We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pousada in Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a good stay in Pousada Casa Vila Bela. We stayed two nights in the Amazonia room with a nice spa.
Good location, and nice, big rooms.
Only the owner speaks english and is there during the morning / afternoon.
Breakfast was so-so, but a nice balcony to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 560 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Vila Bela is excellently placed, quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable. In additional the owners are exceptionally courteous and helpful (and speak good English and French), and the superb breakfast, on a beautiful balcony, much the best we had in Brazil.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top on the street side, which has its own secluded roof-terrace with hammocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Incredible welcoming reception from the owners and staff. Beautiful sea view feom our balcony. Great for watching cruise ships and festa.
Amazing breakfast, different
Glad we upgraded from our hostel to this luxurious treat.
Great escape from the busy streets.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sita-pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The pros: 1. the two owners, Gerusa and Stephane, friendly, forthcoming with facts, fabulous. On the way from the airport, Stephane made lighthearted and interesting conversation about Brazil in general and Bahia/ Salvador in particular, observations about the people, history, economy... On our last day before we left to move to a self-catering apartment, Gerusa offered to drive us to a fruit & veg market, which was utterly baffling but fun and a real adventure to us two novices. 2. The breakfast was amazing, slightly different every day (we stayed for 4 nights), pastries, good coffee, lots of fruit, fruit juices and the cook (who baked all those pastries!) always offered to make us scrambled eggs too. 3. The pousada itself: tastefully decorated, beautiful view, the rooms clean and interesting, all differently themed (we stayed in two, one with balcony, "Colonial" which was great and one in a tiny room themed as slave quarters, "Senzala", obviously much cheaper because of lack of view). In both cases we were not disappointed, the beds were firm, the rooms clean, the staff friendly and smiley - we were very impressed and hope that we were as good guests as Stephane and Gerusa were hosts. 4. The location - a stone's throw away from the bustle of Pelourinho, but quiet. And right next to the cable car and a lovely square with lots of little cafes that make delicious caipirinhas. What more could you need on a holiday in Salvador?

The cons: NONE. Someone mentioned that it's a shame wifi didn't extend to the bedrooms, but I can't really see that as a fault, my wifi doesn't extend to all rooms at home either! And in any case, I was there on holiday, not to be online all the time. And they provide a PC for guest use too, so checking email could be done easily!

Really really impressed and still grateful for the advice they gave us and the care they showed us. Thank you from both me & David!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Salvador is quite an experience - an edgy, colourful, exciting, intimidating city full of history and culture - the heart of Brazil's African heritage and a reminder of the slave trade that helped build the nation's economy. It's the kind of city you want to throw yourself into, but also have somewhere to escape to when the cornucopia of sensation threatens to overwhelm.

Pousada Casa Vila Bela is exactly the kind of place to do just that - situated in the historical Pelourinho area, a short walk from the major city centre sites but just far enough from the throng to allow for a decent siesta. It's a B&B-style affair with an airy and atmospheric foyer (with free internet access and wifi) and a few books to enjoy and a fantastic view over the Lower City and the bay from the breakfast room and balcony. Breakfast is a buffet with various cakey treats, fruit juice and breads, and feels fresh and a good start to the day.

Our room - the Suite Bahia de Todos os Santos - accommodates 4 people with lots of room to spare, with comfortable beds, a fantastic bathroom (you particularly appreciate warm showers after a few days in Manaus) and a safe for peace of mind. It's spotlessly clean, colourful and atmospheric with a nice brick finish, and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful (though if you're going on day tours to places like Praia de Forte it may be cheaper to organise them with a taxi driver directly than through the hotel). The front door is always locked, but there's always someone to let you in and out, and given that the Pelourinho can be a bit dicey you'll probably feel better for it. The street the pousada is on feels quiet and safe, and there are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars within a few moments walk, as well as the buzz of live music and the city's thriving bar-life. You're quite a distance from Barra - the beach / resorty area - so worth getting a taxi there rather than doing the long, and slightly sketchy, walk.

It's definitely worth taking the usual precautions in Salvador - you shouldn't feel unsafe, but there are muggings daily, and in plain view and daylight, so don't draw attention to yourself by wearing ANY jewellery or carrying a camera in full view. It's easy to forget, but you'll stop yourself from being an easy target, and it's worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I would like to recommend the Pousada Casa Vila Bela in Salvador which is very located in the old city and a few blocks away from the Pelourinho. Gerusa and Stephane the owners are wonderful hosts which go a long way to present the city and to help you organize your trip and plan your activities. The breakfast is also very special with local pastry and lots of fruits!
A great Brazilian experience with a nice French touch brought by Stephane!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones facing the sea and the lowland. Cheaper rooms do not have a real window but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediterraneovero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am disappointed that I can only give this Pousada a rating of four, instead of the full five stars. The fact is that this Pousada did everything in its control perfectly.

This hotel is a few very steep blocks from the old city (not suited for unfit people, hence my rating) and the neighborhood is not as polished. When I arrived, my family was shocked and initially wanted to move.

The owner initially told us that we could wait before paying. He subsequently recommended restaurants, suggested sites to see, arranged taxi rides and tours, explained the public transit system to us, and gave us instructions as needed. By the second day of our trip, we were glad to be there and could not imagine staying anywhere else. Pousada Villa Bella made our time to Salvador the highlight of our trip to Brazil.

Room Tip: The Bahia de Todos Santos room has a great view and small balcony. It is also somewhat large and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANCAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Pousada Colonial
Pousada Colonial
#47 of 110 in Salvador
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#3 of 110 in Salvador
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
3.2 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.5 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#5 of 110 in Salvador
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Vila Bela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Vila Bela

Address: Rua do Carmo 64, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador > Santo Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#7 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $43 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Casa Vila Bela 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Vila Bela is a charming bed and breakfast guesthouse, settled in a fully restored XIX century house in the Pelourinho, historical area of Salvador classified by Unesco World Cultural Heritage in 1985. Ideally located in Santo Antonio district, Casa Vila Bela guesthouse enjoys one of the most fantastic seaview scenery over "all the saints bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada Casa Vila Bela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casa Vila Bela Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing