We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel old room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahia Othon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia Othon Palace
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel old room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My check-in was a breeze. Ana at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, plus she speaks good English, which was very helpful when requesting service.

My room was comfortable with double bed overlooking the Atlantic ocean. The floors were all tiles, 2 windows and a door to the tiny balcony overlooked the Atlantic ocean. I could hear ocean waves all day and nights in my room. Nice!!

The bathroom was nice and clean with white tiles and marble walls. Towels and facecloths were provided but no washcloth. So, when travelling to Brazil, remember to bring your washcloths.

My room walls were thin, one day, I could hear loud drilling from upstairs or I could hear conversations in my room sometimes.

The hotel is located in Ondina, NOT Rio Vermelho; about 3 or 4 blocks from popular Barra beach in the west and same distance from Rio Vermelho in the east. There were no good or acceptable entertainment/ restaurants nearby in Ondina (to walk to), I had to take the bus or taxi to find them.

The breakfast were almost the same the 7 mornings I was there, with minor tweaks. The hotel lobby was not very inviting; the seat/couch in the lobby was stained and very dirty.

Room Tip: Most rooms at the back faces the Atlantic Ocean. If you want to be close to restaurants/entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a good experience with us. Our guest´s opinion is very important for us to continue improving the service we provide. We wish to receive you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    1,010
    524
    137
    66
See reviews for
692
664
88
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

It´s a very nice hotel, good location, good view but looks old
Room was big, very good bed but the furniture was falling appart and the bathroom wasn't very clean.
Good breakfast with brasilian tipical fruit, juices and cakes.
Staff very helpfull.
With a little update wold be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing tha Bahia Othon Palace and for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor. We are renovating the building, including the rooms and furniture. We are happy to hear you appreciate our service and look forward to see you back in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The dirt is obvious - stained hall carpets, sticky black residue on the bed side table. Yes, the décor is old and dated but soap would help a lot.
We ate lunch on site and were billed about $12 more for one item. The staff agreed bur refused to rewrite the bill suggesting we get a credit for the next time we ate there (that was not happening). After taking the issue to the front desk and one half hour later, they finally gave us a credit for the over charge. We would rate the restaurant a 2 also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We regret, however, that some of our services did not reach your expectation. Your comments will be taken into consideration and shared with the relevant team members to improve our service.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel looks its age (60/70's style building) from the outside but the rooms seem to have been refurbished, wonderful bed and modern bathroom. Fantastic breakfast overlooking the ocean, with very helpful staff. Very good swimmingpool and only about 100 metres away from access to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizisyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing our hotel during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. Some of our rooms have been refurbished recently. We are very happy to know that you had a good experience at Bahia Othon and hope to receive you again in a near future.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I was surprised in how much I enjoyed staying at the Othon Palace.
I read a few reviews and I avoided at all cost staying in here.
To my delight, the front desk staff is extremely helpful, gave me and my friends VIP tkts to a party and a lovely room view a view that reached to the Farol da Barra.
The swimming pool was also lovely and if you fancy the beach it is just a short walk.
Our room was spacious with a small veranda.
Breakfast was very good. Full of fresh fruits, cakes, juices & cold meats.
The only negative thing that stood up for me is that it needs some updating.
Glad to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRDARCYLONDONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Bahia Othon Palace in Trip Advisor. We are highly satisfied to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and recommend our hotel, as our main goal is to fulfill our guest´s expectations.
We look forward to receiving you again in your next visit to Salvador.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

4th visit to brazil and this was the 4th city I stayed in. It was the worst of all four cities. I had heard a lot about Salvador and all good things. However it was my least favorite. Rio, Fortaleza, and São Paulo are far better places. He hotel was nice and people were friendly but the location does not offer many things to do outside the hotel. Nothing is really in walking distance. The tour guide I had was terrible and was concerned more about me buying things from vendors then showing me around. It also seemed that everyone was trying to scam you out of money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Bahia Othon Palace during your visit to Salvador and for sharing your opinion in Trip Advisor. We are contented to know you liked the hotel and our staff, but regret the fact you didn´t like the city.
We look forward to receiving you again in our hotel chain.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Location is great - on the beach, with all rooms boasting an ocean view and not too far from all of the attractions of Salvador. When this place opened, circa 1970, it must have been the last word in hotels. Problem is, nothing has been done to it ever since! A serious upgrade is needed but it remains a quote comfortable place to stay. Given the options in Salvador, this is a rather reasonable option.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERENCIABOPH, Gerente geral at Bahia Othon Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments regarding your stay at the Bahia Othon. We are performing some renovations and working hard to improve our facilities (public areas and rooms).
Thanking your feedback and hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in a near future.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
1.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#28 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Salvador
Vila Gale Salvador
#25 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondina Apart Hotel
Ondina Apart Hotel
#52 of 111 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Othon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Othon Palace

Property: Bahia Othon Palace
Address: Avenida Oceanica 2294 | Ondina, Salvador, State of Bahia 40170-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Othon Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The irresistible charm of Bahia Othon Palace begins with its location: the top of a cliff, facing the turquoise waters of Ondina Beach in Salvador. Perfectly integrated with nature, with colonial arches, the hotel offers the utmost sophistication and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Othon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Othon Palace Hotel Salvador
Bahia Othon Palace Salvador, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing