We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Marazul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marazul Hotel
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
chicago
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed February 23, 2010

this hottel is in a great location, the pool has a beautful view of "todos os santos bay"; the staff is great, always smilling and helpful; breakfast great with a variaty of typical fruits and juices. Great price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvadorbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    333
    175
    62
    16
See reviews for
170
249
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Mar Azul during our Sth American honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are a young adventurous couple who werent after 5* star luxury accomodation. If this is what you are after, than stop reading and look elsewhere. Below is a list of the pros and cons we found of this hotel:
Pros:
1. We LOVED the breakfast which consisted of juices, coffee/tea, cakes, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. It was a fabulous way to start the day!
2. The pool area is lovely with views across to Barra Beach across the road. Be warned, the beach can get packed during summer and can be a little intimidating!
3. The proximity of the hotel is near the local attractions. We caught the bus to the historical centre of Pelourinho and also to Barra Shopping and found it to be super cheap and practical. There are also a number of eateries within walking distance and a supermarket around the corner for groceries. If you have time, walk to the Farol da Barra lighthouse. There is a nice museum inside and the view from the top of the lighthouse is amazing!
4. The beds were comfy and the rooms were reasonably clean. Our room had a partial view to the beach.
Cons:
1. The air-conditioning units are quite noisy and we found it extremely hard to regulate the temperature.
2. The staff were okay but it seemed the day staff didnt communicate with the night staff (especially when booking tours!). First, we booked a tour to Morro de Sao Paulo (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) with the staff person at night for the following morning and were told that it was booked. In the morning, we saw the morning staff member about the tour and they had no idea what was going on or who we had booked with! This happened on 2 occassions.
3. The rooms are a little dated but still reasonable for the area and price we paid.
4. There were a number of times were we had to help ourselves to towels at the pool area. This wasnt a problem for us but may be for others. There are also very limited sun lounges.
Overall, we had a great stay in Salvador at Mar Azul. It is the perfect place to stay if you want a nice, clean place to explore Pelourinho and Salvador and arent too fussed about the extra trimmings! We will definately return to Mar Azul!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2006

The Marazul is one of those hotels that looks better on paper than in person. It's in front of the Barra beaches, has a business center with internet (R$5 an hour when I was there), cable TV, frigobar, room safe, pool, sauna, etc. The hotel is a short taxi ride to the historic Pelourinho area, and it has some good restaurants right by it (Pereira is quite good -- good food, good atmosphere, good DJ). Unfortunately, Marazul needs a major makeover to be a decent hotel.

As a previous reviewer noted, the a/c is terribly noisy. Also, it has no level of control -- it's either on or off. I thought breakfast was fine, and the staff were OK and a couple of them were friendly. Still, the hotel has absolutely no charm, the hallways are ugly, and various little items in the room didn't work or were poorly maintained.

This isn't the hotel's fault, but Barra is dangerous at night, and the beaches are dirty. I don't plan to stay in that area again.

Hotel Marazul was part of a travel package that included Morro de São Paulo (loved it -- plan to go back!!!!). I wouldn't not buy a travel package because it included Hotel Marazul, but I wouldn't seek it out. It's just basic, basic accommodation, absolutely nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank chileboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salvador hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Stayed at the Marazul for the start and ending of my honeymoon in September, with a few days in Morro de Sao Paulo in between (See other review).

Upon arrival I was mostly pleased with the hotel, although I was surprised to see that even though it has a ocean front location, there are no rooms that actually face the ocean (my request). The whole front of the building is brick, and all the rooms face to the sides, giving you a partial ocean view. The architecture is very dated as is the room layout. Rooms have a universal remote control wired to the bedside table (uncomfortable if you want to share the remote) which controls everything: TV, lights, A/C.

The return stay at the hotel was quiet unpleasant. A small local conference was taking place in the meeting rooms, and they had sequestered the 2 computers from the business center, to use for the conference. I saw them with my own eyes, even though they had "out of order" signs on the computer booths. The second room had an extremely noisy A/C system and overlooked a hospital next door.

Breakfast is varied but very bland. Even the fruit, which in Brazil is spectacular, wasn’t very savory. Avoid the scrambled eggs: taste like, and probably are, powdered.

Staff wasn’t all that friendly. One receptionist down right ignored us when we didnt buy a dinner program he wanted to sell us upon arrival.

Location is ok with cafes and little restaurants nearby. Supermarket around the corner is cheaper than raiding the minibar.

I’m pretty sure there are better alternatives in Salvador and I wont be staying here again if I return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Below averageness
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid... there must be better places
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank BenWeinroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.5 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#30 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#36 of 111 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#24 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#31 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Novo
Village Novo
#59 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Hotel

Property: Marazul Hotel
Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 3937, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marazul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marazul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing