We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sweet Little Bouique Hotel is a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada do Boqueirao
Ranked #2 of 154 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“The Sweet Little Bouique Hotel is a Gem!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Yes, it is a sweet little Boutique Hotel with 15 rooms in the middle of the very old and historic part of Salvador. The rooms are authentic in portoguese style, we had a room with an air condition but despite the high temperature and humidity we were happy with the fan at the ceiling. The staff is very friendly and the service is great. You cannot get a better breakfast in a small hotel like this, it is really the signature of the lady who organises this pretty place. The hotel is actually accommodated in two of the historic houses. Yes, it is authentic, it is organic, grown and not constructed on a drawing board. Almost like a small museum. It is clean and comfortable. It may need some bit of renovvation in some areas in the near future.

Now, we arrived late from the airport in the dark, driving throught the outskirts of the city which gave a very bad initial impression of a dirty harbour town, than approaching the old historic city of Salvador, still dark, bad roads, getting really scared ofthe neighbourhood. I could not believe it when our driver stopped the car in a very poor looking street at night, just like in the poorest quarter of a dark town in the 19th century. Where are the bandits? These were first impressions.

Once in the sweet Pousada, we felt much better because of the welcoming friendlyness of the people. Next day we wandered around all this area, and at night time we were happy to stroll along the roads to the may bars, cafe's and restaurants.

Last impression. Don't get scared when arriving at night. The sun will shine in you heart next day and you will really love it. It is pure and real and sweet. There is evev the consulate of The Neatherlands in the same street. A fully recommendable stay.

Room Tip: Try room number 3 on top of the Pousada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    48
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
105
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This Pousada is a great place to stay while visiting Salvador. It is close to the main attractions in the old city, has comfortable rooms and a truly fantastic breakfast. I have travelled quite a bit, and this breakfast is the best I have ever had at a hotel - and it's included in the price! Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean, which was a comfortable bonus. The rest of the Pousada is also really nice, with interesting design details and the staff is both friendly and helpful. They also have a small restaurant where we ate a quick meal before heading to the airport. The Pousada also reliably organized our airport transfers. Only complaint was that the airconditioning was really loud, however, no big deal. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

we spent a 3 day stay in early May at the pousada, to begin we were 2 of only 6 guests which meant that it felt a little empty but very nice to be looked after.We found it clean and comfortable, its positioned very well for exploring. The only downside is that there aren't many interesting resturants close to the pousada, a short walk away there is a resturant called The Bistro Pele which is worth a visit.
Everyone is quite right breakfast is a highlight and the staff make your stay a very pleasant one.
The rooms are a little small, but you have to remember that this was an old house in an old area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

It has been a pleasure to spend 4 nights in pousada boqueirao. Full of character, details, clean, charming, sea views, in the middle of O carmo-pelhurinho... Excellent service and, as everybody agrees, with the best breakfast in both hemispheres!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xesco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Pousada Do Boqueirao was one of the highlights of our trip around Brazil. I note that most "fellow trip advisors" have commented on the breakfast and I will be no different - its exceptional. Freshly baked goodies comprising of both sweet and savoury treats are set out beautifully every morning along with a variety of fresh fruits, cold cuts and cheeses and the setting is most certainly commensurate with the quality of the food. A great deal of effort has clearly been made to modernise yet not move too far away from the original structure of the building and in my opinion they've succeeded. There's an honesty and a homeliness about the pousada that is a testament to Nino, the General Manager and his staff's work. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The location:
Few minutes from Pelourinho in the Rua Sant Antonio direita, which is the extension of the main street of Pelourinho towards south. We felt safe walking at home even by night, leaving our handbags and credit cards in the safe, taking only the most necessary money on the walk, but the last few hundred meters are quite abandoned at night and may give the feeling of discomfort for some trvelling alone (we were four adults)
The pousada:
Two old houses built together, renovated with a great sense for style and tradition, decorated with remarkable artwork all over the house. Breakfast is served on a big terrace with a great view over the harbor and the bay, where you also can watch the sunset. The house and the rooms are spotlessly clean. We had the luxury room with a spacious terrace with a beautiful view over the roofs of the quarters San Antonio and Pelourinho, the room itself was on two levels with a sleeping and a living area, equipped with well-functioning Aircon and fan.
The breakfast:
The greatest breakfast we had on our last two trips in Brazil, uniting the best of Italian and Brazilian tradition. They serve various fresh fruits, fresh squeezed pure fruit juice, 3-4 different kind of bread, ham cheese and one day even Italian salami of good quality, different Brazilian and Italian pastries, cereals, fresh scrambled eggs on demand.
The service:
The Italian owner (or brother of the owner?) speaks fluently Portuguese, Spanish and English, always friendly, he helped us with many practical advices like where to go out for lunch, transport to our next stop in Morro de Sao Paolo etc. Also all the other members of the staff were helpful in every situation, attentive and always with a smile on their faces. A sympathetic detail is, that the pousada gives everything from the breakfast buffet which has not been eaten by the guests to poor families living in the favela near by

All in all will you find an extremely well-driven pousada with sense for style, art, service and a bit luxury, the prices of R$ 210 for a standard double room (which are still spacious) and R$ for 310 for our luxury room is absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aarhustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Breakfast, as everybody says, is excellent. A wide choice just be aware that they add a lot of salt to the eggs. The main problem is no air conditioning - ceiling fans only. Although there's a nice breeze most of the time on the balcony where you have breakfast, it still gets humid. Also, there's nothing to cool you down going up the steep stairs to the first, second and third floor rooms. Nor does the room ceiling fan cool down the bathroom aired only by a tiny open grate into the bedroom. The bathroom does not have a knob to open and close the door. The staff are amiable and accommodating and the main floor is decorated with charming craftwork but rooms are very plain.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,078 reviews
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
530 reviews
Villa Bahia
#7 of 111 in Salvador
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 111 in Salvador
557 reviews
Bahiacafe Hotel
#16 of 111 in Salvador
611 reviews
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#32 of 111 in Salvador
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Boqueirao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Boqueirao

Property: Pousada do Boqueirao
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 48, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Boqueirao 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pousada do Boqueirao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Boqueirao Hotel Salvador
Pousada Do Boqueirao Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing