We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't even imagine a better place to stay in Salvador!”
Review of Villa Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Bahia
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at Villa Bahia and would definitely go back if we ever return to Salvador. We were choosing between this hotel and Casa da Amarelindo and we did pop into the Casa da Amarelindo for a drink and were unimpressed and happy we chose Villa Bahia.

The location of Villa Bahia is just perfect in a gorgeous cobbled square with an amazing view of the San Francisco church (especially beautiful when lit up at night). The Pelourinho is lovely, we did feel a little uneasy when we first arrived though. We flew into Salvador Airport late at night and the taxi driver drove us to the Pelo through the favela areas pointing out to us how dangerous it was...great! Then pulled up in a deserted square (it was a wednesday night) and told us he could go no further and we would have to walk. This was 11pm and we were uneasy despite the obvious police presence in the area. Anyhow my husband walked off with an over-enthusiastic local child looking for a tip to try and find the hotel. It wasn't far away and the hotel staff came back with my husband to help us with the baggage which was a nice touch.

The building itself is just gorgeous, an old traditional style mansion with wooden stair cases, heavy wooden doors and shuttered windows. The room are decorated in a traditional style inspired by regions of Africa but there is also the influence of the Europeans. You feel like you have stepped back in time, it's just lovely.

The only complaint we had was that our room Guinea was a bit noisy in the mornings when the breakfast was being prepared.

We took a walking tour of the city on our first morning (which the hotel organised) and this was a great introduction to the area and made us feel much more comfortable walking around the Pelourihno and going into all the little shops.

They say that the Pelo is the nightlife capital but we didn't find too much action while we were there (wed, thur, fri nights). There was some music in some of the squares and we had a great time, but you did have to look for it (we found this be generally true in Brazil as a whole).

Don't hesitate to stay at Villa Bahia - it's great!

Room Tip: perhaps try a high floor if you can to be away from the breakfast noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Villa Bahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 371 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

couldn't recommend a better place to stay in the old town... all the small details made a huge impression on me and the staff was excellent.. my only qualm was our room being fairly small considering the price of the room which was high season...was told that all rooms were priced the same and the size was dependent upon how big the party you were traveling with....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In terms of location, this hotel couldn't be in a better place. It is in the heart of the old town a stones throw from many visits. You can easily access the elevator to the Mercato Modelo & also the harbour for boat departures to nearby destinations ( like Morro de São Paulo). Villa Bahia does not feel like a hotel, as the experience is quite intimate and the service personalized. The rooms are very comfortable with all the luxury amenities you expect from a hotel. The breakfast spread is phenomenal! Really a lovely property perfect for exploring the delights of Salvador!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Though stayed just one night in Salvador I liked this small, boutique hotel right in the centre of old Salvador. The building and reconstruction was all neatly done, one almost feels like in a Provence or Bordeaux maisons.

I liked the rooms and bathrooms, nothing is modern here but all is well preserved and well functional.

Offers amazing atmosphere when just sitting outside of hotel, sipping caipirinhas and enjoying spectacular view of old and colourful Salvador.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really loved our stay here. Although it is in the centre, where you may feel slightly uneasy, we didnt feel this way at all. The rooms were large and spacious and decorated fantastically well. Breakfast was good, although we were left disappointed that there was no choice given regarding cereal or how much fruit you could have. I was also disappointed that out of the four breakfast we had there on only one occasion were we offered eggs. The staff who worked there were friendly, however if you are expecting 5 star service, you will not receive it. We were left waiting for quite some time when we wanted to order drinks and were not checked upon whilst eating our meals. We did eat dinner there three out of our four nights, as the food was delicious, we can highly recommend the lamb, the beef with the risotto, the tomato soup, the cheesecake, the mango and banana crumble, although the curried icecream was not the best accompaniment!
Overall, I highly recommend this place, however do go ready to be relaxed regarding the service that you will receive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestravelling162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We loved this place. The hotel looks like something out of Interiors magazine. The staff are lovely, food excellent (the best we had anywhere on our trip). The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel is in the historic centre, which is fascinating and lively. We can recommend Carlos Barbosa as a really well informed and charming tour guide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is charming, full of character at the best location in Salvador. Rooms are beautiful with nice bedsheets and towels. Breakfast is delicious and the restaurant also serves delicious food.The staff is very friendly.
The location is excellent: next to the most beautiful church Sao Francisco and next door to Delegacia do Turista (Tourist Police). This area of Pelourinho is quite safe during the day. In the evening, you need to be a bit more careful in deserted alleys.
We watched in the evening Olodum's rehearsal , right behind the hotel - amazing!
We had a walking tour organised by the hotel/ Caravel travel agency and it was fantastic. Our guide, Dirk, (knows Brazilian history better than most Brazilians! He's been in Salvador for 22 years and speaks Portuguese, English, French and Dutch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiaRioLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 110 in Salvador
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 110 in Salvador
1,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
2.7 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.1 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 110 in Salvador
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bahia

Address: Largo do Cruzeiro de Sao Francisco, no 16/18 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in Salvador
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Green Hotel in Salvador
#14 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $188 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Bahia is set in the historical centre of the city of Salvador, only steps away from the city’s main attractions. Fully renovated, this hotel boasts unparalleled Brazilian charm, and reflects the most important moments of Portuguese explorers and Brazilian history in general. This establishment invites you to come experience the magic of Brazil in comfort and first-class accommodations. The rooms, each named after a specific Portuguese explorer, these spacious suites are dressed in an opulent décor which reflects the majesty of the culturally rich and historical country of Brazil. Opulent furnishings come together with spacious proportions and modern commodities to create the ideal place for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bahia Hotel Salvador
Bahia Hotel Salvador
Villa Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing