We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take care of hotel taxi”
Review of Vila Gale Salvador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Salvador
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed in this hotel. I can tolerate every thing but the thing that I could not stand it was at the date of check out on 16 August at the morning. I was hurry to catch my flight . I used to take the taxi with 50-60 Reis from Ondina to the airport. The bellman of the hotel got me taxi waiting outside number AZ0456 Salvador Taxi. I asked him to switch the taxi meter. He did. Instead he transverse through the city he passed along the beach as the public bus does.I told him that I am hurry but he ignored me. Not only this but he go along the northern coast and access the main road of the airport from its right side and he took 45 min while I normally took 20-30 min which risked losing my flight and invoiced me 80 Reis!!!!!!!!!.I advise everybody to take the public bus .It is 2.5 Reis. The station is after the parking of the airport. It is 50 meter from the airport. It is more safe. the buses go every point in the city. Avoid the taxi called by bellman as I think it is involve commission between him and drivers!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Hany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

In general the hotel is good, but there is some details like Wi-fi internet charging, the food quality is not so good and the room's hall is noisy. Although all of these details, the hotel is well located and the view from the pool is marvelous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula_beatriz_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel, despite not new, is clean, with a great view of the ocean and placed on a good neighborhood. The rooms are confortable, spacious and clean.
As i'm handicapped I need a chair on the shower and for may surprise thet provided it immediately. The staff is charming and atentious. The restaurante is quite complete. There's valet service, tour agency desk and car rental desk.
My wife and I only consider as bad item the pool. It is small and dificult to enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to stay at a room with view of the ocenan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed there for a whole week and liked the place very much. The beach is very small, polluted and with a lot of rocks, but the hotel has a nice pool. A taxi to the city center costs about 10 USD but you can take buses - only two blocks away - for 2 USD. The breakfast is superb, room service very poor. The restaurant is only buffet - for lunch and dinner - but the prices are reasonable. We had to pay for WiFi service 0.20 USD per minute, or 13 USD per day.The rooms are very comfortable and with a lot of space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjalmar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed at Vila Galè in April 2010. Our stay in Salvador was wonderful and Vila Galè definitely played a significant role in making it unforgettable! We had a nice room facing the ocean and the swimming pool.
Despite the hotel is a bit aged, the room was clean and spacious, same for the bathroom. Breakfast was the best part. The buffet offered anything you could ask for, from fresh fruits to delicious cakes.
The location is also good. The area is pretty safe and at night we used to enjoy our walk to the Farol. The entire hotel crew was very friendly and helpful. We had an early departure from the airport and they even prepared us breakfast despite it was 5 am. If you are looking for a friendly hotel with good location and excellent breakfast Vilà Gale is definitely an option to consider!

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lota82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Wonderful location but can't use the beach in front of it because it is not recommended for use. Is a regular 5 star hotel. The room is confortable and clean. Good breakfast buffet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fátima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Agree that the location is nice, next to a good beach in Ondina, overall the hotel is not great value for money. It is more 3 stars and is the only hotel in South America I have visited that charged for WIFI access (about USD12 per day and it works for about 20% of the time)...in addition the service in the bar and by the pool was appallingly slow. As a positive the buffet breakfast is extensive and the quality good,

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#26 of 110 in Salvador
2,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
2.2 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Da Bahia Hotel, Salvador
2.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#29 of 110 in Salvador
1,270 reviews
12.7 mi away
Catussaba Resort Hotel
Catussaba Resort Hotel
#39 of 110 in Salvador
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Salvador

Address: Rua Morro do Escravo Miguel 320 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#12 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#20 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $58 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vila Gale Salvador 4.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Salvador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Salvador Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing