We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel with outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zank by Toque Hotel
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel with outstanding service”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have been there for 3 nights in October 2011.
Never on our trip through Brasil we had such a noiseless aircon, never we had so friendly people, as in this hotel.
The hotel has a jacuzzi and a small pool on its roof overlooking the coastline.
It is really a charming place to stay in Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank powersensi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    101
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
196
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As stated in a previous review, this is a nice hotel. However, like most things in Brazil, it is way overpriced for what you get.

The rooms are a good size, but lack balconies. Also, no complementary water is supplied in rooms - c'mon guys. The pool areas is small and holds only four loungers, potentially this hotel could have over 20 guests. Tiny pool a little dirty. Free internet was good when it worked - annoying as this was needed for my work. Construction work was going on - bang, bang, bang. Location is not great, at the top of two very steep hills, quite a way from the restaurants and bars of Rio Vermelho - and not a great place to walk at night.

Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of local cakes and dishes. Most staff on the desk were friendly and helpful. Service in general was good.

Take 30-40% off the price of this hotel and it would be spot-on. As it stands, the 'value for money' aspect would prevent us from recommending or returning.

Room Tip: Can see no real difference between the standard and higher tier rooms, other then they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel is as stated and we had no disappointing issues other then pool was not functioning because of shocking pool to help clean it. The restaurant for dinning was a very nice unexpected surprise and the tenderloin was great. Rooms a well kept and staff is
friendly and helpful. Area is not safe at night and use your common sense and never wear jewelry. We had fun and recharged very nicely here.

Room Tip: Old section have bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnjoyEveryday155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Really luxurious and chic. Definitely an unrivaled hotel (at least in Brazil!) The workers were attentive and excellent, with English-speaking staff. The rooms were immaculate, with great style and cleanliness. Plus, the breakfast was a huge smorgashboard of gourmet Brazilian foods. Pool of the roof with a nice view of the beach. It's definitely outside of main Salvador area, but it was actually nice to be a bit away from the central city area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveleronlinenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We spent 4 days of an incredible honeymoon at Zank, it was an oasis of beauty and calm, the perfect romantic destination. We felt totally looked after by the discrete and courteous staff. The room was immaculate and the bed so comfortable I wish I could fit it in my suitcase and bring it home!
A hotel small enough for you to feel the personal service and big enough in its ideas to cater for everything you need. The careful consideration of the owners is evident in every detail.
I recommend it without hesitation as the perfect destination in Salvador.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GregK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

ZANK is a unique place in Rio Vermelho, one of the better neighbourhoods of Salvador da Bahia. Each room is different, designed by Brazilian artists. The terrace is spacious, you have great views on the Bay, service is outstanding. They make you feel very welcome, you have a lot of privacy. The rooftop terrace and swimming pool are extremely relaxed, the views are unique. The atmosphere, the openness of the staff and the accessibility of the owners is very uncommon in the hospitality industry, but it does exist here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolestWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
707 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I have stayed here for a couple of nights on my honeymoon. I was looking for a place which would be outside of the hectic Pelourinho, but in a nice neighbourhood with good food and entertainment options. Zank seemed to fit the bill as it was neither one of the ageing large hotels, nor one of the other boutique hotels in the dodgy area of Cidade Baixa.

At BRL 700 per night, expectations were high. This amount of money gets you a top-end room anywhere in Brazil. The website had a frustrating shortage of pictures to give us a good idea of what to expect. Still, reviews on design magazines were glowing and always mentioned that this was the celebrity haunt of Salvador.

Initial impressions were very good; before we arrived we received an e-mail warning of a corporate event in the hotel’s terrace and promising it would be a quiet affair, which I thought was a very nice touch from management. On arrival, we liked the exterior and reception as it was very well furnished with design furniture. The restaurant area and patio seemed equally pleasant.

Our room was #19 (or #17, memory fails). It seems that every room has a different style. Ours was a bit boxy, with some walls painted black. It could have been nice, but it looked like cheap mate black paint. The room had a jacuzzi, table, separate shower and a toilet. The toilet was simply behind a see-through green curtain, with no door whatsoever separating it from the room. Not the most romantic thing, if you ask me, and a clear example of style over substance! We weren’t too impressed by the poor finishing around the jacuzzi either. It seemed like they were trying to go for high end workmanship, but had to cut corners. All rooms have sea view though.

Communal areas were a very different story. The pool area was really nice, as were the sauna and spa area. The downstairs area was also very pleasant with big loungers, and an external restaurant area. Even the computer room/library was furnished in extremely good taste and featured a colourful selection of typical folk booklets. Breakfast was equally very good, with some items made to order.

Staff were very sweet, although when we were looking for a laundry (they unhelpfully suggested we washed our 2 weeks’ worth of laundry at extortionate per piece prices) they incorrectly advised us it was a 5 minute walk, when in reality it was more like 30 minutes. Massages were good value, but we weren't able to book one at short notice. Friends who stayed here have recommended them.

All in all, if you stay here, chances are you’ll have a nice and relaxing time, but you’re not really getting your money’s worth. 30% less would, in my opinion, be a fair price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.0 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Pestana Convento do Carmo
#31 of 111 in Salvador
814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#47 of 111 in Salvador
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
2.8 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zank by Toque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zank by Toque Hotel

Property: Zank by Toque Hotel
Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 161 | Rio Vermelho, Salvador, State of Bahia 41950-350, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salvador
#14 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zank by Toque Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In harmony with the Brazilian way of life, elegance and sophistication, the Zank Boutique offers a personalized and exclusive service. Its indoor design reflects the Brazilian atmosphere, with furniture and objects made by Brazilian designers, sourced from the best antiquarians and studios. For these reasons, besides its perfect location and ocean view, Zank Boutique Hotel has its own identity and an irresistible charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Zank by Toque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zank By Toque Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing