We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t use the ATM machine here...”
Review of Mercado Modelo

Mercado Modelo
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.33*
and up
Outskirts City Tour Including Favelas of Salvador
More Info
$137.50*
and up
Full-Day Historic City Tour of Salvador with Lunch
More Info
$117.37*
and up
Private City Tour of Salvador da Bahia
Ranked #33 of 256 things to do in Salvador
Attraction details
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
“Don´t use the ATM machine here...”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

After spending a few wonderful hours discovering the magic above in the historical area of Pellourinho, I was disappointed with this flea market, selling the usual tourist trinkets. Keep in mind that I may be biased as I was not shopping for souvenirs, the raison d’être of the whole market, I suppose.
The market is situated in a big building which I found to be hot, drab and rather dirty. I found myself graduating to the few stalls outside the building which were cheaper and more creative in the products they had on offer.
A word of warning... several people have had their credit cards cloned after using the ATM machines at this market, so beware.
The best part of the market for me was the toilet facilities which were clean (see my photos).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    1,528
    1,182
    269
    98
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge Flea Market”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Large flea market in city center. Has many levels, locals as while as tourists mix and mingle. Great place to get your shop on. July 2009

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leaving_Samsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect place to shop for gifts”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Historical building and an important piece of tourist attractions of Salvador. Beautiful articrafts, local artesans and food can be purchased here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Buy all your souvenirs in one spot”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Skip all the tourist shops in the city ---and head for the Mercado Modelo near the end of the day (so you don't have to carry purchases with you all day.) Anything you find at any small shops, you will find at the Mercado Modelo ---and probably for less. I suggest walking around (don't forget to check out the outdoor booths and the second story) to look at everything, noting the things you might like to buy and comparing prices. Then go back for your purchases. You can bargain a bit ---or point out that someone else is offering the same item for less. I'm not very good at bargaining, but often if I just say that something is expensive ("e´caro") the vendor will offer a lower price. Or if I want to buy more than one item, I say I will give $XX for everything ---always offer lower than you think they will accept because they will counter offer higher. You will find tons of T-shirts, bags, hats, clothing, jewelry, packaged food (such as cashew nuts) ---and just about any other touristy item you can think of. You can get there by bus or take the public elevator from the upper city wish will deposit you almost right in front of the market place. Make sure to go out the other end to view the bay, too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank CWoods240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Upstairs has a restaurant. Staff so nice and restaurant expensive. The toilet smelt like stale urine and dirty. I wouldnt go back again..........................................................................

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank CCMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado Modelo also viewed

 

Been to Mercado Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing