We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy - will do for 2 nights”
Review of Pousada do Pilar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada do Pilar
Ranked #58 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy - will do for 2 nights”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Located in historical side of town, so good for sight seeing. This isn't a hotel with too many luxuries. It is just a cosy bed and breakfast. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained! They have around 2 laptops which you can use if you want to check email etc (free of cost). Loved the breakfast floor which had good views. They have about 4 - 5 fresh items for breakfast, not too lavish but fine by us. I met only two of the staff at front desk - a lady during the day shift and a gentleman in the evening shift. Both were very very friendly and helpful. Would have been nice if they atleast served dinner - because the area didn't seem very tourist friendly. We were a bit nervous to step out at night. I'm sure it is safe - the hotel staff convinced us that as long as we don't carry valuables (huge cameras etc.) we'll be fine. I guess if you want to stay in a touristy location you have to pick one of the beach side hotels, where you can go for walks by yourself without getting strange looks from people. To summarize - the hotel itself was good. The area was just ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_cornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    55
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
17
68
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This charming pousada in a quiet street has clever designed rooms. Most rooms have lovely balconies with a great bayview. The staff is very kind and helpful, most speak English. And they offer all day long excellent coffee in their beautiful, spacious lobby. Wifi works fine and is free.
The good (basic) breakfast is served at the rooftop with an even better bay- and cityview. The sound inside the very slow elevator reminded us (with a smile) of the Doctor Who police box.
It is not easy to find a good and strategic located pousada in the Pelourinho, the most interesting part of Salvador. Pousada do Pilar, where we stayed for five days, is probably your best option in the midrange category. The location is not ideal, because the main square in Pelourinho is a 10 min. walk, and the going is steep down hill and up again to visit the centre of Pelourinho. If that´s a problem, you can take a taxi. You have to use them often if you want to explore 'down town' Salvador (Bonfim church, beaches, museums). Remember always to look at the taximeter that should show a display with a 1 during daytime (06.00 - 21.00). Otherwise you pay the more 'expensive' nightrate (2). Safety in suspicious neighborhoods is another reason to take a taxi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Speaking as an experienced world traveler and a repeat visitor to Brazil, I found the Pousada do Pilar to be one of the worst stays I've had anywhere on the planet. Not because of the accommodations, which were better than average, or because of the location, which was okay though not spectacular. I'm white and my girlfriend is black. I speak fluent Portuguese, but it was her first trip to Brazil so she was at the entry level with the language. We're from the U.S. and are not strangers to funny looks and worse from intolerant strangers. I'm also fairly aware of the forms racism takes in Brazil, and that the image of a black woman (who happens to look like a Bahiana) and a white man creates certain assumptions in some Brazilians' minds. But we weren't prepared for what happened at this pousada.

Arriving at the pousada door after a Saturday night out, we were let in by the portero on night duty. I told him in a clear voice what room we were staying in, so that he could give us the room key. He immediately informed me in a very stiff manner that "irregular persons are not allowed in the pousada" (a literal translation of what he said). I suspected racism right away, and asked him what he was talking about. He repeated himself and said I'd have to pay extra to bring a 'guest' in. Which told me two things: 1) he assumed my girlfriend was a prostitute, and 2) they seem to allow this kind of thing at the pousada. I told him he was being very offensive and racist, and that this was my wife (in Brazil there are two definitions of 'wife/husband', one of which is a kind of common-law version when two people live together). I think my vehemence in confronting him caused him to rethink, because he then shuffled some papers on the desk and said he'd confused me with another single guest who was staying at the pousada. This in spite of the fact that I'd clearly stated upon entry what room we were in. I again told him he was racist and that I'd be speaking with the manager. He denied the racism, claiming it was a case of mistaken identity. We got the same song and dance from the manager the next day, and NO APOLOGY FROM THE POUSADA OF ANY KIND, which didn't surprise me much since the manager and the doorman had clearly gotten their stories coordinated. Though not surprised, this denial only added insult to our injury.

I would say these people need to learn how to run a business at the very least. Amateur and parochial. Minus five stars.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank ConsciousP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlandia, MG
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I remained for almost a week at Pousada do Pilar with my wife while traveling in my honeymoon. The stay was good, the staff is very polite and helpful, they gave us lots of tips about where to go and how to go. Even Pelourinho is not a quiet and clean place to be, it's a postal card from Salvador. The Pousada do Pilar has few rooms, but all of them seems to be perfect to take some rest and enjoy your trip in the capital of Bahia state.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tvsoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at Pousada do Pilar for 3 nights in Jan 2011 with two very young children. We arrived late night from the Amazon and as soon as we came to our room - we were delighted. It was large and open and we had a giant balcony. We had one of the suites with the ocean view and there were two extra beds for the children and there was just so much room for the kids to run around! We loved it!

We were picked up at the airport by the pousada driver and as we were driving up to the Pelo` I started having doubts about my choice so I had my fingers crossed. But the pousada is so charming. They serve breakfast on the terrace, and its a really nice continental breakfast. The ladies are very sweet. They even did our laundry (hand-washed!!!), we saw them drying from our balcony.

Its a little bit away from the main square but we did the walk quite easily carrying our babies so its not that big a deal! Cabs are easily available. Beware of taking cabs though, there are many one ways and cabs will happily take you for a ride around town once they know you're a tourist!

Oh, the best thing about this pousada is Filipe. I was already impressed with him by the efficiency of his replies to my various requests by email. But he is just the most helpful, polite and friendly person. He even drove us to the Barra in his brand new car. He was always full of advice and recommendation, and spent an hour on the phone, translating for my husband, confirming the rest of our trip! He is very nice!

I saw the last two reviews about the linen and mattress -we did not have the same issues but may be they stayed in a different room. We found the room very comfortable with a great view of the bay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelomnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mérida, Venezuela
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

When travelling I'm happy if my accommodation offers three basic things: a comfortable bed to have a good rest, a clean decent bathroom to clean up, and a good breakfast to start the day the right way. If the place is nice and well located, that's a plus but not a requirement. The bed I had in this pousada was a complete disaster: the mattress was collapsed, the sheets were so small that hardly could cover the mattress, leaving me in plain contact with hundreds of previous users, and the pillows smelled, badly. So, although most of what is said about this place is true: location, decoration, etc., for me, if I can't get a good sleep, it is unacceptable and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlutxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pilar. Can recomend without hesitation.
The rundown;
The Pelourinho is the ancient part of the city and is in the process of being restored. The Pilar has been completely redone and is gorgeous. The drive through the Pelourinho made me nervous at first but I was completly won over after being there only a few minutes.
The staff was awesome. Filipe went far above and beyond for us on many occasions and made our entire stay amazing, as well as arranged for us a great getaway for a few days at their sister Pousada in Morro de Sao Palao. The cleaning staff and front desk staff were all great, but Filipe made the trip memorable.
The rooms are HUGE for South America standards. We had a view of the ocean with a verranda that made us not want to leave the room. We often ended the evening with some wine on the verranda watching the view. The bathrooms are big and updated and there is a couch and wardrobe. The only thing I had an issue with was the bed and the linens. The bed was much too firm but what really gets me personallly is the linens. The sheets were gauze like and there was no mattress pad between the sheets and mattress so you feel the mattress. This is my pet peeve and didnt seem to bother my partner but if you are a bed guy like me it can be disturbing. (I travelled weekly for work for 3 years and am a bed snob, this is mostly my issue but the property could spend some money on the final touch to complete the transformation)
Breakfast is served on the roof with sweeping views of the bay. The food is typical continental with lots of breads, cakes, fruits and some meats and cheese. There is fresh juice and coffee.
It is a bit of a walk to the closed off pedestrian portion of the Pelourinho and there are hills. Its not a big deal but be prepared. The staff gives great recomendations for food and we even just did a shot in the dark a few times with amazing results.
Stay here, no doubt. Cannot recomend higly enough. Only issue for me was the beds and linens.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada Villa Carmo
#84 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Pousada des Arts
#50 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#18 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Hotel Cruz do Pascoal
#44 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#86 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Pilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Pilar

Property: Pousada do Pilar
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 24, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Pilar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Salvador, this beautifully decorated inn overlooks Baía de Todos os Santos Bay. Its colonial building provides guests with spacious rooms featuring city and sea views. Rooms at Pousada do Pilar have all been restored. With high ceilings and traditional décor, each includes a TV, air conditioning, a minibar and a safety deposit box. Free Wi-Fi is provided too. Breakfast is served on Pousada do Pilar's rooftop terrace. Guests can enjoy regional items while admiring panoramic bay views. The hotel is right in front of the bay. The neighborhood Santo Antonio Além do Carmo is a great choice for travellers interested in architecture, history and old town exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pousada do Pilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Pilar Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing