We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Bahia
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and our room was located on the 2nd floor. The room was lovely and beautifully decorated and we had a cute little balcony with a view of the Igreja Cathedral.

The location of the hotel was perfect, it was right in the centre of the historical centre of Salvador and the staff are very nice.

The breakfast was good and the array available was splendid.

A place that anyone visiting Salvador should stay at.

Room Tip: Just book a room at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchess85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

My daughter and I were on a 42 day trip to Brazil starting in Rio the Janeiro for Christmas and New Years 2012, travelling up the coast, arriving in Salvador January 2013.
We really needed a tranquil base from which to explore and rest, and Villa Bahia was just the place.
The beauty, style and service of this place restored our energy in very short time and moreover it is an experience in itself with many interior details to look at and bathproducts and lotions to enjoy - we ladies like that :-)

Our room Capo Verde was quiet except for a bit of samba-drum-practice comming through at times from streets nearby - in our opinion it just added to the flavor, after all carnival was comming up.

We booked an English speaking guide at the agency next door and the tour with him was so valuable. We did it on our second day and highly recommend it. It changed the way we viewed the whole neighbourhood and Pelorinho area for the rest of our stay.
Villa Bahia is a gem, we can't imagine a better place to retreat, refresh and return next time we visit Salvador.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've been a bit remiss in writing a review, as we stayed at Villa Bahia in August of 2012. The hotel is fabulous. Tons of local character, beautiful little courtyard where you have a decent breakfast. I requested the Goa room which was just as appealing in person as in the photos (and noise was not an issue even though the room opens up to the square in front of the hotel).

I do need to add that we visited Salvador on a whirlwind trip to Brazil -- squeezing in Rio, a ranch in the Pantanal and Salvador in 10 days. It was too much and the clear low point was Salvador. If I could do it over, I would have skipped Salvador and instead visited Paraty (a supposedly wonderful coastal colonial town about 200 mi. from Rio). I realize that Salvador and Paraty and two completely different destinations -- major city vs. small town -- but I think for our interests and time constraints skipping Salvador would have been best. Just my two cents.

Room Tip: Goa was beautiful and opened right onto the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I'm a flight crew crew member normally staying at airport Marriotts or Hiltons so this was a wonderful change from those hotels. The hotel is very clean with large rooms in a great location to explore the city. The hotel is located in the heart of the central old town area.
We had excellent free high speed Internet service. The breakfast was excellent served in a very nice courtyard surronding. We had no problems with the hotel, we all felt secure and safe.
Highly recommended for the corporate flight crew who has stayed at too many airport Hiltons. The hotel doesn't have a business center, gym or much of a swimming pool but sometimes do don't need those things.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my room over looking the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghundrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hospital is top notch on all levels.
Location; right in the old centre, there's always something going on. And lots of bars and restaurants and music within safe walking distance at night.
Decor; the rooms are nicely returned to old colonial style, with local antique furniture.
Staff; friendly, everyone. The receptionists speak good English, and are always keen to see how you are enjoying the stay. The restaurant and bar staff are keen to take care of you; easy enough to order and converse in one or 2 common words of Portuguese or English.
Caravel; the recommended transfer service. Good value, easy, flawless.
Breakfast; healthy and lots of it.
Coffee; the best I tasted in Brazil and therefore the best coffee in the world.

Room Tip: Every room is unique in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff of this hotel are amazingly friendly and helpful, with great tips on where to go in Salvador. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious and very generous. Situated in the middle of the historic centre. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinM312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.. one of the nights, the AC didnt work and the hotel was gracious enough to book us in another hotel and took care of everything.. not many people do that.

coming back to this hotel... its exceptionally well decorated keeping the essence of the 18th century.. and that too in the heart of the historic district.. cant get better than that.. 2 mins away from the church, stores, restaurants, or you could just sit outside and sip on beer all day..

i have more than 50 photos of this hotel and each part of the hotel is very colorful and unique.. must do , if you are going to Salvador..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavitra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.7 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 110 in Salvador
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#1 of 110 in Salvador
1,110 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia
2.6 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#29 of 110 in Salvador
309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bahia

Address: Largo do Cruzeiro de Sao Francisco, no 16/18 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#6 Family Hotel in Salvador
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Green Hotel in Salvador
#14 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $204 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Bahia is set in the historical centre of the city of Salvador, only steps away from the city’s main attractions. Fully renovated, this hotel boasts unparalleled Brazilian charm, and reflects the most important moments of Portuguese explorers and Brazilian history in general. This establishment invites you to come experience the magic of Brazil in comfort and first-class accommodations. The rooms, each named after a specific Portuguese explorer, these spacious suites are dressed in an opulent décor which reflects the majesty of the culturally rich and historical country of Brazil. Opulent furnishings come together with spacious proportions and modern commodities to create the ideal place for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bahia Hotel Salvador
Bahia Hotel Salvador
Villa Bahia Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing