We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Casa das Portas Velhas
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good small hotel with nice rooms and gorgeous breakfasts! We stayed there for three days, and everything was perfect.
The location is OK, but the area is not safe (like so many areas in Salvador), so the free taxi transfer provided was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eteifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 210 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

A Casa das Portas Velhas is a beautiful, colonial boutique hotel. It is a 3 minute walk from the great historic centre of Salvador, Pelourinho. Unfortunately, it is situated on a slightly dodgy street. All that means is that from 6pm onwards, we took taxis to and from the hotel. During the day, we walked without any problems.
The hotel really is an oasis from reality, elegant and well decorated. However, the biggest asset of the hotel is the staff. Every member of staff greets you with a smile and will bend over backwards to help your stay be the best it can possibly be. The housekeeping staff are so elegant and happy, it makes you smile just walking by them and saying hello in the corridor.
Upon arrival, the barman greets you with a complimentary soothing cold drink and the staff at the concierge desk, who all speak perfect English, will answer any questions and give you a tour of the hotel and its history. We were lucky enough to get upgraded from a standard room to the master suite due to some "problem" or other, which was incredible seeing as it happened to be my boyfriend's 30th birthday!
Finally, the hotel offers the best breakfast we have had in 2 months of touring South America: an amazing selection of fresh tropical fruits, cereals, homemade granola, cakes, breads, greek yoghurt, delicious scrambled eggs (always tricky at a buffet breakfast...) and cheese and ham. Completely worth paying extra for!
On the flip side, there is no room service or food available after 8pm, so you do need to plan for dinner elsewhere, and as you need to call a cab and can't just walk outside, it's something you need to keep in mind.
Conclusion: we loved it here and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiasanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Located in a historical place, the hotel is beaultiful and the service is the best... But.... Thanks to the terrible administration of the last city Mayor, its neighborhood is quite dangerous. Avoid weekends; over the week, the University close to the hotel gives a better atmosphere to the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriciamatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is stunning, the decor is lovely, the rooms are clean, luxurious and cozy and the communal areas are beautiful and make you want to spend time there. The service is also very good, staff are quick to do all they can to help you.

It is very true that this is the only nice building on an otherwise very run down square and there are vagrants hanging around at night. However, I think this is fairly typical of Salvador as a whole. A good option for dinner very close to the hotel is Bar Kossa Noisa just around the corner. It is enormously popular with hundreds of people sat at tables in the street (it is a huge business) and the food is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmadlondoner56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel is all about atmosphere. They've put so much thought into every detail. The breakfast is nice and so is the jacuzzi. The perfectly english speaking staff is tremendously friendly and helpful (they helped us w/ everything like Sightseeing, dining, transportation,etc).
The location is not as bad as described in other reviews. Sure, you should not go out after dark (only by taxi ), but that holds true for the entire city of Salvador incl the Pelourinho. Other than that, there's a couple of very nice restaurants very near by (1 minute walk; dont have to take a taxi even after dark).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aconrad2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We enjoyed every minutes in this oasis! The hotel is just so calm, the interior design so well done and the colours so peaceful, a real gem in the dangerous and sad Salvador. We did enjoy Salvador for its past beauty but the new Salvador is unfortunately a sad reality that you need to see to understand also what Brazil is about... The hotel is very well located really close to the most beautiful and interesting old town Center but you will need a taxi to get there as the whole of Salvador is potentially dangerous especially at night. The members of the staff were a delight, polite and could speak all the languages that you need, English, Italian, Spanish and French. They were very good guides to us and recommended some very nice places to visit. The best places to eat in the Center that we recommend would be the Sorriso de Dada and Perreira in Barra. One of the highlights were the old town of course, the Museu Rodin and the fort on Barra beach.
The hotel offered every morning a truly delicious breakfast, they also had a very pleasant terrace and bar and also Sky Tv, air conditioning and very good beds and pillows!
We had a room overlooking the square that we really enjoyed, large and good for all of us. Yes we would recommend this hotel, it is a very charming, classy and calm note in very busy Salvador!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was disapointed when the taxi took me there. I thought the location was in Pelorinio, but the 2 blocks made a difference. It is located in Nazare area, which is unsafe and full of drug addicts, right infront of the hotel. You can not leave the hotel after dark.
The next day we returned from out of town at 19:30 to a near-by bus station, and I was robbed before I had the chance to get into the taxi.
The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff is very nice and Breakfast is good.
Since we had to eat Dinner at the hotel we had to use the the room service manue, which is quite poor and does not cater to vagetarians.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms face the drug scene at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IritL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
4.2 mi away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#6 of 110 in Salvador
567 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bahiamar Hotel
Bahiamar Hotel
#39 of 110 in Salvador
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#23 of 110 in Salvador
404 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa das Portas Velhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa das Portas Velhas

Address: Largo da Palma 6, Salvador, State of Bahia 40040-170, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $47 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Casa das Portas Velhas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 15 accommodations harmonized with elegant furnishings composed of relics and antiques from around the world. Decorated in colonial style, the rooms offer unique services and features air conditioning, ceiling fan, pillows and carpets allergy, WiFi free, Smart TV 32-inch with channels open, for signature and Netflix and digital safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Casa das Portas Velhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Casa Das Portas Velhas Hotel Salvador
A Casa Das Portas Velhas Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing