We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe all the positive reviews, except ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

All the praises of the Pousada Casa Vila Bela that made me select it for a stay in Salvador were proved to be accurate including the helpfulness of Stéphane and Gerusa.The stay there was most enjoyable, except for the fact that I need to use Internet when I travel. If free Internet is offered in the promotional material, the restrictions on its use should be mentioned. We were given a room at the end of the third floor. The inn's Wi-Fi system did not reach our room.
I had to go down to a lounge chair on the second floor or the first floor lobby to use the Internet. I explained to Stéphane that an inexpensive Wi-Fi range-extender would solve the problem, and that better still a powerline adapter that uses the electrical circuits would even be better if it their electrical wiring connections would work (this could be purchased, tested, and returned if it did not work, and if it did it would allow an ethernet type connection in every room). She told me that she will pursue this and if I returned next year I would have Internet in every room.
A second problem may be far more difficult to fix. Guests cannot always be relied upon to lock the front door when leaving the building, so the door is locked from the inside because there is not always a staff person on hand to watch the door traffic. At night,there is an attendant who admits guests returning from a night out. The inn has no exits other than the front door. If there is a fire, the guests will have to rely access to the front door and on the staff during the day or the night attendant during the night to unlock the door. What if a fire blocks use of the only stairs? What if no one is available to unlock the door? because he or she is not awake or is incapacitated by whatever caused the fire? I imagine that this is a problem with all such pousadas. I would have preferred to have known the statistics on this hazard for Salvador's pousadas before making the reservation.

Room Tip: If you need Internet in your room, do not reserve a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erwinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 560 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Really charming pousada near Pelourinho with lots of attention to detail everywhere. The staff was really friendly and even though we only stayed 2 nights it felt like staying in a family home. Gerusa the manager knows everything about Salvador and was extremely helpful in giving us all the insights. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartaruga14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Brazilian travelers beware: get familiar with the operation of the demand hotwater showerheads! This will save you from the cold showers I suffered. Once Vila Bela's staff learned of my trouble, they helped out!
Stayed in a room with a view overlooking the harbor. Active and fascinating watching the big port cranes, the cruise ships, the traffic all moving for our enjoyment. Breakfasts also occur on a lovely outdoor patio with this wonderful view.
Helpful 3+language speaker (owner Gerusa) at the front desk in the mornings. but good luck finding anyone who speaks anything other than Portugese after 3pm!
Absolutely lovely pousada. Beautifully appointed public rooms, generous bedroom size and huge bathroom. We were shocked that our bottom floor room offered such an outstanding view!! Great!

Room Tip: I stayed in the ?Gabriella? room, on the lowest level. Outstanding Port and water views. I'd c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Located in the "Upper city", the property has several view rooms overlooking the harbor. Ours on the 3rd floor was very nice with an outdoor private veranda. The rooms are not huge but are fairly well appointed (ours also had a/c), nicely decorated and very clean (would have been nice to have a few drawers for clothes). The big draw here is the wonderful breakfast served on the veranda overlooking the harbor. Gerusa (the owner) is also very helpful and willing to answer any questions. Must pay using cash - no credit cards accepted. Not a big deal, just have to plan ahead.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in the Pousada Casa Vila Bela for 2 nights in April 2013.We slept in two different rooms, one facing the street the other one with a lovely sea view. The street is quiet, so also the street view is recommenable, although we preferred of course the sea view. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. The shower is spacious. The breakfast selection was good and the food tasty with a variety of local pastries.

The stuff was very friendly and helpful, they made us feel very safe in this huge new city. The owners of the Pousada, Geruse and Stephane, are perfect hosts and extemely helpul and friendly. They know the area very well and provide interesting insigts about the local life as well as trip planning.

The hotel is very safe and has a guard working 24/7. The hotel stuff can also do your laundry to a very good price.

There is a wifi and a public computer to use for the guests. In the streetview room the wifi worked perfectly, in the sea view room we unfortunately didnt have connection, but we could plan our trip on the public computer. Again, Geruse and Stephane were helpful and provided advise. Another con: the bed in the sea view room, Colonial (?), was quite small for an european (180 cm).

All in all: 100% to recommend. And Very good price/value-ratio

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

As we booked 5 nights at another place, which was awful and we left after two nights. Gerusa and Stefan saved our vaccation in Salvador. Casa Vila Bela is an excellent place right close to the historic center of Salvador. The house has a very tasteful decoration and a very nice staff. We stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. If you plan to travel to Salvador Casa Vila Bela is an excellent choice to stay. In my opinion two or three day is just enough to visit Salvador da Bahia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I would like to extend My Thank You to Pousada Casa Vila Bela in Salvador Bahia by the historical district (harbor area); Gerusa & Staff were amazing and I loved the decor of this wonderful Bed & Breakfast with the artwork and traditional Bahian cultural artifacts displayed throughout this establishment that adorned the walls and other areas. The balcony we ate breakfast on every morning was beautiful with the best view of the seaport and ocean along with the rolling hills in historical Salvador's tourist area- all that we could ask for. It was very quite in the rooms but vibrant once you stepped out & downstairs. Gerusa and husband Stephane were very friendly and helpful with any questions and offered great advice that accompanied wonderful conversations & any problem solving that we needed help with. This Bed & Breakfast was decorated in Classic style yet with all the modern bells & whistles of a fancy hotel. Gerusa was Great and was helpful with cabs, tours, airport drop-offs, etc. Pousada Casa Vila Bela . Gerusa was up early every morning to meet us for breakfast & made everybody feel wonderful . When in Salvador Bahia Brazil , the only place to stay is Pousada Casa Vila Bela - Thanks to Gerusa & Staff .......J. Malik Ismail Atlanta GA USA

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMAISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#47 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 110 in Salvador
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
3.2 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.5 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#9 of 110 in Salvador
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Vila Bela

Address: Rua do Carmo 64, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salvador
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $43 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Vila Bela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vila Bela is a charming bed and breakfast guesthouse, settled in a fully restored XIX century house in the Pelourinho, historical area of Salvador classified by Unesco World Cultural Heritage in 1985. Ideally located in Santo Antonio district, Casa Vila Bela guesthouse enjoys one of the most fantastic seaview scenery over "all the saints bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Casa Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Vila Bela Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing