We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location”
Review of Hotel Cocoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon
Ranked #72 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
argentina buenos aires
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bad location”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel is small, the location is not so good, only for one night is fine.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You are absolutely right: we are a small hotel. But t I don’t agree with you about our locations.
We are on the best beach of Salvador at only 8 km from the airport. Really in our district we haven’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha.
So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the review. Best regards.

Pielruigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    98
    65
    20
    15
See reviews for
36
118
25
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

As a former manager for a luxury international hotel chain, I feel qualified to leave this review:

The pluses: Warm staff, great food on the restaurant menu & for breakfast, close to beach, a relaxed ambiance, good music, nice pool, and a very international clientele the week I went.

The minuses: Went during Carnival & didn't realize distance from the historic district of Pelourinho -- it cost 30 USD each way in a taxi & it was 40 min. ride -- a little dangerous when drivers are taking you through some sketchy areas at night. Only one person on staff spoke English during our stay, and she did not work every day. I read reviews on TripAdvisor while staying there & noticed that the owner commented on this fact to other reviewers. but the truth is that during even the busy week of Carnival, there were no regular English-speakers on staff. Ants were also a problem.

The hotel needs to do a better job in their in-room literature on resources nearby in several languages for guests (a nearby supermarket, a shuttle to the mall, possible restaurants close by, etc.). I learned of several of these things near the end of my stay only by chatting with other guests.

I'd recommend this place for any tourists as an antidote to the hustle & bustle of the compact Pelourinho area for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reeniebeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is one of the most useful , real end objective on our Cocoon.
You have absolutely right : we have problem to find workers who speak English, but in the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
Also about the location you have partially right. Our district has’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha. So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the helpful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pielruigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Salvador while living in Sao Paulo. The hotel is wonderful. The staff incredibly helpfu and friendly. The food was wonderful, especially the bruschetta. The rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ultra modern. The pool nice. My only concern is that there isn't much for restaurants and other things in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MplsTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the good review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We're assuming that the theme of this hotel is based on the movie cocoon, since that's what it's called and it has a spaceship theme, complete with a habit of referring to its guests as astronauts. There isn't really anything I can say that is overwhelmingly bad about this hotel, but I find a lot about it confusing. The design sense is interesting if a bit cold, warmed up by shots of bright orange everywhere. There are even some kookie, fun features in the room, like a sliding mirrored wall that hides the bathroom and an orange fridge.
But why have every light, tv included, be on an on/off switch controlled by a key pocket so you can only have everything on or off? The toilet seat is also discolored, a funky yellow which is disturbing. It's in a strange neighborhood in Salvador, with nothing much nearby. The sheets on the bed feel like sandpaper, but the food and this restaurant isn't bad and the staff is full of eye candy. All in all, I'd say a better location, some English-speaking staff and tweaks to the rooms would make this interesting hotel worth a second visit.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceeholahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review was very helpful for us.
In the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
We also change all the toilet seat and al the sheets ( 300 pefil).
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon for check all the news Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I am happy that Salvador has finally a small stylist design hotel with a very good price. Is the first time in my live that I meet a design hotel with a right rice.

I know the city very well and the location is good for Salvador standard, where nothing is really close and there is no perfect location. The COCCON is located very closed to the airport and only at 200 mt from a beautiful beach.
The hotel has a orange pool and wonderful sun beds which we enjoyed very much. Breakfast has a great variety of choice including typical foods from Bahia and natural fruit juice.

Service was always polite and with a big smile.
I did not care much about the decoration of our room, but everything was clean and in order. Very good choice of TV channels, also international.
The only thing we both really disliked was the wine card. Only one type of French wine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamal_Neto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador. But you are right, we have to improve our wine list and we are working for do this.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRIESTE
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Only one week..... not too much for tasting all the comfort that the Cocoon offer...
I leave there a piece of my mind looking the sea im my sweet room, with sea view!
A big kiss at our room cleaner, and all the people that work there....
A very good Hotel, a very good Holiday italian Style.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulce074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

It 's a small hotel with its own style and very well decorated with products made with recycled cans tabs that are fantastic as well as has a valuable social and ecological content. I buy a fantastic bag for my notebook.
The food is excellent and in the evening the lounge is very relaxing and well attended.
The music that the DJ played in the lounge was too much "house". I think “soulful” music will be more appropriate.
All the staff is young and very nice and I made friends with everyone: Adriana, Camilla Anaclaudia, Giulinao, Cida.
The hotel is far from Pelorinho but has an excellent beach and many restaurants nearby ( do not miss the churrasqueria Sal and Brasa )
I enjoy my stay and make good friends. Worth.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcovipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahiamar Hotel
#38 of 111 in Salvador
518 reviews
Sol Bahia Sleep
#73 of 111 in Salvador
431 reviews
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#32 of 111 in Salvador
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 111 in Salvador
1,057 reviews
Sotero Hotel
#4 of 111 in Salvador
545 reviews
Hotel Praia da Sereia
#76 of 111 in Salvador
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon

Property: Hotel Cocoon
Address: Rua Haeckel Jose de Almeida 238 | Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, State of Bahia 41613-100, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cocoon & Lounge is located in one of the best beaches in Salvador. Our minimalist style architecture brings the excitement of hosting with comfort. The pool has a large wooden deck and a special lighting system that led to night changes color every 5 seconds and elegant loungers where guests can relax and enjoy it. In our hotel we have one branch of the famous Acqua Cafe Restaurant, considered the best Happy Hour in Salvador has diverse cuisine, with sushis, crepes, Bahian snacks and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Salvador
Hotel Cocoon Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing