We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days in room 232. The room was big, had a small balcony overlooking the pool. It had A/C, flat screen tv and free Wi-Fi. The hotel is in a very good location, steps away from the beach, restaurants and 3 miles from the historic town of Pelourinho and the public market. The hotel has a tourv agency for all your local excursions. The staff is very courtious and the buffet breakefast is very good and included in your stay. The pool is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islander1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBARRA, Comercial at Grande Hotel Da Barra, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your preference.

Sincerely,
Grande Hotel da Barra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 867 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and did not enjoy very much. It is pretty basic: the first room I got was so hot that I immediately had to change, but the other one was not much better. The furniture is old, everything is actually old, and it is not very clean. Next to it is a beach, overcrowded all the time. The smells around hotel are also not the best. On the positive side, swimming pool is OK, and PCs in the Internet room are very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel was on the older side and was definitely showing signs of age. The hotel itself had security in front of it, but was just a block away from a very un safe area. Wireless internet was "down" for the 2 days we were there. The best feature of the hotel was being right on the beach. Otherwise, this location is very dangerous and not recommended. We felt very un safe here and checked out early to leave Salvador because of that. Although the hotel offered to help us make calls to other hotels to leave the city, they later billed us for all of these calls.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in room 241 of the Grand Hotel de Barra, from August 9 to 18, 2011. On entering the hotel the reception area is like a dark dank cave with little or no light. Staff working in reception, don’t seem to be able to speak Spanish or English.
The rooms are old, tired and worn with a communicating door between each two rooms. The keyholes (2) are stuffed with toilet paper to dampen the noise from the next room. The bed was clean and the room staff were friendly. Luckily we were located to the front of the hotel and had a view of the beach and street immediately in front. The breakfast was pretty dull without variety.
Remember to bring your own soaps, gel etc; the hotel sells a pretty basic pack for 5 reals. Internet is free but really slow and one of the PC’s didn’t work during our stay, key for the safe costs 2 reals per day. Important to remember bring a photocopy of your passport and leave all cards in the safe just carry sufficient funds for each day. (2.1 reals =1€)
THE AREA; the beach is in front of hotel with lots of activity on the street 24X7. The location is very central and just a ten minute bus ride to the historical centre of Pelourinho (ticket on local bus 2.5/3 reals, take bus to Praça da Sé (last bus stop) Always take the lift to the lower part of the area (Lift costs 15 cents) never walk to the lower part as it is regarded as very dangerous and always take advice when told by locals not to enter an area. Most buildings in the area are in ruins, probably two days is enough to spend in this area, it’s also possible to walk back to the area of Do Barra.
Its best to spend time visiting the islands and the island Morro de San Paulo needs at least to days (hotels are cheap on the island) the island is 64 km from the port, the port is located very near the lower level of the lift just behind the “Model Mercado”. Lastly prices are pretty much the same as in Spain.

Room Tip: Always take a room in the old part to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The Grand Hotel de Barra is anything but Grand I'm afraid. The entire place is crumbling away and it probably isn't such a bad thing. The rooms are in poor condition and are not secure, the food is appalling and the location is not great. It seems good at first as it is next to the beach but it is actually quite a dangerous area with frequent muggings. Overall it is a poor choice and I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The Grande Hotel Da Barra is supposedly in the best section of Salvador and directly across the street from Barra Beach. There are restaurants you can walk to (read my restaurant reviews). Some of the hotel rooms overlook the ocean, as ours did. Some other rooms overlook the pool. We had been told that the area is very safe.
The lobby is dark and dated. I found 2 people at the front desk, at different times, who spoke English pretty well. The rest of the staff that I found spoke almost no English or Spanish, making communication with the maid or wait staff very difficult. The lights are kept very low or off throughout the hotel, including the hallways, apparently to save on electricity.
Our room (#601) was a large suite overlooking the ocean with two balconies. Again, it was dated and run down. Some of the furniture was damaged and worn. All of the furniture was old. The room appeared to be reasonably clean. However, upon closer inspection there were fixtures and corners that had not been swept, scrubbed, or dusted for a long time. The large double bed was hard and the pillows were thin. The twin bed was a little softer. There were no shampoo or wash cloths, so bring your own.
The bathroom and shower were very large but again, run down and lacking maintenance. There was a sprayer beside the toilet. I am not sure if it was a makeshift bidet or an appliance used to clean the toilet. In any case, it had a brown stain on it. The wall-mounted toilet flusher was difficult to use. I think part of it had broken off.
Included with our stay was a breakfast buffet. It had great potential and could have been cute. The food was gross. It got worse every day that we were there (4 nights). The scrambled eggs were undercooked and runny. The coffee was like mud and worse, on day 4, the milk for the coffee was chunky (coffee and milk were in similar large dispensers side by side). The rolls and breads seemed to be prepackaged.
The pool was very nice and the bar beside the pool was adequate. We got some tasty treats from the bar menu poolside. The menu was printed in Portuguese and English so we could just point to what we wanted.
The area outside of the hotel is NOT safe, including the pretty Barra Beach. The hotel entrance and the beach are literally 50 feet from each other, giving a very false sense of security. Homeless people sleep on the street outside of the hotel and use the parked cars as urinals (see my pictures).
Barra Beach looks beautiful from a distance. Umbrellas, chairs and tables are available for "rent" while on the beach and tropical drinks are available from a makeshift bar. If you go to this beach (RIGHT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL) you will be paying a few Reais for each chair, each umbrella, each table, each drink. If it starts to rain and they bring another umbrella, you will pay more for it. If they offer to rinse your feet, you pay again. All this while "vendors" constantly bombard you, trying to sell you their junk. To add insult to injury, the "nice" folks who rented us the chairs and umbrellas argued amongst themselves as to who should collect our money. Sometimes money was collected for an unknown. WTF!? It was all a very scary experience. At least the beach was clean.
Finally, while swimming at the beach, just 20 feet from the shore where my friend was sitting, RIGHT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL, a friendly looking young man who was working with the the "nice" folks who rented us the umbrella and chairs, swam up to me (I was in water over my head), speaking Portuguese and as he got close, he pulled me towards him and said, seriously, "dinero" and ripped the chain off of my neck. He was later seen by me on the beach working with the other thugs who rent the chairs and umbrellas.
The people at the hotel were indifferent to my complaint of being robbed and acted as if it was just a common nuisance.
Salvador, Brazil is a terrible place. Some of our other experiences, not related to the hotel, were just as scary. I'm not sure why anyone would come to this place. It is terrible.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BradfromNewmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We shifted to this hotel after being unimpressed with our previous pousada, and were so delighted that it was only slightly more expensive but had a pool, gym (gym is not great but the treadmill works and it has some free weights), helpful English-speaking staff, good sized rooms with a balcony, free internet, and a very good breakfast buffet.

Thought it was amusing that room service was 24hour, but that meant between 10am and 10pm.

You can either face the pool or the beach, the beach is obviously a better view but its quite a noisy location so opt for the pool side if you go to bed early. The street its located on is always busy with locals going to the beach, and has some good restaurants on the strip (Pereira, Sato were the best!)

Hotel is in Barra so good for the Barra and northern beach locations but if you go to Salvador, I recommend a few nights in the Pelourinho as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandst0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#24 of 110 in Salvador
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marazul Hotel
Marazul Hotel
#39 of 110 in Salvador
732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#48 of 110 in Salvador
1,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#33 of 110 in Salvador
418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#23 of 110 in Salvador
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Da Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Da Barra

Address: Rua Forte Sao Diogo, 02 | Porto da Barra, Salvador, State of Bahia 40130-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $52 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Hotel Da Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Hotel Da Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Salvador
Grande Hotel Da Barra Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing