We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS hotel in the historic district of Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS hotel in the historic district of Salvador”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This place is absolutely gorgeous. It's a 450 year old converted monastery that later became a convent, and then a hotel, now a part of the Small Leading Hotels of the World category. The service is impeccable; location is amazing in the heart of Pelurinho; and the rooms are just amazing.
We especially loved the restaurant service here. Elio, the host at the restaurant, went out of his way to make a special vegetarian dish for us----a traditional Bahian soup and root vegetable dish. When I merely mentioned that I loved the spicy peppers there, he then bought some from the marketplace and delivered it to our room! Where else would you find a host who actually buys you the peppers you loved so much at his restaurant?
We spent three nights here, and it was probably one of the top 3 hotels we've ever stayed in...simply amazing, full of history and charm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, many thanks for share your wonderful experience at Pestana Convento do Carmo.
We have retransmitted your comments to Mr. Elio. We agree with you, he is a special gentleman. We work hard to have people like him, smiling and happy, serving with passion.
Please be sure that our hotel will be always waiting for you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    208
    90
    42
    34
See reviews for
151
385
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in Pestana Convento do Carmo for 3 nights in September 2011.

The hotel is set in an absolutely stunning building (and old convent) and is an absolute oasis in a busy city.

Service is top class, food and drinks were fantastic, and the spa treatments were excellent.

We found that there isn't a huge amount to do in the area around the hotel (although there is some interesting architecture) - but as a destination hotel this is a real winner.

Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuandpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I had a great night at this hotel and wish could stay more.
The hotel is beautiful from the outside and inside. It is the first luxury historic hotel of Brazil.
I loved the patio with the pool that comes to a fountain at night, relaxing.
Rooms are beautiful, one different of each other, by size, decor, bathrooms...
Antique colonial furniture, small windows, kind of dark during the day I wish i could take an afternoon nap in here.
Shower is great, and they got L'Occitane amenities.
Restaurant is good, relaxing, with a duo playing guitars, very charming dinner for a couple.
Breakfast is great, well served, and lots of local food (go easy if you are not used to.

Being here is breath history, the city is one of the first colonized by portugueses on 1534.
Pelourinho is color, energy, culture, and you can see the poor side of it.
Dont accept those colored wristbands, they try to mark you, yes, juat like a target.

Location is perfect for whose want to stay in Pelourinho. You have local bistro/cafes with beautiful colorful decor very close, you can do a walk-in tour, have local food and drinks and see and buy
Even though this new goverment has improved on safety on the streets, do not go out after 11pm. Police start leaving aroun this time.

Stay at this hotel if you want silence, relaxing and enjoy an antique convent from colonial period.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatiTorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo and comments reported.
The hotel is ideal for who looking for comfort, quality service and relax. A historic site, where each space is a different story to tell.
Nearby you can also learn a little more history of the city and enjoy the restaurants that the neighborhood offers.
We are waiting for your next stay and will be fully available for what is needed.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Beautiful hotel in an old but well preserved convent. Very good service and security. The location is really good if you want to stay in Pelourihno. The room was ok but the bathroom was really tiny which is not acceptable in "leading hotels of the World" and quite expensive hotel. The service was really good; I got sick with fever at 4 am and was quickly provided with termomether and the man gave me his own personal medicines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for share with us your comments and for choose Pestana Convento do Carmo for your stay in Salvador.
We would like to explain to you that each room has a very unique characteristic, including bathroom size, since the hotel is a world heritage site and all the process to adapt the XVI century convent building into a luxury hotel was different respecting the area limitation.

We hope to welcome you again (without fever) in order to take advantage of all the best that our city can provide you.

Best Regards,

Carlos de Freitas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

three-day staying in aug 11
the circular pool in the middle of the courtyard is a nice place to stay during the day(maybe not fit for swimming but it's great!)
very comfotable sofas under the cloister, to be used all day long for reading or relaxing
very good 2-level room (with two bathrooms)
extremely comfortable bed!!
rich buffet breakfast, you can eat under the cloister near the courtyard
very good service: staff is professional, very kind and smiling!
interesting price (bought through a brazilian travel agent) it's worth while!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Giorgio,

At first, we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo and for the feedback.
This hotel is the perfect place that who looking for a peace and comfort. Read a book near of the pool or take a relaxing massage at the Spa to make your stay unforgettable.
Thanks again and we waiting for your next stay.

With our best regards,


Carlos de Freitas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel is an experience. A top-notch treasure.

If you are upset by atypical-shaped rooms or antique furniture. Don't stay here. If you need a coffee maker in your room or someone who understands every nuance of English in your local dialect, don't stay here. And if you're a timid traveler, don't bother coming to Salvador. There IS a lot of crime. Welcome to the land of paying attention to your stuff, Buckaroo.

BUT... if you want to experience one of the most unique cities on the planet, wrought with really dark and important history, wild art, taboo culture, powerful dance, intense street energy and blindingly delicious Caipirinhas, come to Salvador, accept the irrational cab fares, keep your wallet in your front pocket - and SPLURGE on the hotel - just stay here. Pestana Convento do Carmo is glorious.

It is an ancient building with nooks and crannies filled with stories. The bar is all about old-world luxury and style: big chairs and sofas surrounding the outdoor courtyard and fountain. A Brazilian "Sam's Place." The rooms themselves are plush in every way, save for their size - which shouldn't bother you, because they're so well appointed.

I stay in hotels nearly every week, but this one will be forever emblazoned in my brain as magnificent. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly_With_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Sr.,

At first, we would like to thank you so much to choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo and for the feedback.
Besides the police round for all Pelourinho’s neighborhood, the hotel has security guards throughout the area Pestanaif it’s necessary.
The Pestana Convento do Carmo is a hotel that in every corner tells a different story, and several historical spaces like the chapels and sacristy.
All the information has been reported to the responsible area for analysis and future actions.
Thanks so much again for your feedback and contact us in your next stay so that we can reverse this situation.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is an old converted convent which clearly limits the layout. However the conversion of the bathroom in our room was just not carefully thought out.. The shower door kept clipping the taps and the layout of the bathroom poor. The room itself was comfortable and the building as a whole sensational. The location is very central and we had good views of the harbour. The hotel is in the old part, on top of a hill, with cobbled streets and anyone with mobility problems might have difficulties in walking near the hotel. We were told that this was only safe during the day and at night we must catch a taxi even if we were not going far.The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The food in the restaurant at breakfast was not impressive and the staff here not as nice as the reception staff. There was free wi-fi on the ground floor of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mother00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Zank by Toque Hotel
Zank by Toque Hotel
#21 of 111 in Salvador
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#14 of 111 in Salvador
592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Convento do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Convento do Carmo

Property: Pestana Convento do Carmo
Address: Rua do Carmo, 1 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-330, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salvador
#2 Business Hotel in Salvador
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Convento do Carmo 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Convento do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Hotel Salvador
Pestana Convento Do Carmo Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing