakfast is delivered to each bedroom.

We had only booked in for one night but were so impressed we stayed on for FOUR nights in total. We left Salvador to visit the island of Morro do Sao Paulo for 4 days and returned to Salvador, staying at Studio do Carmo for 2 more nights before returning home. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank judgeCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

good place to visit salvador, in the hearth of the historic center, we have liked the room very spacious very cleaned and with every conforts..like an apartment...a little home ! We have liked the services that they offer: tropical island trips on the boat,, candomblé and city tour very very interesting. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fiffiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We really liked this posada, we stayed 4 night for our honeymoon and everything was perfect. The staff is very very friendly and speaks english, french and spanish very well.Our breakfast was amazing, very fresh with a different types of juice and fruits, for vegetarians people like me is great. The rooms are clean and the location is fantastic because is in the center historic. We had a great time I would like to come back soon.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank NewYorkOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#16 of 111 in Salvador
570 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#47 of 111 in Salvador
226 reviews
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#21 of 111 in Salvador
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Mangueira
#43 of 111 in Salvador
260 reviews
Pousada Solar Dos Deuses
#17 of 111 in Salvador
155 reviews
Pousada des Arts
#55 of 111 in Salvador
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel

Address: Ladeira do Carmo 17 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-410, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $42 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Do Carmo Salvador
Studio Do Carmo Hotel
Studio Do Carmo Boutique Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing