We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Marazul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marazul Hotel
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is a dated building and rooms have tired decoration. However for that, it is has an amazing oceanfront views, absolutely the best breakfast ever, decent wi-fi and terrific value for money. Please be careful with wlaking in the area after police patrolling stops.

Room Tip: Whilst there are no rooms with direct view of the ocean, rooms towards the front have a better side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    334
    176
    62
    17
See reviews for
172
250
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Not a new hotel, but good for what it costs.
Nice hotel, confy and clean rooms. Good breakfast, one of best pineaples I ever eat!
Superb food on pool terrace just across barra beach.
Used it as a stopover night traveling to Maraú, and will do it again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Steps away from supermarkets, drugstore, hospital, bus stop, affordable restaurants, clothes shop, in front of the beach, what else!!!
My room had a view of the bay, very relaxing. I could sleep with the sound if the waves!! Its personel very helpful and polite.Ask for Felipe, on the counter desk, he can be your private tour guide, very nice !! The pool is ok, on the second floor with an ocean view. The beaches are not the best but if you take the bus opposite the hotel, you can choose among many beaches with palm tress, 30 minutes away!!!

Room Tip: I was given 613, the ones which ends in 13 have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

You have to put the Marazul in the context of the competition in this part of town. As others have said, the location is great if you want a colorful and local beach scene. Lots of seafood restaurants in walking distant with locals and tourists alike. You can take a cab or bus down the coast to sample beaches of different characters.
I was impressed by our room. Tidy, simple, decent size and very clean. It had huge windows that let in lots of sunlight. It was on the side of the building, thus not noisy. At night we used the excellent a.c. The bathroom was roomy and fine.
The rooftop pool - so, so. The breakfast - god-awful, the staff- eager to help, but disorganized, no tourist information or English. Still, it's a good choice and I'd stay there again if in that part of town.

Room Tip: High floor, near the back for a quiet room.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent location - couldnt get better. A bit run down as far as appearances go, but one gets what one pays for. Reasonably priced, clean ( most important requirement as far as I am concered), helpful and polite staff, excellent breakfast spread ( in fact the best we had in Brazil). What more could one ask for? I couldn't find any faults with the hotel. Will go back on my next visit to Salvador ( if I get lucky that is)!.
The hotel overlooks the bay and sits between the old town and the new city, so perfectly positioned; also has a nice beach right across the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chidiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Marazul Hotel is a beach front hotel, close to some of Salvador's main attractions. Despite its enviable position and its overall cleanliness, the hotel is below par. It gives the impression of slow decay. It also seems to be understaffed: reception is occasionally manned by only one person, even at peak check-in/check-out times. Lunch and dinner are of acceptable quality but not more than that.

If you can get a good deal and don't mind bearing some discomfort, it is worth considering. Otherwise you may be better of elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camcordereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, Brasil
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

They do the basic. They couldn´t suggest any attraction in the city. They don´t show interest in help us. I think they could be more receptive and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CacioPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.5 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#28 of 111 in Salvador
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#36 of 111 in Salvador
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#24 of 111 in Salvador
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#29 of 111 in Salvador
2,407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#33 of 111 in Salvador
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Hotel

Property: Marazul Hotel
Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 3937, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marazul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marazul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing