We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 for a couple of nights. We arrived on a Tuesday having flown in from Rio and were a bit tired. We were persuaded by Ricardo and Gilles to go out in the evening and enjoy the Olodum drumming. A bit reluctant we managed to get up again after a nap and ventured out into the night. So glad we did - what an extraordinary experience! the drums so loud such great rhythms all the fantastic dancing and energy. We will never forget it. The old town is pretty and the cobbled street and old buildings are very atmospheric. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the main town which you reach by a strange elevator.
Anyway back to the hotel - I cannot fault the owner and the staff really helpful and cultured. The building is a labour of love for the owner and he has worked very hard to achieve a super interior design of warm colours and stylish furniture and object d'art. The only disappointment was I wanted to buy one of the small sculptures and someone beat me to it! Never mind maybe I will get another one on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Amarelindo. Ideal location right in the heart of Pelourinho.

Beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds and big bathrooms. Request a room with a view of the water. We originally had a room facing the street and were able to upgrade to an oceanview room and it was well worth it.

The owners are French and are very helpful with restaurant recommendations, things to do, etc. The tiny pool is perfect for an afternoon dip and the rooftop bar is a great place to unwind with a caparinha and soak in the fantastic view over the bay.

Breakfasts are huge and delicious, with a variety of juices, pastries, eggs and tropical fruits. A real treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicakahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

There are so many great things to mention about this hotel.
1. Location - In the middle of a historic city - can walk everywhere
2. The pool - It was so hot in December, that we would come back to the pool deck to relax in the afternoon. The view is stunning and it was just so peaceful
3. THe rooms are a good size and very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well
4. The food - we had Christmas dinner which was unbelievable. We are still talking about that dinner a month later. We decided to eat dinner the next night off the menu and it was very good
5. Breakfast is huge - with juices, fruit, coffee, eggs, breads, etc. I couldn't believe how much food we got and it was very tasty as well
6. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. They are helpful and just a really great group of people
Needless to say, we absolutely loved our stay here.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 and it was very nice. I didn't peak in any others so not sure if they were the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcook_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Shortly after arriving at Casa do Amarelindo and being very warmly welcomed, we were told that a group of drummers would be making their way, surrounded by dancers, right up the street outside the hotel a little later that evening. We opted for a quick bite at the hotel's restaurant - delicious - then made our way outside to join the festivities. This was a fabulous welcome. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally helpful - they did all they could to make our stay full of adventure and taking advantage of all Salvador has to offer. The hotel itself is beautiful. There is a book by reception that takes you through - using photographs and brief notes - the development of the enormous project, I really advise flicking through to appreciate all the hard work that went into this construction. The rooms are divine - beautiful linen, superb design, simply luxurious. Breakfast was fab too - very expansive and fresh. Out of the nine places my partner and I stayed on our trip around Brazil, this was the one that made us feel exceptionally well looked-after and bestowed with a first class experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nicely restored building with amazing rooms. Especially the beds are impressive, I don't think I have ever seen such a big bed anywhere else (not even in the States). We had a room with a view of the bay. The staff are great and managed to organise a guided tour for us for the next day at 9am even though we had nothing pre-booked. I loved the served breakfast and didn't miss a buffet at all. The roof top bar offers a great drinks and tapas menu and the sunset view is unbeatable. We also had dinner at the restaurant and did actually regret that we hadn't eaten there both nights! They also provide a very nicely done map of the area with a lot of useful tips and hints.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are nice and very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbeeZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Pelhourino. It is right in the centre, the rooms are stylish, and the staff friendly. We only ate breakfast there which was ok but not above average compared with places we have stayed elsewhere in Brazil

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We found this to be a lovely small hotel that was ideally situated to walk round the city. The hotel is in a grand historic building and makes good use of the existing structures/layout. Good size rooms with huge beds, large bathroom and a useful balcony area. Nice small pool area and roof top bar area and pleasant surroundings for tea/coffee or bar drink on the ground floor. Breakfast was more than ample but seemed to have a fixed selection - 2 juices, tea/coffee, fruit platter, bread, eggs.

Friendly and helpful staff who provided us with maps and an umbrella when we needed it. Although cars/taxis are not permitted to drive to the hotel, staff will help take baggage to/from the main square.

We did a walking tour of the city and loved it. The city has a great vibe at night with food and music but there are areas to avoid because of drugs etc. We also did a driving trip to Praia do Forte and Tamar turtle reserve - a worthwhile and interesting trip but it takes a lot of time driving in and out of the city because of traffic jams. if you can, combine this trip with your departure from the airport as you will need to use the same road out.

Room Tip: The higher floors have bigger balconies and seem to be more private
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 110 in Salvador
537 reviews
Villa Bahia
#7 of 110 in Salvador
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa do Amarelindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa do Amarelindo

Address: Rua das Portas do Carmo 06 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-290, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#3 Family Hotel in Salvador
#11 Business Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $126 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa do Amarelindo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme in a fully restored XIXth colonial house in the very heart of Pelourinho, facing All Saints' Bay. Sunny swimming pool and panoramic roof-terrace. 10 High standard rooms with luxury bedding, 1 gastronomic restaurant, 2 bars, 1 solarium, 1 fitness. All rooms with full sound insulation, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free broad-band internet access, free electronic safe, 42''LED TV, DVD, frigo-bar. Most rooms with private terrace or balcony with bay or city view. Free WiFi at restaurant, lobby and garden-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa do Amarelindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador
Casa Do Amarelindo Hotel
Hotel Casa Do Amarelindo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing