We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money, great kitchen (both breakfast and supper)”
Review of Solar do Carmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar do Carmo
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed August 29, 2011

After 15 days in Brazil this hotel, which on paper was our most dubious reserve, was by far the best. The fact that we had room 201, which is probably one of the biggest (we were three persons) and has a direct view of the bay, probably a topper.

In this boutique hotel we were looked after by Clara, the mother of the owner. She helped us define how to sightsee Salvador, were to go, gave us information were we could eat, where we could see typical Salvador dances,... any info we asked, or did not ask was provided by her.

It was me who after tasting an excellent breakfast buffet, asked if we could have supper in the hotel. Of course! was the reply, but I don't like to push you coming to have supper here... I rather give you other choices, if you come back you are welcome.

Ernesto's supper was excellent. Good raw material, excellent cooking, one of our best meals in our 15 day visit to Brazil.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

This small hotel is located just at the outskirts of Pelourinho with easy access to this historic and beautiful old part of Salvador. Nice reception area, fantastic breakfast with homemade bread, marmelade and cookies and a lovely terrasse with a great view of the bay where you get awesome caipirinhas - 2 for the price of 1 between 5-7 pm. Good atmosphere, English speaking staff with Flavia asking you every morning if you are OK and what your plans are for the day. She will give you good advice on sites, restaurants and "do's and don'ts" in Salvador where you have to be careful what you do and where you walk - especially at night. Good cooking at the hotel but try some of the restaurants in the Pelourinho too. Rooms are OK however with a small bathroom and a little worn-out furniture. But all in all a very recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottrup_friis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is an example of expectations not meeting reality, as this hotel was wildly different from what I expected! To begin, when we arrived at the hotel from the airport, the neighborhood (which was supposedly in the Historic District) was so run-down and shabby that the cab driver was reluctant to let us out of the cab, and did not want to leave us in the hotel. The front door was locked; we had to ring to be admitted. To my husband, this was a very bad sign! The men at the desk were pleasant, and we were led to our room. The room was very small, with windows that faced a brick wall and did not open (probably with good reason!). We were pleased, though, that the room did have a safe. The lock on the door was a little sliding device like you would use on a cupboard - not at all secure. I was eager to walk to the Historic District, which was my reason for visiting, so we obtained a map at the desk and got good information - do not venture off this main road, and do not go down side streets or alleys. Hmmm...not very safe-sounding! And then we were required to leave our room key at the desk. This did not appeal to us at all.
We walked (about 15- 20 minutes through some unsettling territory!) to the Historic District. There we saw the squares and churches and many people trying to sell us things. So, by the evening, my husband was quite ready to leave this area and proceed to somewhere a little safer. Since we had made reservations through booking.com for 3 nights, I went on the internet to booking.com and cancelled our remaining nights. We spent the night and told our host in the morning that we were checking out. This was not good. We were informed that we still owed this second night because we were not abiding by our contract. My husband was ready to pay any price to leave, and so we agreed. When we got home, I emailed booking.com about the contract and charges. While booking.com advertised they did not collect money up front, the hotel had already received payment for half of our stay in advance. Also, my understanding of the cancellation policy was apparently in error, but I think that is because it is not al at clear. I must say that booking.com did attempt to get the hotel to refund our payment for the second night, but the hotel refused. I would not recommend this hotel, and I will not be using booking.com again, either.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you are looking for a confortable place,quite,very close to Pelorourinho, but not in the mess of the tourist crowd; If you are looking for delicious home made breakfast in the morning, relaxing tips on what to do and to see in Salvador; clever suggestion on where to have dinner at night... that's the place !
The staff will wellcome you and make you confortable like at home. Flavia & Stefano are very nice on making your stay @ Solar do Carmo an unique experience.
Strongly recommended. language spoken: English, Portuguese, Spanish and Italian.
For those that do not have orgnanized tour of the city in advance we also recommend the taxi driver Israel >> Fun and enjoyment are guaranteed.

Room Tip: Quite, Clea, all conforts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefaniag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel is in the centre of the city, which is great but some details make it far from perfect.
The rooms are not really clean (there were stains on the sheet and, although they changed ours, there were still stains on the other ones). The bathroom is not very practical : everytime you take a shower, there is water all over the floor. And, there were ants in the cakes for breakfast.
The hotel is overpriced actually.
However, the staff is really helpful and the atmosphere is quite nice. We would have loved our stay if the price was not so high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Had to decide between staying in OLD or NEW Salvador. Glad we have ultimately chosen this small, lovely hotel in the Pelourinho. Was drawn to the pictures of the reception area and others showing creative work of the owner. Flavias (owner) daily breakfast talks and map-drawings was top of the range personal attention making our stay in Salvador so pleasant and hassle free. Would return any time. Thank you Stefano and Flavia and staff. And not to forget, breakfast was superb, the roof-top-pool with views splendid and Wifi-reception throughout the hotel wonderful! Thanks again from Africa do Sul!

Room Tip: Go for the best!......the bayview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTrevoyans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is nice, very clean, with a good breakfast (bread and sweets made by the owner), and a nice view of bay of "Todos os Santos". A little walk from Pelourinho (5 minutes). Nice and calm, with very good double caipirinhas from 5pm till 7pm (you ask for one and get the second fro free) at the swimming pool (more a jacuzzi than a pool). The hotel restaurant is very good, but with few regional meals, and at a good price.
The only point down is the internet connection. Very bad, and most of the time not working. Also, the room besides the restaurant is noisy in the morning, but after the second night sleeping there we didn´t notice it so much...

Room Tip: Ak to not stay at the room close to the hotel´s restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor-schliemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Pousada des Arts
#49 of 110 in Salvador
173 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#48 of 110 in Salvador
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Pilar
#59 of 110 in Salvador
139 reviews
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#81 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 110 in Salvador
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar do Carmo

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 108, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $56 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar do Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hospedagem no Solar do Carmo tem um estilo unico . Primeiro, por sua arquitetura que preservou as caracteristicas do passado acrescentando um projeto arquitetonico moderno e original. Um exemplo e a escada helicoidal metalica contrastando com as paredes em tijolos antigos aparentes. O aconchego do hotel tambem se deve muito a sua estrutura fisica. Outra forte marca do Solar do Carmo e a vista espetacular de 180 graus da Baia de Todos os Santos. O deck-bar, onde e servido o cafe da manha e onde funciona o restaurante e um verdadeiro mirante para essa mistica baia. Ao final da tarde acontece o happy hour com por do sol . Uma boa hora para aproveitar a hidromassagem do pequeno spa para relaxar depois de um dia repleto de passeios e bons momentos. O hotel localiza-se na Rua Direita de Santo Antonio, famosa por cultivar as raizes historicas da cidade, tanto culturalmente, atraves de manifestacoes religiosas, festas e eventos, como arquitetonicamente, com casaroes e sobrados com cerca de 300 anos de idade. Antiga residencia de familias nobres e funcionarios publicos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing