We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was dingy, old and awful. We had an ocean view with balcony which was nice but it looked out over a busy road with lots of noise. We wanted a double bed but they only had 2 twins. Our room was filled with mosquitos when we arrived. The hotel staff was very accommodating to try and fix the problems but unfortunately the room was just not up to par. As a side note, the area around the hotel is not great at all. The area is pretty run down and one of the hotel staff warned us about not walking around at night because it was dangerous. The beach across from the hotel was a tiny strip of sand along a busy street, not inviting at all. We went to Salvador to find beautiful beaches but didn't find any worth making the trip for. Next time we will skip Salvador and head to the outlying islands which I hear are quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbalse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 849 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I had the most incredible experience!I could not be happier with the service.

The hotel people are very friendly and the service is great. Great food, great price and very good location…only a few meters far from the beach ;)!

I certainly will be back...Brazilians are unique for sure, LOL!

Thanks guys for this amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

great hotel, friendly staff very clean,excellent rooms.faultless breakfast loads of choices.opposite the beach;nice swimming pool.good food in restaurant. lots of shops restaurants ,close to the barra shopping centre, great location.

Room Tip: front rooms over look the beach
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

For those who are first visiting Salvador, this is the best location to be since there is access to everywhere and at the end of the day you can simply go walking to enjoy "Farol da Barra" and its espectacular sunset view.

Well organized hotel with great services overall.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFBrasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here in 2 rooms for 2 nights and were disappointed in the standard but not the location. A friend who lives in Salvador had left a message at reception which we were awaiting on arrival but the staff had no knowledge of it and were not helpful even when he arrived and explained in Portugese that he had definitely left the message. The breakfast buffet, apart from the fruit, was largely bread, cakes and rice products. The hot water for tea was a joke. The rooms were small and badly in need of renovations. The balconies, with lovely views, were filthy. Proximity to shops and restaurants and bars was excellent but the bar at the hotel itself would not serve wine by the glass. Not very accommodating attitude of staff all round.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. Excellent location. Super close to bus stop which we used to go to pelourinho. The lighthouse and some jesus statue is within walking distance. Also, the breakfast ruled my world. The front desk people were so helpful!!! We spent some time in morro de sao paulo and the staff held our luggage till we could come back. They also helped us rent a car so we could go explore some beaches. The rooms are clean, but the AC was kinda loud. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the beach! Worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrattAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Great location, directly across the road from the beach.
A good buffet breakfast. Bus stops and taxis nearby.
Free internet, small swimming pool, sea view from the room, large flat TV, location near many restaurants and barra shopping mall.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FileST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahia Othon Palace
#26 of 110 in Salvador
2,453 reviews
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 110 in Salvador
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 110 in Salvador
1,061 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador

Address: Avenida Oceanica, 591 | Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salvador
#8 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#17 Business Hotel in Salvador
#17 Family Hotel in Salvador
#20 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $81 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Pascoal Praia Salvador
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing