We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Villa Carmo
Ranked #84 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
suzhou, china
1 review
“I will come back”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The pousada is well located and very well decorated
The owner are very nice & helpful. we would not have discover the city & nightlife this way without all their tips.
The breakfast that stays available until noon is perfect for those that like to spend the night out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plancheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
23
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Pousada Villa Carmo is very well located in the centre of the Pelorinho. It is safe and supervised 24/7. We stayed here in August 2011 and paid R$150 for a double room and breakfast which is pretty good for Salvador. Staff is very friendly and helpful! The breakfast area is on a balcony overlooking the baía de Todos os Santos, its beautiful to sit there drinking your juice and overlooking the bay. the room was not the cleanest, there was a layer of dust covering everything. rooms are very small, we didnt have a window and the bathroom was tiny. it was hard to even turn around in the bathroom and after i had a shower the entire bathroom was under water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY&BsAs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I found this pousada on venere when I was having trouble getting a room last minute. The owner was quick to respond to my questions and when our flight was delayed out of Recife the night concierge handled our airport transfer changes and our driver was there to meet us at 5am.

We stayed in room 1 overlooking the cobblestone street, with a view up to a spectacular church. Super high ceilings and lots of space, we regretted that our stay in Salvador was brief. Breakfast on the back terrace with sweeping views of Salvador and the sea was unforgettable.

But Salvador is quite intense, we felt it was more dangerous than either Sao Paolo or Rio. It's too bad, it is a special place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calamityjaneNY_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were in room 4 (clearly the best, overlooking the harbor), two of the nights with our adult daughter. The layout of the room makes it a good choice for 3 people. We found the room, and little balcony, and the terrace downstairs to be very pleasant places to hang out. Now that we've been there, we know we would only want to be in a room like that, facing the harbor. Owner's English was very good. We highly recommend the location too - Santo Antonio neighborhood is enough away from Pelourinho hubbub. Very near a good "quilo" restaurant.

Room Tip: room for 3 should get you room 4, the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zencello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

It's a very good place to stay in Salvador, near Pelo, pretty and clean pousada, very kind manager and staff.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RositaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

This is a beautiful pousada, right in the heart of the old city of Salvador. It was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the location. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard fare, and nice enough. Would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — beautiful building
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SorelBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

This B&B is located in the historic centre of Salvador, but slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Pelourinho. My room looked over the sea, admittedly with the port in the way. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in particular is fantastic, the best I had in Brazil.

Having said that, the rooms are a bit on the basic side, but are clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom68London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#46 of 111 in Salvador
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#86 of 111 in Salvador
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada do Pilar
Pousada do Pilar
#58 of 111 in Salvador
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada des Arts
Pousada des Arts
#49 of 111 in Salvador
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar do Carmo
Solar do Carmo
#66 of 111 in Salvador
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Villa Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Villa Carmo

Property: Pousada Villa Carmo
Address: Rua do Carmo, 58 | Historic Center - Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Villa Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location: The Pousada Villa Carmo is located In the heart of Salvador's Historical Center, where tourists and local residents are immersed in culture, tradition, leisure and fun. The atmosphere is cozy: the environment is family-like and offers comfort and safety, uniting antique and modern elements. The lobby area is welcoming and warming: nothing more natural coming from Pousada Villa Carmo owners, Ana Luz, Brazilian and Gianluca, Italian. Dating from the XIX century, the Inn occupies a colonial building at the traditional Rua do Carmo and neighbors a rich colonial architectural compound preserved since Brazil's colonial time. Leaning over the sea of Todos os Santos Bay, Pousada Villa Carmo is at a few steps from some of the most important architectural monuments of the city, such as the religious compound formed by Nossa Senhora do Carmo and Ordem Terceira do Carmo churches, including the Cruz do Pascoal Oratory. It's in this historic environment, joyful and strong cultural scenery, that Pousada Villa Carmo guests find the perfect environment to enjoy the best of Salvador, making good use of the coziness, culture and pleasures of Brazil's happiness capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pousada Villa Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hotel Carmo
Pousada Villa Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing