We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“josé's tryp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zank by Toque Hotel
Ranked #29 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

this a very nice hotel - small but smart - peoples are lovely ans are prepare to help you .
breakfast is excellent , please try the diner .
we trecommend this adress however the hotel is not located in the center of the city but anyway

Room Tip: ask the room nbr 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have been there for 3 nights in October 2011.
Never on our trip through Brasil we had such a noiseless aircon, never we had so friendly people, as in this hotel.
The hotel has a jacuzzi and a small pool on its roof overlooking the coastline.
It is really a charming place to stay in Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank powersensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As stated in a previous review, this is a nice hotel. However, like most things in Brazil, it is way overpriced for what you get.

The rooms are a good size, but lack balconies. Also, no complementary water is supplied in rooms - c'mon guys. The pool areas is small and holds only four loungers, potentially this hotel could have over 20 guests. Tiny pool a little dirty. Free internet was good when it worked - annoying as this was needed for my work. Construction work was going on - bang, bang, bang. Location is not great, at the top of two very steep hills, quite a way from the restaurants and bars of Rio Vermelho - and not a great place to walk at night.

Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of local cakes and dishes. Most staff on the desk were friendly and helpful. Service in general was good.

Take 30-40% off the price of this hotel and it would be spot-on. As it stands, the 'value for money' aspect would prevent us from recommending or returning.

Room Tip: Can see no real difference between the standard and higher tier rooms, other then they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel is as stated and we had no disappointing issues other then pool was not functioning because of shocking pool to help clean it. The restaurant for dinning was a very nice unexpected surprise and the tenderloin was great. Rooms a well kept and staff is
friendly and helpful. Area is not safe at night and use your common sense and never wear jewelry. We had fun and recharged very nicely here.

Room Tip: Old section have bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnjoyEveryday155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Really luxurious and chic. Definitely an unrivaled hotel (at least in Brazil!) The workers were attentive and excellent, with English-speaking staff. The rooms were immaculate, with great style and cleanliness. Plus, the breakfast was a huge smorgashboard of gourmet Brazilian foods. Pool of the roof with a nice view of the beach. It's definitely outside of main Salvador area, but it was actually nice to be a bit away from the central city area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveleronlinenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We spent 4 days of an incredible honeymoon at Zank, it was an oasis of beauty and calm, the perfect romantic destination. We felt totally looked after by the discrete and courteous staff. The room was immaculate and the bed so comfortable I wish I could fit it in my suitcase and bring it home!
A hotel small enough for you to feel the personal service and big enough in its ideas to cater for everything you need. The careful consideration of the owners is evident in every detail.
I recommend it without hesitation as the perfect destination in Salvador.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GregK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

ZANK is a unique place in Rio Vermelho, one of the better neighbourhoods of Salvador da Bahia. Each room is different, designed by Brazilian artists. The terrace is spacious, you have great views on the Bay, service is outstanding. They make you feel very welcome, you have a lot of privacy. The rooftop terrace and swimming pool are extremely relaxed, the views are unique. The atmosphere, the openness of the staff and the accessibility of the owners is very uncommon in the hospitality industry, but it does exist here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolestWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 111 in Salvador
566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#19 of 111 in Salvador
203 reviews
3 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 111 in Salvador
1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Bahia Lodge
Pestana Bahia Lodge
#60 of 111 in Salvador
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zank by Toque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zank by Toque Hotel

Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 161 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41950-350, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $133 - $722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zank by Toque Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In harmony with the Brazilian way of life, elegance and sophistication, the Zank Boutique offers a personalized and exclusive service. Its indoor design reflects the Brazilian atmosphere, with furniture and objects made by Brazilian designers, sourced from the best antiquarians and studios. For these reasons, besides its perfect location and ocean view, Zank Boutique Hotel has its own identity and an irresistible charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zank by Toque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zank By Toque Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing