We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Salvador”
Review of Villa Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Bahia
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Best choice in Salvador”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great location in the middle of the historical old town which is the only place worth being in Salvador for really. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly and spoke good English. The rooms are absolutely charming and although my room faces the main square it was not noisy at all. Ok one night there were stray dogs barking but what can you do. The only complaint was that the pillows are not soft enough but I do adore this place. One recommendation that us not related to the hotel experience but certainly a highlight of the trip to Salvador is the restaurant paraiso tropical. You need to take a taxi there but well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ones facing the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    70
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
187
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisboa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed there on december 13th and it was disapointing to see how such a beautiful and well decorated hotel with such a great location can fail in some main aspects: we stayed in room "Goa" (one of the most expensive rooms) and the rumour of the air-condicioning was terrible. We tried to minimise it by closing the bathroom's windows but still it was quite disturbing all night long and the smell on the bathroom was not very good neither. When we complained the staff was not very helpful nor had the kind attitude that we would have expected: they showed us the room "Ceuta" but it had exactly the same problem as both rooms are located close to the air-conditioning. Furthermore, the breakast was far from being as good as some we had in much cheaper hotels/"pousadas" with equivalent atmosphere. So, it certainly is a beautiful hotel with a great location but, in my opinion, it is not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side may be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrojord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were three adults who spent only two nights there. The staff were very nice and spoke English and French. The rooms (cabo verde and another) were clean with rustic decoration. Good WiFi. Breakfast (not buffet) was plenty and delicious. The location is perfect as it is in the heart of the old city and a short walk and elevator ride to the lower city and the market.
The only downside was the occasional (I imagine) late night parties in the main square (if your room is street side) and the early morning table setting for breakfast if you are above the breakfast area. Luckily i was up early anyway due to jet lag. And i imagine if you want to swim (as opposed to dip) better head to the seaside.
Dinner at the hotel was well well worth it. Price and quality wise. Very inventive dishes and the fish is super tasty. It is also quiet, unlike a lot of the other restaurants around.

Room Tip: You may wish to try another wing they have....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were looked after well. The room was beautiful as are the reception and bar areas. The restaurant is lovely with a little 'garden' at the back. We especially enjoyed breakfast but each meal was good. The location in the upper city is great with places to visit. The many 'tourist police' give you a 'safe' feeling. It is also easy to reach the market down the lift.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Last week I stayed, for the second time, at Villa Bahia in Salvador. I had two colleagues with me as we were attending a seminar. Just as I remembered it, the Villa was great. The rooms each had their own special characteristics and charms. The entire experience was excellent from the accommodation, the staff (Marie and Pilar are GEMS!), the food and the location. One evening we spoke to a group of foreign tourists that had been travelling for six weeks all over Brazil and they agreed with me that this was one of the best places they had stayed, anywhere! Truly a wonderful place and I plan on going back again (3rd time) with my family in a few months.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. They are all different and have their own charm. We had the room called Mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a beautiful, colonial style hotel in the middle of the safest part of Salvador. However, the staff have an attitude of processing guests; in our case the receptionist was literally counting money while shrugging her shoulders that we had to wait over an hour for lunch. We thought that was quite symbolic.

Regarding the kitchen: if locals come in after you, they will be served before you. This can mean that you wait for over an hour for lunch - with staff literally walking away from you if you ask where the food is. The food is hit and miss. They try hard but we had to send food back for not being cooked through or was cooked and then arrived stone cold. The staff agreed the food was not right (and would give a discount on the bill) but the locals did not have this problem.

Overall a hotel that is beautiful but let down by a kitchen that doesn't work properly and staff that have a haughty view to tourists.

It is literally the only hotel where we stayed where the service was this bad - everywhere else was really excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonfamilyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I can only say good things about the Villa Bahia. We had a large room with a sitting area and a huge bathroom. Decorated in the Colonial style, we had windows that opened out to the main square, with views of the St. Francis and the Cathedral on the other end. Location was excellent! The room was ambiant and most pleasant. Breakfast was also very lovely. Staff service was very good.

I highly recommend the Villa Bahia in Salvador!

Room Tip: We had the Madacascar Room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,063 reviews
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,051 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bahia

Property: Villa Bahia
Address: Largo do Cruzeiro de Sao Francisco, no 16/18 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in Salvador
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#9 Green Hotel in Salvador
#14 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Bahia is set in the historical centre of the city of Salvador, only steps away from the city’s main attractions. Fully renovated, this hotel boasts unparalleled Brazilian charm, and reflects the most important moments of Portuguese explorers and Brazilian history in general. This establishment invites you to come experience the magic of Brazil in comfort and first-class accommodations. The rooms, each named after a specific Portuguese explorer, these spacious suites are dressed in an opulent décor which reflects the majesty of the culturally rich and historical country of Brazil. Opulent furnishings come together with spacious proportions and modern commodities to create the ideal place for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bahia Hotel Salvador
Bahia Hotel Salvador
Villa Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing