We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is worth it!”
Review of Marazul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marazul Hotel
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Steps away from supermarkets, drugstore, hospital, bus stop, affordable restaurants, clothes shop, in front of the beach, what else!!!
My room had a view of the bay, very relaxing. I could sleep with the sound if the waves!! Its personel very helpful and polite.Ask for Felipe, on the counter desk, he can be your private tour guide, very nice !! The pool is ok, on the second floor with an ocean view. The beaches are not the best but if you take the bus opposite the hotel, you can choose among many beaches with palm tress, 30 minutes away!!!

Room Tip: I was given 613, the ones which ends in 13 have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 719 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

You have to put the Marazul in the context of the competition in this part of town. As others have said, the location is great if you want a colorful and local beach scene. Lots of seafood restaurants in walking distant with locals and tourists alike. You can take a cab or bus down the coast to sample beaches of different characters.
I was impressed by our room. Tidy, simple, decent size and very clean. It had huge windows that let in lots of sunlight. It was on the side of the building, thus not noisy. At night we used the excellent a.c. The bathroom was roomy and fine.
The rooftop pool - so, so. The breakfast - god-awful, the staff- eager to help, but disorganized, no tourist information or English. Still, it's a good choice and I'd stay there again if in that part of town.

Room Tip: High floor, near the back for a quiet room.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent location - couldnt get better. A bit run down as far as appearances go, but one gets what one pays for. Reasonably priced, clean ( most important requirement as far as I am concered), helpful and polite staff, excellent breakfast spread ( in fact the best we had in Brazil). What more could one ask for? I couldn't find any faults with the hotel. Will go back on my next visit to Salvador ( if I get lucky that is)!.
The hotel overlooks the bay and sits between the old town and the new city, so perfectly positioned; also has a nice beach right across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chidiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Marazul Hotel is a beach front hotel, close to some of Salvador's main attractions. Despite its enviable position and its overall cleanliness, the hotel is below par. It gives the impression of slow decay. It also seems to be understaffed: reception is occasionally manned by only one person, even at peak check-in/check-out times. Lunch and dinner are of acceptable quality but not more than that.

If you can get a good deal and don't mind bearing some discomfort, it is worth considering. Otherwise you may be better of elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camcordereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

They do the basic. They couldn´t suggest any attraction in the city. They don´t show interest in help us. I think they could be more receptive and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CacioPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I read the reviews before coming here, and I thought it would be ok to have "old decor" etc.. but when we got here I was really unimpressed. I think the place was probably pretty clean. but a very poor shower, and a room with 4 out of 7 light globes blown added to the negative vibe. Breakfast was ok, but was in a really shabby room that made you want to get out of there. Stay here for a nights sleep, and spend the rest of the time outside. Having said that, the pool was really nice - up on a balcony across from the beach. The beach across the way is so crystal clear and swimable - it was awesome. I think the area seemed quite safe compared to pelourinho... we were out after dark. (something we werent prepared to do in Rio). You never know in Brazil though.. Just keep your eyes out. Anything can happen anywhere!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brentivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

this hottel is in a great location, the pool has a beautful view of "todos os santos bay"; the staff is great, always smilling and helpful; breakfast great with a variaty of typical fruits and juices. Great price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvadorbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#28 of 110 in Salvador
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
0.1 mi away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#22 of 110 in Salvador
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#41 of 110 in Salvador
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#21 of 110 in Salvador
1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bahia Othon Palace
Bahia Othon Palace
#26 of 110 in Salvador
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marazul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marazul Hotel

Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 3937, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-110, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: $52 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marazul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marazul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marazul Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing