We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, very "Business" Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, very "Business" Hotel.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The first night we arrived after midnight, the check-in was smooth and we were in our room within no time. I felt the hotel was a notch lower than what I had expected. The hotel room was nicely done, but was rather bare. Very simplistic. The shower area was a little weird, water would come out quite frequently.

The location is not right for tourists. Its in the business area, I think. But the location is not bad either, not very far from the Pelourinho and neither from the beach. There is a conveyance store and a pharmacy right across from the hotel.

I was not impressed with the service of the staff at the breakfast. The server TOLD us not to sit outside because we were just 2 and the seating outside was for 4 people per table. Apart from this one incident, I was happy with the people at the reception and Bell boy. They were very helpful. The concierge couldn't speak English, that was a downer as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SahilJain11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear SahilJain11,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

It is important for us to monitor our performance and know about our guests experience.

We are really sorry to hear that our waiter made such comment that is totally against your expectations for being in Salvador and in front of one of the most famous gardens in the city.

We appreciate comments and feedback as yours in order to improve our services ensuring our guests satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again and please feel free to contact me directly on your return: assist.gg@sheratondabahia.com

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    431
    126
    40
    26
See reviews for
186
381
64
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in The heart of Salvador , close to pelourinho and The beach , we loved The kindness of The staff that should improuve their english ... :-) but always nice with us. Food is ecxellent From breakfast Lunch and dinner. The pool is a bit small but we where in Bahia for The beach so we didn't care. Our room was always clean and they asked if we need extra towel in The afternoon, i truly loved this place!!! Good job!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biancochef82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Biancochef82,

We appreciate you take your the time to post such positive comments! It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy our staff, service and food.

Our effort is always to provide an excellent service for our guests.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel Salvador in the future.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed two nights here and breakfast was included.
The rooms are very nice, well-appointed and very clean. The bathroom was also very modern and clean, no bath included, but that's not a problem for me!
On the first night, I went for a pre-dinner drink in the bar and, at 20;00, I was the only person in there! After having a couple of drinks, I had dinner in the restaurant next to the bar and whilst the buffet selection was very good - the staff could not have been any more unfriendly - it frankly spoilt the meal.
The next morning I had breakfast in the same restaurant and the staff were much nicer. the buffet selection for breakfast was very good also.
To summarise, a nice hotel, but the management should take note of the quality of service in the restaurant at night.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the poolside - the other side are overlooked by apartments and there is limited priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkinginAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

It is important for us to monitor our performance and know about our guests experience at the room, bathroom, buffet and breakfast.

Despite this we are really sorry to know that our dinner team at the restaurant wasn't as you and us expected to. We already made some moves on the team and our trainning cordinator will work hard on it.

We really hope to welcome you again at Sheraton da Bahia and have your feedback once more.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Here with a group of twelve tourists. Room size is reasonable, bath is quite adequate with great shower. Breakfast is buffet with fabulous fruits which unlike other places are just ripe enough. Coffee is hot and strong. Pool looks fine but right now it is raining.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank golem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear golem67,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great shower and the "fabulous" buffet and fruits. We hope you had time to check our pool in a sunny day!

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is not a Sheraton as you would expect it. It is far better. And to speak in Starwood Group terms, this could also be a W Hotel or Le Meridien. The lobby, bar and breakfast area is very impressive, new and luxurious. Our room was very recently refurbished and also very nice. Much better than we expected. The location is also very good as you will not spend more than 10-15 BRL to get to the historic city center and the marina. The breakfast buffet is huge and offers everything you can think of. Even a Nespesso machine if you do not like the regular coffee. Compared to the 5 star options in the historic city center, we would highly recommend this as you are not directly in the very "touristy" area and get some room to breathe after a day looking at the sights but are still close enough to everything (5 minutes for 10-15 BRL - very cheap). I would definitely come back. (One downside: although having requested it, I was not given an enhanced room (as SPG Gold) and also did not get a choice of SPG Gold welcome gift.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senator_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear senator_traveller,

We couldn't be happier after your review. We are glad to know that we could achieve our most important goal: your complete satisfaction!

We look forward to welcome you again for more great times at the impressive lobby bar, our huge breakfast and good location.

I would to kindly ask you your name so that we can check what happen with the upgrade because we always made it as soon as our guests inform us that are already SPG. Please sent to: assist.gg@sheratondabahia.com

We hope to have more opportunities to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I did a lot of research on where to stay in Salvador and in my opinion the Sheraton is the best choice for a comfortable and relaxing stay in this rough and rumble city with a bad reputation for petty crime aimed at tourists. The hotel looks fresh and it was renovated just a few years ago. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and equipped and come with all amenities one expects from a western type four star hotel.
The breakfast room, lobby and pool area all looked inviting. I also used the gym a couple of times. This wasn't the greatest but it was free. The breakfast was included in my rate of US150$ per night and it was sumptuous and excellent.
The hotel is a good solid thirty minutes walk from the old city through a dirty, congested part of town. We simply used the bus to get almost everywhere even at night and the cost was only 3 reals a person.
For the average tourist three days in Salvador would be plenty. Don't miss the folk dance held every night in the old town, and also take a cab to eat at Casa Teresa, an outstanding local restaurant ten minutes away by car. The old town is a must of course and I recommend visiting the African Brazilian museum to see the life size wooden carvings.
The Sheraton is the best choice for a short stay in Salvador.

Room Tip: High floor room away from the army barracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear alam1,

We appreciate you take your the time to post such positive comments about your stay at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, room and our location close to the historic center of Salvador - Bahia.

Will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The location isnt perfect for exploring Salvador but the complex certainly makes up for it.

Very clean hotel and rooms - good size and well maintained. Plentlt of choice for food and drink inside the hotel and the pool area is a good size and plenty of seating and lounging areas.

The staff were great too - not much English spoken but we got by. The travel gude consultant was really helpful and she made us make the most of our short stay.

Good value and well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDaBahia, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear frequentflyerboy,

Thank you for taking your time to post a comment with so many details about your experience at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel, Salvador.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and services, as maintenance, pool, room and even the travel agency.

We look forward to welcome you once again at Sheraton da Bahia Hotel.

Sincerely,

Carla Ferreira
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahia Othon Palace
#27 of 111 in Salvador
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Tulip Salvador
#28 of 111 in Salvador
1,236 reviews
Vila Gale Salvador
#22 of 111 in Salvador
1,482 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador

Property: Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 1537 | Campo Grande, Salvador, State of Bahia 41235-375, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salvador
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#8 Business Hotel in Salvador
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador 4.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Da Bahia - Hotel Salvador Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing