We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Conveniently Close to the Pelourinho”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and Conveniently Close to the Pelourinho”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came across this place while wandering Santo Antonio, after we had booked a hostel for three nights (to save money) and found it was not what we expected. Seeing the Trip Advisor sticker in their window, we rang the bell to inquire about rooms. The young woman working the reception did not speak English but we did manage to understand they had rooms available. She showed us the rooms and after the hostel debacle, we were thrilled with this discovery after several unsuccessful hotel inquiries in the Pelourinho (either booked or too expensive). Casa Vila Bela seemed right for the price plus it has colonial character and is in a quieter part of the city. We chose the charming Amazonia room, painted bright green with large paintings of indigenous faces on the walls. We loved the antique furnishings and spacious bathroom with double sinks and huge tub, which we used every day. The only downside was the room faced the street, so we had some party noise at night, but nothing earplugs didn’t block out. The breakfasts were delicious and varied each day with a spread of fruit, cheese, pastries and eggs upon request. Breakfast hours were leisurely (served till noon) and we enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a view of the sea. Service was much better when the owner Gerusa – was present, as she was the only one who spoke English (besides her French husband Stephane who wasn’t there as often). She was very helpful and gave us tips that could only come from a local, like taking a tour to Praia do Forte and ditching the tour once we got there because it’s cheaper than taking a bus. She also made arrangements for us to attend a Condomble ceremony with our own private driver, which allowed us the freedom to stay at the ceremony for as long as we liked. The only other negative is although the street is picturesque, a few hundred meters away it is unsafe to explore (Fortunately Gerusa informed us about this so we didn’t discover it by accident!) They have good security with a heavily barred door and someone on guard to let us in at night. Salvador is a crime-ridden city, especially the Pelourinho so if you’re going to stay there the most you can ask for are secure accommodations and hosts who tell you where you shouldn’t go. We loved our stay at Vila Bela… it added so much to our comfort and enjoyment of Salvador.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCatNYC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    130
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
116
278
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife, 7 year old daughter, and myself spent 5 days at this beautiful pousada in July 2013. We had the Gabriela room which quickly felt like home to us. The place was fantastic and reasonably priced for the area. We made all the arrangements online including transportation to and from the airport prior to arrival.

the actual pousada itself is bright, colorful and full of charm. I miss the smell of guava greeting me every time I walk into the dining area. the place very quickly felt like home to us. The room was very homey, charming and spacious. The balcony overlooking the bay was nice. My daughter especially loved the hammock.

The breakfasts were pretty good. There's something there for every one. My only one gripe was the shower in our room. The water pressure was very low which I didn't like, but no biggie. Another gripe - cash only. Kinda inconvenient, but just plan ahead and you'll be fine.

The staff was fantastic. The owner, who apparently speaks multiple languages, was extremely helpful in helping us plan our trip and giving us pointers about the city. She went to the neighbor's place and brought their cat over for my daughter to play with. She loved the little kitty!

The rest of the staff was wonderful and friendly. other reviewers seem to complain about their limited english skills. Why anyone would expect people walking around talking english in Brazil is beyond me. learn some very basic portuguese.

The location was great - in a quite residential area that severed as a great base to explore Salvador. It was a short but hilly walk down to the Pelo which we really enjoyed. Theres plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby which was nice. Also, there's a large hotel and church at the end of the block where plenty of taxis and police patrols can be found. The police presence was very reassuring especially after hearing about all the safety issues in Salvador.

By the way, the crime rumors about Salvador are way over exaggerated i think. if you exercise basic common sense as one would in any large city, you'll be fine.

Overall, we really enjoyed the pousada and it's location. When we go back to Salvador, we would definitely stay there again. We miss the place already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sri2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Casa Villa Bahia is a simple clean pousada in Santa Antonia. The Pousada is situated in a lovely part of town with a nice view of the seaport. The pousada is very near the colourful streets of pelhinino. The Owner is pleasant and was helpful. Breakfast is ok, boring and limited. WIFI only limited to the main reception .our room was ok

However in my opinion, the room was dated in their decoration style and too dark. Inject some Bahian colour into the rooms to make them more welcoming.

The staff look bored and miserable and I didn't find friendly, even as we left the pousada the miserable girl couldn't even say thanks or goodbye, slammed the door shut and relocked the door, and with all the choices of places to stay in Bahia the staff should learn the art of a bit more customer service.

We stayed only 2 nights. We did extend our stay in salvador but booked another place to stay at the cafe bahia with more charm, colour and value for money.

I would not stay at Casa Villa Bahia again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefio, Propriétaire at Pousada Casa Vila Bela, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,

It seems that our place didn't meet all your expectations and we are sorry about that.

I must confess that we have been surprised by your review because my wife gave you a full and personal assistance during 2 days (even regarding the health problem of your friend) and we had the feeling you were enjoying our place, the breakfast and the neighbourhood.

Regarding our staff (all local people), we understand that you can find them inexperienced (most of them are starting in the tourism industry) or shy (because they don't speak your language), but not "miserable" which is a very offensive and disrespectful word.

Even before checking-in, you found our place expensive, but still did the booking.
You tried to negotiate a discount for the extra nights, but, we couldn't afford to give you any discount because the pousada was almost fully booked.
I do think, that is the reason why you left for a cheaper place.

Best regards,

Stéphane Ettore
Owner and General Manager - Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreieich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Hotel in the neighborhood of smaller restaurants and a cafe is nice renovated and has a beautiful view over the bay. It is conviently located close to the historical center.
The owners, Gerusa and Stephane are charming hosts. The have all the tips for sightseengs and tours.
Even if I had to see a clinc due to unclear health proplems, Gersua did an active support to select a clinic and did translation services, making the day much easier for me. Thank you very much aigain!

Alfred and Uschi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I really don´t understand how this hotel has 200+ excellent reviews, they must be fake...

OK, the house has some character and the location is in the old historical center with a view to the bay. That´s it.

I cannot find any other reasons for you to stay in this hotel. Noisy, poor breakfast (selection and specially quality), bad shower and the service is nothing special. Room would need some renovation, specially the toilet.

They charged us around 80 euros, in my view it´s worth not more than 50 euros.

I hope it helps...

Room Tip: Rooms with bay view are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GPizzato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefio, Propriétaire at Pousada Casa Vila Bela, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It seems our place didn't meet your expectations and we are really sorry about that, as the satisfaction of our guest is our main concern.
However, this does not allow you to write that all the other reviews are fake ...

Thanks to your review, we will give again a special attention to our breakfast which is, most of the time, mentionned as hearty, varied and excellent.

As you only spent one single night in our place (and not even 20 hours), you didn't have the opportunity to experience the customized service we like to provide to our guests. It is a pity.

For sure, your review will help us to improve the service in our pousada.

Best regards,

Stéphane Ettore
Owner and general manager - Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this "classical" pousada very much. Gerusa and Stephane - the host couple are very friendly and helpful with all kind of infos about the local area and the city of Salvador.

No A/C but ceiling fans (we don't like A/Cs). WiFi doesn't really work inside the rooms, but downstairs, where you have also access to a PC with free internet.
The breakfast (buffet with local specialties) is served in a nice room with a terrace facing the bay.
The terrace is also a good spot to enjoy the sunset (see photo).

Sure, we will stay there again on our next trip to Bahia.

Werner + Irmi (Germany)

Room Tip: The rooms to the back are overlooking the bay ( + sunset ) above the docks. But can become noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wernerlorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great and quaint Pousada which is in the Pelourinho, but outside of all the "action".
We arrived late at night and were greeted by the surly night porter who spoke no english (as per rest of Brazil). and shown to 2 lovely rooms. Do not expect 5 star modern luxury - this is an old fashioned Inn, with original decor.
The location is good but not great, it's on the edge of all the action which is good from a noise perspective, but means a bit of a walk to the main square, though the area seemed very safe.
The hosts - Gerusa and Stephane are fantastic. They offered lots of good advice and sorted flowers for my wife's birthday whilst we were there. Unfortunately when they are not on site you are on your own as no-one else spoke a word of English. This became a problem when waiting for a hire car that the Pousada had organised which turned up almost 2 hours late!
Gerusa also recommended a local jeweller where we got an emerald ring for my wife which was a bargain - GO THERE (Dan Klay).
Breakfast was so-so with not a great choice, but then the place does have only 8 rooms!

Room Tip: Check out all the rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoonerPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,071 reviews
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 111 in Salvador
199 reviews
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,053 reviews
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Vila Bela

Property: Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Address: Rua do Carmo 64, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#7 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Vila Bela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vila Bela is a charming bed and breakfast guesthouse, settled in a fully restored XIX century house in the Pelourinho, historical area of Salvador classified by Unesco World Cultural Heritage in 1985. Ideally located in Santo Antonio district, Casa Vila Bela guesthouse enjoys one of the most fantastic seaview scenery over "all the saints bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Casa Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Vila Bela Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing