We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zank by Toque Hotel
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We spent 4 days of an incredible honeymoon at Zank, it was an oasis of beauty and calm, the perfect romantic destination. We felt totally looked after by the discrete and courteous staff. The room was immaculate and the bed so comfortable I wish I could fit it in my suitcase and bring it home!
A hotel small enough for you to feel the personal service and big enough in its ideas to cater for everything you need. The careful consideration of the owners is evident in every detail.
I recommend it without hesitation as the perfect destination in Salvador.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GregK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    94
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
182
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

ZANK is a unique place in Rio Vermelho, one of the better neighbourhoods of Salvador da Bahia. Each room is different, designed by Brazilian artists. The terrace is spacious, you have great views on the Bay, service is outstanding. They make you feel very welcome, you have a lot of privacy. The rooftop terrace and swimming pool are extremely relaxed, the views are unique. The atmosphere, the openness of the staff and the accessibility of the owners is very uncommon in the hospitality industry, but it does exist here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolestWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
706 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have stayed here for a couple of nights on my honeymoon. I was looking for a place which would be outside of the hectic Pelourinho, but in a nice neighbourhood with good food and entertainment options. Zank seemed to fit the bill as it was neither one of the ageing large hotels, nor one of the other boutique hotels in the dodgy area of Cidade Baixa.

At BRL 700 per night, expectations were high. This amount of money gets you a top-end room anywhere in Brazil. The website had a frustrating shortage of pictures to give us a good idea of what to expect. Still, reviews on design magazines were glowing and always mentioned that this was the celebrity haunt of Salvador.

Initial impressions were very good; before we arrived we received an e-mail warning of a corporate event in the hotel’s terrace and promising it would be a quiet affair, which I thought was a very nice touch from management. On arrival, we liked the exterior and reception as it was very well furnished with design furniture. The restaurant area and patio seemed equally pleasant.

Our room was #19 (or #17, memory fails). It seems that every room has a different style. Ours was a bit boxy, with some walls painted black. It could have been nice, but it looked like cheap mate black paint. The room had a jacuzzi, table, separate shower and a toilet. The toilet was simply behind a see-through green curtain, with no door whatsoever separating it from the room. Not the most romantic thing, if you ask me, and a clear example of style over substance! We weren’t too impressed by the poor finishing around the jacuzzi either. It seemed like they were trying to go for high end workmanship, but had to cut corners. All rooms have sea view though.

Communal areas were a very different story. The pool area was really nice, as were the sauna and spa area. The downstairs area was also very pleasant with big loungers, and an external restaurant area. Even the computer room/library was furnished in extremely good taste and featured a colourful selection of typical folk booklets. Breakfast was equally very good, with some items made to order.

Staff were very sweet, although when we were looking for a laundry (they unhelpfully suggested we washed our 2 weeks’ worth of laundry at extortionate per piece prices) they incorrectly advised us it was a 5 minute walk, when in reality it was more like 30 minutes. Massages were good value, but we weren't able to book one at short notice. Friends who stayed here have recommended them.

All in all, if you stay here, chances are you’ll have a nice and relaxing time, but you’re not really getting your money’s worth. 30% less would, in my opinion, be a fair price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILANO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

www.zankhotel.com.br
Situated in the Salvador's district Rio vermelho, in the centre of the city, this place is another jewel for a fantastic escape for two.
The rooms are cozy, staff is super friendly, the food is fantastic and the rooftop swiming pool is something special.
They have a spa with amazing view and top quality massages. All the rooms are different with tv, mini bar and ac. One can experience a real luxury here and treat himself to something special. Actually the experience is impossible to put in words, so I advise to everyone to check out the web site, to get an idea of exclusivity of the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GYATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

I stayed there for 3 night with my bf. excellent service, very nice staff. My bf is brazilian wich might maybe help?
very nice room, contemporary style.
The overall furniture is really nice, very stylish. A perfect place for a romantic trip

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre92100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

We had a great time there. The rooms were very nice - and the bathroom, we thought was cool (we even took pictures in case we wanted to do the same some day). I thought it was private enough for a married couple - kids in the room might have been a challenge, since the shower door is clear.

The beach below is great, you have to check it out. Not a lot of people. The massages were wonderful! So was the spa and the rooftop pool (which is small, be prepared) The food was great - my husband said he had the best lamb he's ever had in his life at their place for dinner.

Everything was great --- but for the price, I thought it was going to be fabulous. I would equate it to a very nice Hyatt or Sheraton, which to me should be more like $150/night, maybe $200. So although we loved it, I'd say we'd only go back if the prices were cheaper.

By the way, if you need cash, you should go to the shopping center for it since they have a few ATM's that will accept everyone's cards. And they do have a computer with internet on site.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuedli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

I was quite excited that Salvador has finally a small stylish boutique hotel. I know the city very well and the location is good for Salvador standard, where nothing is really close and there is no perfect location. The Zank is located in a uphill residential area close (10 minutes walk) to the bars and restaurants of ‘Rio Vermelho’. Our room (# 10) had a nice ocean view and I believe most of the 20 rooms must have the same. The hotel is a little complex of an old traditional house and a modern building, where most of the rooms are located, separated by a lovely little garden and terrace.
The hotel has a little rooftop pool and terrace, which we enjoyed very much. The little SPA was not functioning. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in the main building or on its terrace. Food was quite good, but breakfast could be improved. Too much sweets for a European taste as well as the fruits were nothing exceptional.
Service was always polite and with a big smile, yet slow and bit complicated as most of the time in Bahia.
I did not care much about the decoration of our room, but everything was clean and in order. The air condition worked very well and the bed was very comfortable. Very poor choice of TV channels, none international. A pity that none of the rooms has a terrace.
The only thing we both really disliked was the bathroom. I will never understand the ignorance of architects and/or owners to build an total open bathroom with no privacy whatsoever. Clearly design was more important than comfort for the clients.

  • Liked — outside areas and views
  • Disliked — the open bathroom
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HHJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Pestana Convento do Carmo
#28 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
2.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zank by Toque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zank by Toque Hotel

Property: Zank by Toque Hotel
Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 161 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41950-350, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salvador
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zank by Toque Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In harmony with the Brazilian way of life, elegance and sophistication, the Zank Boutique offers a personalized and exclusive service. Its indoor design reflects the Brazilian atmosphere, with furniture and objects made by Brazilian designers, sourced from the best antiquarians and studios. For these reasons, besides its perfect location and ocean view, Zank Boutique Hotel has its own identity and an irresistible charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zank by Toque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zank By Toque Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing