We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport transfer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Airport transfer”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We are stating at Convento do Carmo in June. Did anyone use the hotel to arrange a car to pick you up at the airport ? I cannot find an email address for the concierge to arrange this so if anyone can help that would be great

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danieltaylorusg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Daniel,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel as your destination. We appreciate if you could contact our concierge department on the following e-mail address: fo.ccarmo@pestana.com, and inform about your flight. We look forward to welcoming you in June.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    216
    98
    46
    36
See reviews for
156
399
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for only one night but we did like it very much! What a positive change after a horrible experience at an Iberostar Praia do Forte Hotel. At Pestana Convento do Carmo what we did like very much besides the beautiful hotel itself was the extremely friendly and professional service and behaviour of every single person of the staff. The bar tender and the drinks there were very good. The breakfast service was not too large but very good quality. the king size bed was really huge ! We did also like the beautiful pool in the middle of the hotel area. Definitely recommendable place to stay. Only watch out when you leave the hotel,. A few blocks from the hotel there are hanging around drug addicts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Steffu,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination, and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your preference, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved staying in this converted convent hotel. Unfortunately we stayed here during Easter and the police were on strike so our day tour to the country was cancelled due to safety issues with car and driver thefts. Also the theatre and museums were closed. However, the historic area was wonderful to explore with many security guards and police patrolling area. Great restaurants, shops, markets and churches to explore. The hotel staff are wonderful, even though they were also short staffed. We highly recommend staying here. The showers were hot, just had to wait quite a while and the massage in the day spa was wonderful. Evening drinks and snacks around the pool were good. Reception staff gave fantastic recommendations for alternative dinner places.

Room Tip: We had a second floor facing into a courtyard without the pool. It was quiet and lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr.Krayner, Thank you for your visit, and for your helpful review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Fortunately the strike didn ´t took off any shine from the trip. We hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at our hotel,.Thank you again for having shared your experience with us. Yours Sincerely, Vasco Pinheiro General Manager Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3-nights in mid-March of 2014. First, great location in the heart of Pelourinho. Walking distance to all of the highlights, restaurants, exchange houses, markets, etc. Staff was wonderful and their English was very good. Breakfast Buffet was very good and the food off the menu during the day at pool was fine. Not amazing, but not bad. As always, with a hotel like this, the food is expensive if compared to what you can find outside the hotel, but a lot of the food in Pelourinho is overpriced because it is a touristy area.
My room was very nice, quiet, and spacious. High ceilings everywhere, great shower, comfortable bed, and the AC was needed (for me). The pool is nothing to shout about but it is refreshing. Not a place to go if you want to swim laps and workout (gym is very small and dated). My only complaint is that the property will not exchange money so you have to take a 5-10 minute walk to an exchange house. This could make some people nervous as you would potentially be walking with a lot of cash until you got back to the hotel.

Room Tip: I only had one room during my stay, looked out over a street. Some people are bugged by street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteeleB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination, and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the exchange money, we are contacting the responsible company to make the exchange money at the hotel to offer our guests more comfort. Thank you again for your preference, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

pestena convento do carmo is a wonderful, very good located former coventry. from some of the rooms you have a beautiful view. unfortunately we had the roof room on the first day (2/13), which only had one window. on the next day we got a beautiful room with view on the courtyard. the yard was very wonderful, an oasis and shadowy under the arcardes with a swimming pool in the middle. i also have to say something about the staff: the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. the breakfast team and the suitcase carriers were very good but the rest of the staff (except the bartender who worked on the 13th of febuary - a really good man) was impolite. i would recommend this hotel with cautiousness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mrs Maria,
We thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel and for the feedback regarding your last stay with us. We were very sorry to learn that you experienced some inconveniences. Your comments are being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken regarding the staff performance. We look forward to welcoming you and to being of service.
Kind Regards,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is the oldest hotel I have ever stayed and I really enjoyed the experience. Although there is no hot water in the room, the staff members are always very helpful. The building and the atmosphere is just amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr Hao,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconvenience during your stay. Your comment is being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken regarding the hot water in your room. Looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Salvador.
Yours Sincerely,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Sloppy service. Great place but with no atmosphere. For the restaurant: the food is mediocre and the prices are excessive. Nothing comparable to the villa Bahia hotel or equivalent place in Salvador. On one word: do not go there!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel, and for your feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments are being analyzed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken regarding the service and the restaurant’s quality. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Vasco Pinheiro
General Manager
Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
3.0 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#26 of 111 in Salvador
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fera Palace Hotel
Fera Palace Hotel
#49 of 111 in Salvador
90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
0.4 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#7 of 111 in Salvador
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Convento do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Convento do Carmo

Property: Pestana Convento do Carmo
Address: Rua do Carmo 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-380, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salvador
#2 Family Hotel in Salvador
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Convento do Carmo 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Convento do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Hotel Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing