We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Solar do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar do Carmo
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nestled just 5 minutes from the Pelorhino section of Salvador. It is beautiful in it's simple, artsy charm - beautiful art throughout. The staff, especially, Alvaro at the front desk and atelier Flavia go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. Great breakfast every morning! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulas373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

After paying for the room through an online booking service, I was confused about whether I would have a water view, and two beds for me and my friend. The staff and owner at Solar do Carmo made sure we had both, and provided us with the best room in the house, on the top floor (Room 501). Like most buildings in the historic district, there is no elevator, which was no issue for us, but might be for others.

Breakfast is delicious, with lots of variety, and best of all, it's an opportunity to chat with one of the owners who is an artist whose art decorates the hotel. She is a charming ambassador for Salvador, and provided us with maps and careful descriptions of her favorite spots in Pelourinho and other usually unexplored neighborhoods. All of her recommendations were great, and it was interesting to have a conversation with this informed and expressive person about topics ranging from politics to literature.

The hotel staff are very sweet and attentive. The hotel's location, while not in the heart of Pelourinho, is right on its outskirts, and is easy walking distance. Very highly recommended and a reasonable price for cleanliness, comfort and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatinAmTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the first time I've ever actually written a review - despite using Trip Advisor all the time to choose hotels. I decided to make an exception on this occasion, as we had such a wonderful stay at Solar do Carmo.

It's 5 minutes walk from the centre of the historic town and is a little haven! Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast with fresh juices, cakes, fruit etc. along with all the usual cereal/toast. You can also have eggs made to order.

Levi and Flavia both speak perfect English (very unusual in Brazil) and are feasts of information on things to do in Salvador and the surrounding areas. Make sure you go to see Oludum live (on Tuesdays). It's free and they're absolutely fantastic! You'll get a real feel for Salvador.

Also, make sure you get a sea view. The best rooms are 401 and 402 (we ended up staying in both, as we stayed on longer than expected and 401 was booked out). There is no lift, but the walk up 3 flights is more than made up for by the view and the quiet! Also, 402 has it's own little private balcony to sunbathe on!

We made the mistake of booking another hotel by the beach when we went back to Salvador (already booked before we left the UK) and massively regretted it. The beaches aren't worth being further away from the historical centre and are easy enough to visit separately. Don't base yourself there. you'll regret it!

All in all, a fantastic, quirky hotel. Clean, bright, lovely breakfasts and really helpful, friendly staff. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are 401 and 402 (we ended up staying in both, as we stayed on longer than expected an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This family run hotel exceeded our expectations.We loved staying in this historic section of Salvador.Rooms were spacious and clean.Well worth the extra cost to have a balcony and sea view.Exceptional breakfast.The hotel is loving decorated with art.The owners were extremely helpful and were always willing to recommend a museum to visit and would often draw a map.Highly recommend .

Room Tip: request room on top with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraser m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose to stay in the Solar do Carmo because we wanted a different experience having stayed in some ordinary tower block type hotels. We weren't disappointed. It is located in a street of partly renovated colonial houses and even though the area appears a little run down you get a great surprise when you enter the main lobby. It is charming and well appointed in the style of a traditional pousada. We were welcomed by friendly staff who spoke English and helped us plan our stay. We had room 201 under the cafe terrace. It was simply furnished but spacious and had all we required. It also had a nice balcony overlooking the bay. Breakfasts were included in the price and we particularly enjoyed the freshly prepared omelettes and the sticky cakes! Free internet access is provided in the lobby and in some wifi hot spots but didn't quite reach our room. Security is always an issue in Salvador and we were given advice on where not to go. The whole historic area is heavily policed but we never felt threatened or uncomfortable. However we always took taxis at night even though the main area is only a fairly short walk away (but up and down steep cobbled streets!) The Solar do Carmo is certainly a good choice and good value for this type of accommodation and I would really recommend it for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosita061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hhaving to overnight in Salvador en route from Morro de Sao Paulo to Amsterdam
we chose this place as being near the historic centre. It did not disappoint.
Friendly welcome, knowledgeable host. Really varied and good breakfast. Lovely balcony with superb views provided you look beyond the dock area! Very nice and spacious room.
A bit noisy at night as single glazed and gaps between sections of french windows allowed in traffic noise from below. But that's a bit unfair applying N.Europe standards as have slept in noisier gites rurales.
Owner organised early taxi to airport and provided wine and beer on call.
The centre was indeed 5 minutes away so well located.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Short walk from the town centre (old quarters) is a cute and cosy boutique hotel with tidy and bright room. The hotel staff was very friendly and useful. They even advised us which road to avoid at night. The pool is a little small (more like a jacuzzi) but was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausvetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada des Arts
#49 of 110 in Salvador
173 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#48 of 110 in Salvador
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Pilar
#59 of 110 in Salvador
139 reviews
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#81 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 110 in Salvador
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar do Carmo

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 108, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $56 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hospedagem no Solar do Carmo tem um estilo unico . Primeiro, por sua arquitetura que preservou as caracteristicas do passado acrescentando um projeto arquitetonico moderno e original. Um exemplo e a escada helicoidal metalica contrastando com as paredes em tijolos antigos aparentes. O aconchego do hotel tambem se deve muito a sua estrutura fisica. Outra forte marca do Solar do Carmo e a vista espetacular de 180 graus da Baia de Todos os Santos. O deck-bar, onde e servido o cafe da manha e onde funciona o restaurante e um verdadeiro mirante para essa mistica baia. Ao final da tarde acontece o happy hour com por do sol . Uma boa hora para aproveitar a hidromassagem do pequeno spa para relaxar depois de um dia repleto de passeios e bons momentos. O hotel localiza-se na Rua Direita de Santo Antonio, famosa por cultivar as raizes historicas da cidade, tanto culturalmente, atraves de manifestacoes religiosas, festas e eventos, como arquitetonicamente, com casaroes e sobrados com cerca de 300 anos de idade. Antiga residencia de familias nobres e funcionarios publicos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing