We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Colonial
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely place, well situated in the historical center, and above all, Diana & Sandro, who take care of everyting you.
We were there initally for 3 days, but finally stayed 3 extra days !
Taxi station nearby, Capoera center at the end of the corner, Restaurant by 10 mn walk.

Room Tip: Au deuxième étage pour les familles de 4...super pratique !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Marc Juhel Family,

Thank you for takng the time to write this nice review to the Pousada Colonial. we really appreciated that.
Hope see you and your family in your next vocation!!!

The Colonial Team is saying HI!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in this super charming pousada in Salvador, Brazil. We had an experience we'll never forget, not only because we spent our honeymoon in Brazil, but because of the great service and great experiences we received from the employees at Pousada Colonial. The moment we arrived, I felt very comfortable and very welcome. In fact, as we returned to the pousada each night, I felt like I was coming home. The staff at Pousada Colonial are unbeatable. They bend over backwards for their customers not because it is good business, but because they are genuinely great people. They assisted us daily to find our way around town, find great restaurants (try Jardim das Delicias--you won't regret it!), and they even helped us coordinate a last minute trip to Morro de Sao Paulo at 2AM!

My husband and I looked forward to the breakfast each morning. The eating area is so pleasant, the food tastes AMAZING, and the service is beyond compare. (I can't stress that enough.) We also found that our room and our bathroom were left immaculate each day. Though we stayed at Pousada Colonial for our honeymoon, I would recommend the pousada for any and every kind of traveler. The pousada was completely booked for several of the nights that we were there, which speaks of the pousada's desirability.

Before we came, we read in a few other reviews for other nearby pousada's that the area was "unsafe" and a "dangerous part of town." However, I felt incredibly safe the whole trip. The Pousada Colonial is in an excellent location and there are so many police officers who patrol the area and surrounding neighborhoods.

All in all, I don't think we could have made a better decision than to stay at the Pousada Colonial. There really is no better option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Hi Madson and Oi Masaki,

Wow!!!! The Pousada Colonial Team is saying: Thank you so much for this amazing review!!!! Muito obrigado!!!! We hope see you in your next vocation, peharps in your first anniversary!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked two rooms on-line, but one booking was lost by the booking company.... The hotel staff offered us our choice of a second room making sure that we didn't pay more than we were originally expecting. (In the end, I took the two story suite for a small add-on) The rooms were very nice (the pictures are quite representative...) The staff were very friendly and addressed us by name each morning and evening. The offered us help and advice and asked how things were going many times. They were perfect. We enjoyed very much. The location is great, a short walk to many sites or the tour bus to take you around town. We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: The second floor has a room with small balcony, but also opens to the large shared balcony.... most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Mr. John,
The Pousada Colonial Team is saying thank you so much for the amazing review. And we hope that have you as estimated guest in the future, when you come back to Salvador.

Thank you so much,

Colonial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This pousada is located in this beautiful historical building . My children and I stayed on the third floor in the garden view room. The room was clean and had A/C. The breakfast was very good and they will cook your egg to order. Diana and Sandro are perfect hosts, they go out of their way to make you feel at home. Diana booked a private tour guide for us, Luis, who is very knowledgeable and spoke fluent English. Both are very attentive to our every needs. I o definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Salvador.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

The Pousada Colonial Team are saying: Thank you so much for the amazing review. Hope see you and your family another time as a estimated guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Simple, elegant rooms furnished in a traditional style with an authentic feel. Comfortable bed, decent shower, patchy wifi connection. Our room (2nd floor front) opened onto the communal balcony that none of the other guests went on, so felt like our own!

Adequate buffet breakfast with local baked goods, fruits and eggs done to order. Located a short walk from old town Salvador.

During Carnival, teams practice in the street outside, which adds to the traditional atmosphere.

Good base to explore Salvador

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor room at the front for direct access to balcony where you can sit and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffiths-Dryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Gerente at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Hi Mr. Dryland,

Thank you so much for your review. We´re going to do our best to improving our wi-fi conection, actually, we alredy changed the devices and everything is all better now. The Colonial Team looking forward to have you as a estimated guest again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This small hotel was booked for us by Ivan who lives in Salvador and helped organise our few days in Salvador. It is a very beautiful and historic building. The room was OK but there was no safe, bedside lights or hot water which is why I have described it as only OK. Breakfast was good and served on a very pretty terrace. Free wi-fi but only really worked for me in reception. Staff were friendly and spoke enough English.
It is within a few minutes walk of the Pelhourino. Ivan had rather frightened my wife with alarming warnings about security and so we took a taxi back after dinner. The rest of the time we walked around the town and never felt uneasy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for the coment. We really appreciatte it. We do have a safe for our the guest in our reception, sorry if we didn't give you this information. Hope we can do better service if you plan to come back to Salvador anytime, please let us try to give a better stay. thank you so much for yuor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

There's a couple that run this place, Xander and Diane. They greeted us at 1am when we arrived at the hotel after a long flight from Sao Paolo with a warm welcome but gave us our space as they could see we were very tired, helping us with the check-in, carrying our luggage etc. While this is not by any means a 5* hotel it certainly is a boutique hotel. There is eye catching art work every where you look, high ceilings with beams probably salvaged from a ship somewhere and a lovely breakfast area. The upstairs part of the hotel also has a breakout lounge where guests can chill out and watch the world go by.
The Hotel is extremely safe and in a safe area with locals going up and down the street regularly. It is a five minute walk from the Fort and ten minute walk from the town centre.
The hosts Diane and Xander are always willing to give their time to provide ideas as to what you could do around town and useful facts but of course this is no substitute for taking one's own initiative and exploring!
There ar eabout 15 different dishes to chose from for breakfast, three different types of breads, three different types of cakes, juices, cereals, jams, honey, milk,delicious brazilian coffee and a selection of meats and cheeses of course the poached eggs that Diane makes! :)
Good value for money, top notch location and if you're lucky they may even offer to take you to the airport on the day you leave!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammone40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Pousada Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hi Sammone,

First of all thank you for being our guest!!!! The Pousada Colonial team thanks you so much for the amazing review. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#18 of 110 in Salvador
562 reviews
Pousada Villa Carmo
#82 of 110 in Salvador
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
210 reviews
Pousada des Arts
#50 of 110 in Salvador
178 reviews
Pousada do Pilar
#56 of 110 in Salvador
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Colonial

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 368 | Santo Antonio Alem Do Carmo/ Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $37 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Colonial is located in the beautiful Historic Center of Salvador. Since 2003, the Pousada preserve has offered something unique to experience in Salvador. Removed from modern tourism, the classic style of Brasil is all around. In an old townhouse you can feel the charm and elegance of colonial times. All the while taking advantage of the conveniences of the modern world. Our customers are attracted by the unmatched style and the ease of being located next to Pelourinho, the heart of Salvador and near other cultural and tourist spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Colonial Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing